We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Pacifico
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This review is long over due. Stayed at Rancho Pacifico last month with my girlfriend and parents, and everything was amazing. We were fortunate enough to stay in the three bedroom villa with the kind of view you can't accurately portray with words. I have never been to a hotel with a kinder staff. Nothing I can put here will be able to explain how wonderful our trip was. Sure it's far from San Jose, and up a rough dirt road, but it turkey is paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    32
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
56
323
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was the best honeymoon I could have imagined. Between the breathtaking views, outstanding service, and gourmet cuisine (even for us vegetarians!), my wife and it had the experience if a lifetime. If you want it get personalized service, knowledgable staff, and a relaxing time, you need it get to RP. There is nothing like being greeted by your first name by everyone here, knowing that they take the time to get to know you. My wife and I are animal lovers, and they were sure to help us spot toucans and monkeys whenever possible. All the non vegetarians around us also raved about the food, and everyone seemed to be as happy and appreciative as we were.

Room Tip: TreeHaus for a perfect romantic getaway... Outdoor jaccuzi and double shower head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwwilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I are very happy with our choice to stay at Rancho Pacifico for our honeymoon. We stayed in the tree haus which was a romantic and secluded location. The rainforest surrounding and ocean view were so beautiful. The food at RP was exceptional. We are both vegetarian and chef Alex and the staff were great at creating amazing meals for us each day. Some of the other highlights of our stay were our hike to the waterfall on the grounds, a snorkeling expedition to cano island, a guided night hike, couples massages at spa tranquila (a short walk from our tree haus) and having cocktails by the pool. This was a gorgeous, relaxing and peaceful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have had the opportunity to travel to many wonderful places, like South Africa, Bali, Thailand, USVI, and Hawaii and by far Rancho Pacifico and Costa Rica rank at the very top of the list. Rancho Pacifico's staff really go above and beyond to meet your needs and make you feel like family. There isn't anything they will not do to help make your stay relaxing and tranquil. The food from breakfast to dinner is fantastic. Every morning they provide you fresh squeezed juice and while not a juice drinker I felt compelled to try each and every one. Delicious!

The hotel is 3km away from the town of Uvita, although the drive up and down can be interesting. Definitely rent a 4x4 so you come and go as you please. Within a short distance of the hotel you can repel down waterfalls, take a 5 hr ATV tour, learn how to surf, hike, spend time at the beach and snorkel.

Lastly the rooms are very well appointed. The beds are comfortable, the dual showers have great water pressure and each room has amazing views of nature.

You will be so happy to have stayed here and looking at your calendar when you can return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean. Although most room have 360 degree views of amazing lush lands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjd232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rancho Pacifico is the ultimate getaway due to it's location, luxury, personal service and attention and food. The location is remote and beautiful. You will rise every morning to birds singing and the howl of the howler monkeys. It is high up the mountain. The feeling of the rainforest changes as clouds come in and over the mountain. The location even afforded us spectacular views of lightening storms. The views are breathtaking of the jungle, the ocean and specifically Whale Tail Beach. The villas blend in with nature and you feel like you are part of the jungle, especially with the floor to ceiling windows. Our shower even had floor to ceiling windows, but still had privacy as they only faced the jungle. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa and it's as luxurious as you can get in the jungle.

The service is impeccable. The staff are very friendly and personable. We were greeted by name each time a staff member saw us. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Even after we arrived late from a night hike when dinner service was over, the staff stayed and waited for us to serve us our meal knowing that we had yet to eat dinner.

The food was delicious. The menus are creative and delightful. We truly enjoyed every meal that we ate on the property. There are a few restaurants in town, but since getting up and down the mountain can be a bit cumbersome, it's just easier to stay and eat on the property and of course the food is good, so why go elsewhere?

I don't see any downsides to staying at Rancho Pacifico, but if you are staying in the 3 bedroom villa, you should know that the villa is up a hill slightly off the main property. If the car is available, the staff will pick you up. But, if the car is not available, then you will have to walk. The only problem with this is that the road is rocky, steep and could be muddy if it rains. Flip flops aren't a good idea walking up or down the hill, so if we wanted to go to the pool or wear sandals to dinner, we had to wear our hiking shoes, bring our flip flops or sandals and change shoes once we got to the main property. Although the 3 bedroom villa is beautiful, if I were to stay again, I definitely would stay in a room where I didn't need to worry about that. However that said, it surely did not ruin our vacation!

I highly recommend Rancho Pacifico and look forward to my next stay at this perfect property!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Rancho Pacifico provides a great vacation experience. The location is beautiful in a remote, rugged setting, and the resort grounds, lodging, and common areas were designed with attention to details that make it luxurious but not out of place with its environment. There is a lot, or nothing to do, whichever you prefer (probably both). Hanging around the pool or in sitting areas, or at the bar is relaxing. Excursions down the mountain to the beach, nature tours, water sports, etc. provide half or full days of activity. The staff here make the experience very personal. Each staff member gets to know your name and your preferences, and anyone is ready to help you at anytime. They become like friends and family after several days. The food is excellent, with lots of vegetarian and gluten-free options. The servings are perfect, and the fresh ingredients and healthful preparation makes it feel like you eating a special meal at home as opposed to eating in a restaurant all of the time. An excellent experience overall, and one we hope to have again here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rancho Pacifico is truly amazing. We stayed there the first week of June on our first trip to Costa Rica. Everything about RP is wonderful, especially the service. Every member of the staff we met was friendly, authentic and professional. Our meals were delicious and perfectly prepared. We stayed in the TreeHaus Villa and it was even more beautiful in person than in the photos. We sat on the deck with a stunning view of the ocean, listening to the sounds of the forest and could have stayed there forever. One reviewer referred to their time at RP as “flawless” and we agree. I cant’ imagine finding a more beautiful and welcoming place anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Property: Rancho Pacifico
Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#1 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rancho Pacifico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea.....Your Adult-Exclusive Hideaway in Costa Rica's Last-Best Place. One of the World's Most Awarded EcoLuxury Hotels. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy. Trip Advisor Traveler Choice - 4 consecutive years. World Travel Award Finalist - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years.....and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing