We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Excellent View, Top of Line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff, Excellent View, Top of Line”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This trip for my wife and I was put together about a month before we left and we were very happy with our selection. Excellent views of the 'whales tail' beach was very surreal and relaxing. We enjoyed the view from the room and the view from the hotel restaurant. It was a very intimate hotel and very much recommended for couples looking for a get-away. The drive up the mountain was a nice way to begin the stay, however, after the third time it got very long. It is all part of the experience. It is a boutique style hotel with very nice finishes. The attention to detail of the design and the construction is what we noticed the most. We are a very busy couple and when we travel we expect a high level of customer service and care and they did an incredible job. From the massage to the food and views from the hotel made this trip very memorable. Also my wife felt ill and they did a great job of checking on her and helping her get well. They were very concerned and it was sincere. We appreciated the hospitality and would definitely return for a vacation in the future. I would recommend more than 3 nights. I would of loved a small fitness room, but the pool is long enough to perform laps (if you like) for some quick cardio. And with the large rooms, you can perform creative body weight exercises in your room without difficulty.

We are very picky when it comes to travel and we would recommend this to anyone with a taste for high-end accommodations. We felt it lived up to our expectations and exceeded them in some respects.

Thanks to Adam, Brian, Ana, Adrianna, and the owners for an excellent stay. We will have life long memories and new friends to stay in touch with over time.

Room Tip: Infiniti Villa is the room we chose and we were extremely happy with our selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCK545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
206
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I recently spent 5 nights at Kura, and if I could have chained myself to a post and stayed...I would have done so. It's beautiful - both the facility and location. The owners and staff are some of the loveliest people I've met. Jancy, Alejandra, Adam, Marcos, and the whole crew...were welcoming, fun, and made us feel right at home. First time I've ever left a vacation, and I miss the staff! The attention to detail is incredible, from the design of the place to the level of service. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, with the option of doing nothing or being very active (the zip lining was SO FUN!!) - this is the place. They've been open less than a year, and it's only a matter of time before it's impossible to get a reservation. Do yourself a favor and go.

Room Tip: There are only six villas and all are lovely. We stayed in one of the Infinity suites, and I was ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband & I stayed 9 nights (!) for our honeymoon, so this review is written from the perspective of someone who stayed twice the amount of time as most guests at Kura. It seems people from the US typically stay at multiple places while vacationing in Costa Rica, but we did not want to deal with the hassle of switching hotels. So I took a leap of faith and booked our trip at Kura, which seemed to have the best of both worlds scenario in CR - rainforest and beach nearby. This review is lengthy, but I want to provide users with as much info as possible!

Pros:
-The view: As all reviewers have expressed, the view is amazing. I've been fortunate enough to see a lot of beautiful places in the world, but the view from the room, pool/bar/dining area, and especially the spa, is second to none.
-Service: The people at Kura are very friendly and accommodating. They take a personal interest in each guest and won't hesitate to go above the normal call of service to make your stay more enjoyable.
-Rooms: The bed & pillows are comfortable. The balconies are private and spacious. The closet area is huge and is equipped with a mini-bar style fridge that houses a complimentary pitcher of filtered water that gets refilled daily. The double sinks are nice, and the indoor/outdoor shower with dual shower heads is incredible and sexy! Keep in mind that aside from the toilet room, there really is no other area of true privacy in the suite from your partner or whoever you are sharing the room with. A hairdryer & ipod speakers are also included in each room.
-Pool: Beautifully designed. The pool & pool area is very nice.
-Spa: If you are making the trip to Kura you MUST visit the spa. Adrianna is a really good masseuse and the spa room and view is the best on the whole property. Even if you don't get a massage/facial, getting a glimpse of the spa is a must!
-Nature: Alejandra mentioned that while landscaping, she intentionally planted plants that would attract wildlife. Consequently, there are beautiful tropical flowers/trees/plants, butterflies, lizards, toucans, etc. all over the property.
-Food: Although the menu is limited, we tried most everything and it was all very very good. If you can, book through a website that includes breakfast in the daily rate. They do not skimp on breakfast at all! Each morning they serve each person a fruit platter & banana bread BEFORE you order off of the very delicious breakfast menu.
-Wifi: There is free & reliable wifi available in most all public and private areas.
-Ballena Beach: The "private" beach access is to Ballena Beach. Although the beach is public, there are not many public access points, so it is very private. We went to the beach multiple times and saw very few people during each visit. As others have mentioned, Kura will pack you chairs, towels, an umbrella, and a cooler.
-Shuttle: There is a free "shuttle" that takes guests up and down the mountain to Uvita or the beach multiple times during the day: 10am, 1:30, 7p. Shuttle = Kura's 4-door pickup truck and/or Jeep.

Cons (or should I say things that are not ideal):
-Trek up and down the mountain: Everyone has mentioned it, but the trip up and down the mountain is ROUGH. Luckily Kura is so nice, because it makes you think twice before wanting to deal with the hassle of going down to explore other parts of Costa Rica during the day/going to a restaurant for dinner at night.
-Limited Menu: As I've mentioned, the food is WONDERFUL & there is a decent amount of variety, however the menu is pretty limited. Picky eaters take note!
-"Green Season": During our 9 night stay in mid-July, less than half of the days were sunny. If you are staying during green season and want to get sun past 10am, you will often need to go down to the beach.
-Bugs: You're staying in the rainforest so there are lots of noisy bugs that like to come into the room!
-Towels: The towels they provide at the pool and for the beach are small and a little worn.

Additional questions I had before the trip:
-Umbrellas: they provide guests with umbrellas, so no need to bring your own.
-Should you rent a car?: For us, renting a car vs. having Kura provide our transportation came out pretty even cost-wise, so we did not rent a car (knowing the trip up & down the mountain is rough). We are very glad we chose not to rent a car! Unless you are making multiple stops in CR, a car is more of a nuisance because of the mountain. However, if you choose to rent, you can arrange for someone at Kura to meet you at the base and you can follow them up to the hotel when you initially arrive.
-Bugs/mosquitoes: Unlike other areas of CR, mosquitoes are not bad in this area. We brought bug spray but did not use it.
-Which room should I book? The Jr. suites are below the regular suites, and have some greenery mixed in with the view. We stayed in a regular suite, and the view was unblocked and AMAZING. After talking to people who stayed in the Inifinity suite, it sounds like the additional cost may not be worth what you experience in a regular suite. Both have great views, but the Infinity is slightly bigger.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Costa Rica who was looking to stay at a unique place with great service and an amazing view for a period of time less than 7 days. For us, staying longer than a week, it is easy to go a little stir-crazy up on the mountain. That being said, we had a very wonderful trip to Kura. For a 4-star hotel, the place is deserving of the 100% satisfactory reviews.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jwafar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

As you will likely see I do not write reviews often, if ever. For our stay at Kura it is hard to know where to even begin. Having traveled in Central America the past 15 years my wife and I opted to begin the trip with the beautiful drive down the coastal highway from San Jose.We arrived after dark but it was immediately apparent we had stumbled onto something very special. The pictures on the website are beautiful but come no where close to capturing the aesthetic awe Kura provides its' guests. The rooms come with a view money cannot buy. The chef is in his twenties and cooks like he has been in fine dining for 20 years. The owners, Martin and Alejandra are inspiring with their story in designing and building this marvel 1500ft above sea level. Everyone at Kura is there on a mission to create something unique for each of its' visitors. If you are looking for a peaceful, elegant and unique vacation with 5-star service and luxury amenities I don't know that you will find anything close to Kura anywhere else in Central America.

We do not like repeating vacations and never have but we will be back to visit Kura.

Room Tip: We stayed in two of the three offered and they were both incredible. We saw the third and you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLWardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

So many superlatives to describe this truly amazing place...I will only add to this! God created paradise in 6 days....Martin and Alejandra took 3 years but you would be hard pressed to tell the difference! I would even go so far as to say, add this place to your bucket list...you MUST get there before, well, you know!
Only 6 amazing villas right now....but to die for...outstanding design...and uncompromising service of the highest order, all basking in Eco friendly operations with a view to die for!...
I have been to Turtle Island in Fiji, Bora Bora, Bermuda, Bahamas, all the Hawaiian Islands many times...Kura leaves them all in the dust ....you have to go to believe...
Woke up to 8 gorgeous toucans playing in the trees right outside my balcony my first morning there!

Room Tip: They are all great but room 5 may have the best view of all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 822JohnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Congratulations if you have found this magical place- book it now!!!!

We loved our time at Kura and did not want to leave. Incredible food, incredible property but most important of all, incredible people... Uvita is the PLACE TO BE in CR..Went in green season and it was perfect... the noise of cicadas, birds and monkeys from our balcony were surreal..we saw Toucans in the mornings.. and the Pool!!!!!

A special shout out to both Anas,Martin,Alan, Marco, Alejandra and Arianna... Get a massage from Arianna she is awesome both me and wife loved our treatments. We will never forget our time there, hopefully return soon, and might be able to convince some family members to make the trip over also!

Also visit Uvita Beach (great ceviche joint down at the beach) , La Fogata, and touristy Manuel Antonio is worth a sidetrip...Much Love to everyone there!

Room Tip: All 6 Villas/Suites are great . Lower ones have better view of forest/trees. Top ones have better pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My partner & I stayed at Kura for four nights in early April and it was hands down the best experience I have ever had at a hotel. Not that I haven't stayed at nice hotels before, but this is more than just a nice hotel. It is a complete experience.

First of all, the hotel itself is amazing. There are only six suites and each one has the most spectacular views of the ocean and the surrounding rainforest. The design of the rooms is stunning. Clean lines, minimal yet functional, superbly decorated. And the lighting is wonderful too. The infinity pool is stunning. We must have taken 100 pictures of and in the pool.

The staff couldn't be nicer. We talked a lot with Adam, one of the bartenders, a lot, but everyone was fantastic, courteous and pleasant to talk to. Two days into our stay we discovered that two of the people waiting on us were in fact the owners.

Best of all the staff made us feel totally welcome. As a gay couple traveling you sometimes have to worry about how you are treated or explaining that you don't want two separate beds, but there were none of those issues at Kura.

The food was wonderful. The menu is slightly limited given the setting (and I imagine the difficultly getting orders to the top of a mountain), but that's totally understandable. Plus they make the most of fresh, local ingredients and prepare everything amazingly well, so everything tastes incredible.

STAY AT KURA! You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustinANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear AustinANYC,
greetings from Kura in sunny Costa Rica. Thank you for your flattering review of your stay with us. We agree that Kura is much more than just a hotel room and a pool (although as you pointed out, the room and the pool are quite nice) but rather an experience. We have been open for just 7 months and are already getting lots of requests by former guests to come back. The concept is working. We are currently creating new menu items. We wanted to open with a reduced menu and make sure that everything would be real tasty, but now that things are flowing, we are ready to add some items in the next months. We hope you continue to recommend us and look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Property: Kura Design Villas Uvita
Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#1 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. Kura Design Villas is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing