We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Nearby Hotels
US$213
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$542
US$531
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Azul Hotel(Uvita)(Great Value!)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Luz de Luna(Uvita)(Great Value!)
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
277
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity suiteour honeymoonrainy seasonsliding doorcosta ricaleave the cardouble showerchef rodrigoromantic placeglass walljaw droppinggorgeous hotelcevicheturn down servicesolar panelswhale's tailsix nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Kura is a hotel unlike any other. It's definitely geared toward couples- which only adds to the romantic, luxurious experience. You'll read a lot about the road up to the hotel- and yes, it's very steep- but there are no places where you're going to go off the side of the mountain- it's not quite as frightening as people make it out to be. With a large 4 wheel drive, ( don't get a tiny one!) and someone who knows how to drive a stick , you'll be fine. I also recommend renting your own vehicle- it gives you more freedom.

Staff: Exceptional! It was like they knew what the guests were thinking- before we thought it! Ana, Adriana, Alejandra( owner) and Adam were especially outstanding- they made us feel like I was in their home, and they were there to make us as comfortable as possible. Check in with Ana was so special- she was so sweet, explained everything, and let us take our time- she was warm and genuinely glad to have us! One evening, a few guests were in the pool. Adriana and Adam turned on the fire, threw some fun color changing balls in for us to play with, and brought drinks right up to the pool- we were like kids! ( but with alcohol- he he) . Adriana is a lovely hostess in her spa area as well- she made me tea, let me relax, and gave me a great massage. And-The staff communicates with each other- that's what really stands out to me. They all knew what tours we had planned and were right there to pull up our car , or to pack a cooler and beach stuff for us- you only had to say you needed something once, and it was right there!

Rooms/view: Ridiculous!!!! The rooms are so spectacularly designed- everything is spotless, modern, luxurious- the pics on the website are spot on. Beds are super comfortable, too! We saw toucans, tons of other birds, snakes, frogs- all kinds of fun animals!The view is even better than the pics- just go and see for yourself!

Food: this hotel is at the top of a mountain. The fact that they're able to get such delicious food up there is astounding! I'm from Atlanta and dine at the best five star restaurants quite frequently- just to give you an idea of my food knowledge. Is Kura's food 5 star for a big city? No. Is it 10 star for being in Uvita at the top of a mountain? YES! Sushi rolls were delicious, the breakfast was impressive, and dinner was scrumptious- loved the Snook fish and the tenderloin with chimichurri! And the salads were great, too! Dinner here is an experience- romantic and perfect.

Even my trip back to the airport ( long story- couldn't drive back to the airport) with Gregg, the driver, was wonderful- he made the time fly )!
Just splurge and stay at Kura- you deserve it, and you'll never forget it. I wish I was back there right now!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rachel88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at the Kura design Villas for our last night in CR. We totally goofed as we should have stayed at Kura Villas the entire stay! We have dumbed the property a "Utopia" as once you enter the property, you really do not want to ever leave!! It is really a very special place. Everything about the property was pristine. The room was wonderful and the views and privacy can not be beat. The staff was amazing and welcoming. Since it is such a small hotel ( only 6 villas) the staff really was able to get to know you and cater to your every needs. The food was by far the best food we have ever had in CR. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was five star. We are going to recommend the villas to our friends and can't wait for our return to CR and Kura next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissRachel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a return visit to kura design villas. A pleasant 3 hour drive from san jose, on a newly renovated highway. With only about 1 month in between visits,we found everything was just as amazing as our prior stay, points for consistency. I have to say it boasts one of the most amazing views of Costa Rica's southern pacific coasts.The views are amplified by the sleek design and luxe finishes throughout the hotels common areas and its villas. Headed by its owners, a delightful young couple,attending to all details and keeping its staff on edge. The food is good all around. Trying breakfast lunch and dinner, I found the steak casado and ceviche especially rewarding. Desserts where all solid.
It is important to state there is no tv in the rooms, and during the rainy season certain vehicles that have a low ground clearance and lack 4x4 might have a tuff time accessing the last 4 kilometers. This is One of the smallest, greatest hotels I have stayed in. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear AlexT,
greetings from Kura Design Villas in Uvita. We agree, we probably do have one of the most incredible views here. Thank you for your return visit. We are very proud that you found the operation as good as during your first visit. We have been open for about 9 months now and of course are still learning every day. But your wonderful comments motivate us to get even better and make every single stay the best possible. We look forward to visit #3 soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Kura Design Villas. We were amazed at the views, the design and the friendly staff. This was the third and most spectacular place we visited in costa rica. here is a summary of our stay:

the villas -
wow, you could tell these were designed with so much thought and intention. we stayed for 2 nights in the junior villa and 2 nights in the infinity villa. the junior villa seemed larger but i think it was just the layout. the only thing that was weird was the bed placement you felt like you were in the middle of the room. very minor though. the junior villa had so much counter space and nooks and crannies to place your items. the infinity villa had an amazing view. all in all not sure the infinity villa is worth the extra money but both rooms are quite beautiful. we loved the double rain showers and the products smelled delicious in the shower. we loved the outdoor space in front of the villa and spent time reading on our hammock. the turndown service was really special with candlelit ambiance. on the night of my birthday they left some gorgeous flower petals in the room in a beautiful design.

arrival/ride up the mountain -
as you may have read from other reviews, the hotel is on top of a large hill/mountain. the ride up/down is very extreme on a dirt road and is steep at a few points. we opted to park our rental in the designated kura lot in uvita and get a ride with the hotel the first day we arrived. we didnt have a cell phone since we are from out of the country and therefore didnt really have a way to contact the hotel when we arrived at the parking lot. we thought we had arranged a 3pm pick up via email prior to that day. when we arrived we werent even sure if we were in the correct lot as there is one small sign and its basically someone's home which we werent expecting. we tried to speak our limited spanish to the owners of the house who seemed confused. they did end up calling kura for us but we didnt get picked up for another 45 mins. i guess we were supposed to give them more notice than that so if you dont have a cell we recommend that you try to call in advance of getting to the lot in uvita. maybe find a pay phone if those even exist? we waited for 45 mins in the lot and didn't know if we were even getting picked up it was a little odd. no one mentioned the long wait to us. just a small inconvenience because costa rica is a lovely place to be waiting outside but wish we had just understood the process better prior to arrival.

pool-
the pool is gorgeous. the views go on and on all around. the water was easy to swim in the majority of the time (temperature wise). it was very clean and well maintained (as is the entire property). we enjoyed swimming at sunset with a drink by the pool.

access road-
this is the only sort of negative in our opinion. we were told there is a free shuttle at 10am and one back at 130 pm. its a little limiting since all excursions start really early. knowing the road situation we rented a 4x4 but were nervous to drive up the first time based on reviews. we did try the next day and didnt realize the small suv had a button you needed to press to engage the all wheel drive.needless to say we got half way up one steep section and had to back up because we ran out of gusto. that was a little scary but we eventually made it and realized our mistake. also apparently having the ac on takes some power away as well. it takes a while to get into town and back so this sort of added extra time and stress to leaving/arriving the hotel throughout the day. once you leave you dont really want to be driving back and forth all day. you can just pay them 10-15 dollars to bring you up and down at your leisure but since we had the 4x4 we decided to utilize it.

restaurant/food-
the food was great. for the size of the hotel there was a decent selection. the breakfast was our favorite. you would be provided with a plate full of fruit and some warm fresh bread then you ordered an entire breakfast. the egg s Benedict is very good. the portions are large for a nice restaurant. the service is excellent (all staff members were very friendly and so were the owners.) the chopped salad, shrimp, beef and chocolate cake were among our faves. i spent my birthday there and adam was kind enough to bring out a piece of dessert with a candle on it and sang in spanish!

excursions/uvita-
there are some great beaches in the area and waterfalls. we drove to the playa hermosa and swam during low tide. be very careful during high tide at all beaches as the waves are insane. there is free parking at hermosa and the beach was so quiet and desolate. kura let us borrow a cooler for our snacks/beers and some chairs which was really nice of them.

we hiked to the small $1 waterfall on the entrance road in the rain which was fun. worth the buck to go see but not as magnificent as the other waterfalls in the area.

we did the dolphin/whale cruise where we were told it was a combo tour with snorkelling. we really only wanted to go in order to snorkel and there was no snorkelling on trip. it was essentially a 4 hour boat tour with no bathroom, no swimming and no whales. we thought it was way over priced at 80 dollars a person. we didn't get lunch or anything. we sat on the boat the entire 4 hours and were whipped all around, and someone was puking the whole time. not sure if this is worth the money in our opinion. maybe if it was 30 dollars and you got to actually snorkel! we really regretted going and spending 160 dollars. the dolphins were pretty though. we also drove down to dominical which is a touristy spot with beach side dining (casual) and souvenir shops.

all in all kura is a magnificent, unique, friendly place to spend a vacation. the staff and owners are warm, and very accommodating people! we loved costa rica, the people, the beautiful country and kura as well. it is a long journey to get there but so worth it! you wont regret it!

Room Tip: we stayed in the infinity villa and the junior villa. both were gorgeous. the infinity villa had a better view but seemed smaller. the junior villa was very nice as well with lots of space. cant go wrong with any room at this place!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bos_traveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Kura Design Villas is a unique, gorgeous small hotel perched on the crest of a mountain overlooking the south Pacific coast of Costa Rica. The six villas provide a sense of complete privacy and oneness with the lush, green jungle environment. The owners are an architect and a biologist who have left out no detail to create a tranquil setting for their guests to experience heaven on earth. The infinity pool on the ledge of the roof is amazing and we took way more photos of it than necessary just, I suppose, to convince ourselves it was real! Thanks, Kura,
for choosing sustainability by using local resources and craftspeople in creating a truly beautiful place!

Room Tip: The Any room is perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cogan122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews