We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here at least once in your life!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“You have to stay here at least once in your life!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

If I could give this place a 10, I would.
My husband and I came here for a two night getaway after seeing it on Jetsetter.com (formerly sniqueaway). We have been to Costa Rica numerous times and we love the quaintness of the uvita area so we gave it a shot.

We were literally in awe of this place from the second we arrived. The views from every single room, especially the pool, even the pool bathrooms, is to die for. Pictures and words do not do this place justice.

The staff is amazing. So nice and accommodating. The rooms are like no other I have ever seen with the double rainfall shower and the open air ability...heaven. The bed was comfy and the room was very well appointed.

The food was good. The menu is limited but I always found something I liked. It is on the gourmet side, which isn't how I usually prefer meals, but it was good, priced reasonably for where you are, all the way up in the mountains.

You know how you're always curious is the resort website pictures are misleading? Well, in this case, yes, they are misleading because this place is even better than the website or any pictures online. You MUST go. Perfect for a romantic getaway.

And about the road...it's part of the adventure. We had a 4x4 rental and we loved driving up the mountain.

Absolutely no complaints here. Go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NoleGirl0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
206
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Kura for our honeymoon. It was absolutely incredible. The views are breathtaking, the resort design is unique and the people working there are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The air even smells amazing from the flowers. Most importantly the hotel is sustainable (local produce, salt water pool, solar power, and non-toxic products, among other things). The pool/bar area is very nice as well as the private beach (they offer a free shuttle). It's hard to find the right words to describe the room we stayed in! Open shower, all glass walls on one side with an expansive view of the ocean! Everyone who worked there was so nice! We truly enjoyed our experience and would highly recommend this place! Also, they were more than happy to create a gluten free, vegetarian menu for me! We also utilized their private shuttle service from San Jose Airport (for an extra fee).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leaf r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this resort at the end of July with another couple for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived I knew this place was unique and very special. Words do no justice for this beautiful and romantic place, you simply have to experience it for yourself. The moment we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff and taken upstairs to where the bar, pool and lounge area is and served a refreshing Jaguar drink after our 4 hr drive from San Jose. From there we were shown our villa and we were in awe! The spaciousness, the view, the coziness, it totally blew us away! The shower was open on both ends and the glass that enclosed the room by the shower could be opened to give an open air feeling to the rain forrest outside with the sounds of nature echoing in the background. The food was spectacular even though the menu was limited it still offered a variety of items. Breakfast was no ill fated ordeal and was included. It started out with a sweet and tasty plate of fruit, (all grown in Costa Rica) and a basket of warm homemade banana bread, the food was very reasonably priced as well. The view from every step you take is amazing. We heard the howling monkeys but didn't see them (probably because of the weather) but did see a toucan right outside our balcony in the tree. We were always addressed by our first names and given the up most personalized treatment. We had great conversations with Adam whether at the bar or just relaxing by the pool and Martin and Alejandra (the Owners) were always around working and sharing information about the place they built and the Costa Rica cultures. So in closing, this is a must visit getaway, just make sure if your going to make the drive that you get a 4x4 to venture up the mountain or if your not the brave at heart they will certainly pick you up at the bottom of the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Kura is the kind of place you dream about returning again and again! I researched all of the top resorts in Costa Rica while planning an itinerary for our 20th wedding anniversary and Kura was at the top of the list. I could not have imagined it would exceed all of my expectations and Martin and Ally, the owners who oversee every detail, have put Kura in a class by itself. My husband and I only stayed for 1 night on the way to the Osa Peninsula but every minute was amazing. We arrived later than expected after driving from San Jose airport in a torrential downpour after the airline lost my luggage and we got lost because the GPS was set to shortest distance/unpaved roads. Even though we had a strong 4-wheel drive, we decided to park at the bottom of the hill and called Anna for someone to pick us up because of the heavy rain. After the steep and winding drive up the hill we pulled up to the beautiful building and were met by Adam who showed us right to the dining room for dinner since he knew what a long trip we had. There are only 6 tables because there are only 6 rooms/villas and it was very quiet and peaceful. We had a wonderful dinner. The electricity went out because it was raining so hard and all of the staff was apologizing profusely. However, it only added to the romantic atmosphere. Ally brought out giant glowing balls to softly light up the area and no one seemed to mind at all. After dinner, Adam showed us to our room that was an Infinity Suite downstairs from the main pool and dining area. My husband was amazed about how spacious and beautiful the room was and said “Is this all ours?!” but then Anna came down and said they were upgrading us to a villa because it had solar electricity and we would not be in the dark. We honestly did not want to leave this incredible suite! But then we walked down to the end of the path to our incredible villa. We were speechless. We have stayed in 5 star hotels and none were as impressive as this! Even in the dark without the incredible view of the ocean the villa is simply amazing. There was a huge bouquet of tropical flowers for our anniversary, a handwritten card and homemade chocolate treats as an added surprise! The villa had every amenity and convenience including a wine fridge, bathrobes, and great quality binoculars. The next morning, we woke to a beautiful sunrise, sounds of the jungle and tropical birds and saw a toucan sitting in the tree down the hill. It was amazing that being that far up on the hill you still hear the waves crashing against the shore. I could habe sat on the terrace all day and been perfectly content. We had a delicious breakfast with amazing views of the blue sky and ocean, went for swim in the marvelous pool and sadly had to check out to get to our next destination. On the way down the hill, we saw a little waterfall and Martin stopped so I could take a photo. What really makes this place stand out besides the beauty is the service and personal attention. Ally kindly called the airlines several times to help get my luggage and her husband Martin gave my husband a detailed rundown of how the place was designed and built. My husband is in the construction business and said the pool itself is an architectural marvel. He is very picky and hardly ever impressed with anywhere we go but he cannot stop talking about Kura! We felt like were in paradise every minute during our short stay and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are stunning - the villas are a bit more private but every room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A truly perfect hotel!!! Can't wait to return! The combination of the perfect hotel + insuperable view + delicious food + friendly staff make it an experience of a lifetime.

The hotel couldn't be better. The architecture is beautiful and every detail is thought out. Its beauty really stands out. The rooms are amazing! Everything is spotless clean, rooms are large, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The few rooms in the hotel make it a very intimate and relaxing experience.

It was really nice to see that they were consistent in incorporating Costa Rican elements to a modern hotel. The main pieces of decoration are indigenous. It was also a nice surprise to see that the offer typical Costa Rican foods in a gourmet way in the menu. This is specially a smart thing to do because sadly most hotels offer "international" food and the tourist leaves without having experienced Costa Rican flavors.

Another good thing is that the hotel shows a real commitment to the environment, there are solar panels and a water recycling system for plants.

The restaurant was delicious! Although it is true that there are not so many options, they offer a creative menu and everything we had was perfect. Drinks at the bar were delicious too. Prices are reasonable.

The staff and owners are incredibly nice and welcoming. This makes the experience even more invaluable. They learn your name from the start and show commitment to giving you a great stay.

Overall everything is perfect, top quality and highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed at this resort with another couple from July 25 through the July 28, for 3 nights. Our first impression: WOW! We were met by super friendly staff and were immediately introduced to the Jaguar beverage (alcohol drink), which was refreshing and added a very nice touch, especially after an almost 4 hour road (albeit scenic) trip from the San Jose airport. The place is absolutely wonderful. It is secluded up in a mountain (about a 20 minute drive from the main street level) and offers an ambiance of serenity and rejuvenation (to reflect and recharge your batteries). The view, whether from the dining area, infinity pool, or the room, is spectacular. You see wildlife, the ocean, and the surrounding areas below. The food is reasonably priced and very good. Breakfast, for us, was included. Nope! It was not the typical continental breakfast that you would expect in the US. It was gourmet and plentiful. The biggest factor for the great review, however, deals with the people—the staff. They, owners included, genuinely went out of their way to make the difference in our stay. They were so humble, attentive, and sociable. So, if your senses are being deprived, Kura has the Kure. You will enjoy.
Note: You need a 4x4 vehicle to get up the mountain (which can be a bit of an adventure). However, the resort offers the option of picking you up at the base of the mountain if you wish not to drive or don’t have a four-wheel drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juniorm009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Juniorm009,
greetings from Uvita and the southern Pacific of Costa Rica. We are very proud to have recieved such a wonderful review from you and chuckled at your play of words with the name of our hotel. Your review is very helpful for other guests planning to visit us in the next months. Thanks for pointing out how much you liked the food and especially breakfast. But most importantly, thank you for the great feedback on our staff and the people factor. We agree that this is what makes the difference all the way. We look forward to having you back with us again in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This trip for my wife and I was put together about a month before we left and we were very happy with our selection. Excellent views of the 'whales tail' beach was very surreal and relaxing. We enjoyed the view from the room and the view from the hotel restaurant. It was a very intimate hotel and very much recommended for couples looking for a get-away. The drive up the mountain was a nice way to begin the stay, however, after the third time it got very long. It is all part of the experience. It is a boutique style hotel with very nice finishes. The attention to detail of the design and the construction is what we noticed the most. We are a very busy couple and when we travel we expect a high level of customer service and care and they did an incredible job. From the massage to the food and views from the hotel made this trip very memorable. Also my wife felt ill and they did a great job of checking on her and helping her get well. They were very concerned and it was sincere. We appreciated the hospitality and would definitely return for a vacation in the future. I would recommend more than 3 nights. I would of loved a small fitness room, but the pool is long enough to perform laps (if you like) for some quick cardio. And with the large rooms, you can perform creative body weight exercises in your room without difficulty.

We are very picky when it comes to travel and we would recommend this to anyone with a taste for high-end accommodations. We felt it lived up to our expectations and exceeded them in some respects.

Thanks to Adam, Brian, Ana, Adrianna, and the owners for an excellent stay. We will have life long memories and new friends to stay in touch with over time.

Room Tip: Infiniti Villa is the room we chose and we were extremely happy with our selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCK545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Property: Kura Design Villas Uvita
Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#1 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. Kura Design Villas is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing