We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rancho Pacifico is the ultimate getaway due to it's location, luxury, personal service and attention and food. The location is remote and beautiful. You will rise every morning to birds singing and the howl of the howler monkeys. It is high up the mountain. The feeling of the rainforest changes as clouds come in and over the mountain. The location even afforded us spectacular views of lightening storms. The views are breathtaking of the jungle, the ocean and specifically Whale Tail Beach. The villas blend in with nature and you feel like you are part of the jungle, especially with the floor to ceiling windows. Our shower even had floor to ceiling windows, but still had privacy as they only faced the jungle. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa and it's as luxurious as you can get in the jungle.

The service is impeccable. The staff are very friendly and personable. We were greeted by name each time a staff member saw us. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Even after we arrived late from a night hike when dinner service was over, the staff stayed and waited for us to serve us our meal knowing that we had yet to eat dinner.

The food was delicious. The menus are creative and delightful. We truly enjoyed every meal that we ate on the property. There are a few restaurants in town, but since getting up and down the mountain can be a bit cumbersome, it's just easier to stay and eat on the property and of course the food is good, so why go elsewhere?

I don't see any downsides to staying at Rancho Pacifico, but if you are staying in the 3 bedroom villa, you should know that the villa is up a hill slightly off the main property. If the car is available, the staff will pick you up. But, if the car is not available, then you will have to walk. The only problem with this is that the road is rocky, steep and could be muddy if it rains. Flip flops aren't a good idea walking up or down the hill, so if we wanted to go to the pool or wear sandals to dinner, we had to wear our hiking shoes, bring our flip flops or sandals and change shoes once we got to the main property. Although the 3 bedroom villa is beautiful, if I were to stay again, I definitely would stay in a room where I didn't need to worry about that. However that said, it surely did not ruin our vacation!

I highly recommend Rancho Pacifico and look forward to my next stay at this perfect property!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    32
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
57
325
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Rancho Pacifico provides a great vacation experience. The location is beautiful in a remote, rugged setting, and the resort grounds, lodging, and common areas were designed with attention to details that make it luxurious but not out of place with its environment. There is a lot, or nothing to do, whichever you prefer (probably both). Hanging around the pool or in sitting areas, or at the bar is relaxing. Excursions down the mountain to the beach, nature tours, water sports, etc. provide half or full days of activity. The staff here make the experience very personal. Each staff member gets to know your name and your preferences, and anyone is ready to help you at anytime. They become like friends and family after several days. The food is excellent, with lots of vegetarian and gluten-free options. The servings are perfect, and the fresh ingredients and healthful preparation makes it feel like you eating a special meal at home as opposed to eating in a restaurant all of the time. An excellent experience overall, and one we hope to have again here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rancho Pacifico is truly amazing. We stayed there the first week of June on our first trip to Costa Rica. Everything about RP is wonderful, especially the service. Every member of the staff we met was friendly, authentic and professional. Our meals were delicious and perfectly prepared. We stayed in the TreeHaus Villa and it was even more beautiful in person than in the photos. We sat on the deck with a stunning view of the ocean, listening to the sounds of the forest and could have stayed there forever. One reviewer referred to their time at RP as “flawless” and we agree. I cant’ imagine finding a more beautiful and welcoming place anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Every detail at Rancho Pacifico is perfect. The rooms are inviting, ideal and comfortable. The grounds are stunning, perfectly maintained and delightful. The food is delicious, healthy and fabulously presented. The staff is kind, fun and out-of-this-world friendly! For those seeking a flawless vacation, either quiet and relaxed or full of activities, this is it. The staff will ensure whatever you desire will be.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Rancho Pacifico for 7 nights on our vacation to Costa Rica at the end of March, 2014. We were looking for a place that would provide privacy, peace and relaxation and Rancho Pacifico delivered that and so much more. The staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and caring in a genuine way. The spa was wonderful and rejuvenating. The food prepared by Chef Alex and his staff was in every way amazing and delicious. My experience at this hotel was one of the very best, and most unique I have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent two nights in mid april 2014. Our stay was great. It was like a true honeymoon style getaway. The views from the hotel are awesome, the serivce from each and every staff member was very good yet authentic at the same time. The only constructive feedback I would give to the hotel ismabout the terrace room that is closeby the pool in the first floor. I believe that room in particular is just too close to the crowd. This was somehow uncomfortable considering that we came with the idea of having a room with no noice but nature. Fortunatelly we asked for a room change and they gave us the balcony room in the second floor which was great.

Room Tip: Do not pick the terrace room in te first floor close to the pool. It is just too noisy and you dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 days/3 nights at the end of a longer vacation in Costa Rica. We hoped for an experience which would allow us to truly relax before we headed home to our normal lives, and we were not disappointed. First, the location is beautiful with wonderful views to the coast from the common areas and at least some of the guest rooms, including the Treehouses. The grounds are beautifully kept, as are all of the buildings and rooms. We stayed in one of the Treehouses. As another reviewer has noted, at least 1/3 of the walls are screens, meaning that the temperature is dictated by the weather. Despite how hot it was down on the coast, it was always very comfortable up at Rancho Pacifico. There are ceiling fans that were more than enough to provide circulating air and a comfortable nights sleep, we did not miss AC at all. The screens do mean that you will be surrounded by the noises of the environment at all times, though ear plus are provided for those who do not relish hearing the birds, insects and howler monkeys. We loved waking up with the forest each day, and sitting on our porch sipping coffee. At least another 1/3 of the walls are glass affording you sweeping views and making you feel embedded in the hillside. (The opaque walls are strategically placed to offer privacy.) The personal service and attention to detail began from the moment our taxi dropped us off, when Johan met us with cool refreshing towels and continued to our last hug goodbye. The staff makes it a point to get to know you, creating a very personal experience such that by the time your visit ends, you feel like you are leaving friends behind. That said, you are always are afforded plenty of space to have as quiet a day as you desire. You probably won't encounter the cleaning staff, as they go to work when you are out of the room, but if you did (as we did), you would see how much effort and care they put into every last detail of remaking your room each day. The food and drinks are consistently top quality, with wonderful and often sophisticated flavor combinations. We did one of the activities that the hotel can arrange (Nat'l Geographic Tour) and we would definitely recommend it. We saw tons of animals and our guide was fantastic. On the other full day, we hiked through the property, relaxed in the semi-private infinity pool, and ended our day with wonderful spa treatments as the sun set and howler monkeys took up their afternoon cries. Perfect. I would absolutely recommend this to adults looking for a luxury destination, and as for us, we are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
163 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Property: Rancho Pacifico
Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rancho Pacifico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea.....Your Adult-Exclusive Hideaway in Costa Rica's Last-Best Place. One of the World's Most Awarded EcoLuxury Hotels. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy. Trip Advisor Traveler Choice - 4 consecutive years. World Travel Award Finalist - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years.....and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing