We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Home away from home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ballena Roja Guest House and Cafe
Ranked #10 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This true gem of a place was recommended by a dear friend. Scot the owner greeted me with a warm smile and the hospitality never stopped. I've done some 5 star travelling in my day but I've seldom been treated with such kindness. Geraldo and Marta, who run the restaurant were equally gracious, providing fabulous food and incredible service always with a big smile. To top it all of the beach close by is amazing and only sparsely populated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    13
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grant, mi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We decided to visit Costa Rica and found this little gem of a place. The room was inviting and cozy The owner was wonderful , who was kind and helpful. He had wonderful knowledge of the area and sent us to some waterfalls and beaches. He even ran some of the other guest up town when he had time to do so. The restaurant under the bungalows had the best food you have ever tasted. Everything was homemade fresh and authentic. They also have great homemade pizza. They are within walking distance of a beautiful beach. If you are into surfing they have some great waves. We found some sand dollars and even a starfish that I released. You can hear the monkeys in the distance. We also saw some beautiful birds. He has bikes you can use to ride to town or down to the beach. We loved the markets that you could get to easily enough by bike or walking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The cabins are roomy, have great windows to enjoy the view of wildlife, contain 2 double beds, and have large fans to keep cool. No AC, but it is easier to acclimate to the tropical temps without it. Very large tiled showers as well. Rooms are freshly painted with bright happy colors of the sky at sunset. Costa Marina Restaurante is directly below, so there are wonderful aromas wafting up begging you to eat. A very short walk down to the playa (beach) where you will meet the local friendly dogs and see many varieties of birds and flowers. Lots of shade under Palm and Almond trees, or you can explore the wide clean dark-sand shores. Gentle rolling waves are known for at this beach, perfect to learn to surf, with very little worry of undertow. A wonderful gorgeous relaxing vacation in all.
Scot and Kristie are great hosts and are more than helpful. Free Wi-Fi is provided as well if you need connectivity.
Uvita is a small safe friendly coastal city, close to waterfalls, mountains, beach caves, and larger cities like San Isidro, Quepos, and Dominical.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

simple, warm, good quality-price rate cabinas located juts few steps from the beach. Soda (family owned restaurant / local food) and grocery on site. Waterfalls / natural fresh water pools nearby.Friendly and helpful owner

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#12 of 12 in Uvita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#6 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#3 of 40 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camping y Cabinas El Tecal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ballena Roja Guest House and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ballena Roja Guest House and Cafe

Property: La Ballena Roja Guest House and Cafe
Address: Playa Colonia, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica (Formerly La Ballena Roja Boutique Beach Hotel and Cafe)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 meters from Marino Ballena National Park at Playa Colonia-Chaman South of Uvita. Our rooms are simple and rustic but relaxing and comfortable. Each front room offers two double beds (new mattresses), cable TV with a private bathroom and single temperature showers. We have a restaurant onsite that offers breakfast Tuesaday - Saturday, and pizza Wednesday - Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Ballena Roja Guest House and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ballena Roja Guest House And Cafe Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing