We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient beauty with an unparalleled staff”
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed at Rancho Pacifico for 6 nights during our honeymoon. It exceeded our every expectation and we had an absolutely fabulous time. First, the setting could not be more beautiful. From the treehouse we had a breathtaking view of the lush rain forest and the ocean. The accommodations were lovely - very modern and simple, but luxurious. Every morning we woke up to a wide variety of birds chirping and monkeys howling. During the afternoon we observed incredible thunderstorms from the jacuzzi on our deck. Even better than the setting, though, was the staff. The entire group knew our names from the moment we walked in, and was completely focused on making our stay comfortable and memorable. Marco, Vivian, and Hilda gave incredible massages, Marvin and Ronny were fantastic waiters, and Ivan (security) took us on a beautiful hike to a nearby waterfall. The food is also worth noting - we had the most incredible 4 course meals every night for dinner. We had planned on going out to a local town restaurant, but the food was just too good to miss. The cuisine was great, interesting, and and used fresh local ingredients. The banana bread french toast at breakfast is not to be missed! All in all, we had a fabulous time and we hope to return at some point in the future. Thank you Rancho Pacifico!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costarica718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

Our stay at RP was the trip of a lifetime. The hotel, which only has 10 villas/tree houses, is incredibly beautiful and nestled high atop a mountain overlooking the surrounding mountains and the Pacific. Everything about the resort is immaculate. But as spectacular as the resort is, it cannot compare to the staff. Everyone was so wonderful, they made us feel like part of their family. The executive chef Alex and his staff prepared the most amazing meals. Adrianna the conciere took care of every detail, even going as far as to take our friend to her personal hairdresser in town. Viannee (sorry if I mispelled) our bartender was more like a our good friend than an employee of the resort. Ronny and Adrianna (2) were always available to help us plan our days activities as well as take care of use at virtually every meal. RP's spa staff, Hilda and Valerie brought us back to life on multiple occasions. Unfortunately we missed Garrison the owner, but my wife had a wonderful conversation with him, just to tell her hello and wish us a wonderful stay. If you have the opportunity to stay at RP, don't pass it up. Our stay was an experience we will never forget and hope to relive as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCM0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

RP's family became your family within 24hrs of your arrival. My husband and I went down there for our honeymoon and it was the perfect escape from my high stress level job and city lifestyle we have in Michigan. You became part of the life there in Uvita. The people became our friends and soon our Costa Rican family members. Leanardo Da Vinci one said that "Simplicity if the Ultimate Sophistication" and I truly believed that RP nailed this! From the breakfast every morning, to our Treehaus, the spa, the people who cared for you, and the extended excusions...IT WAS PERFECT! You woke up every morning with our neighbors, the Hallor Monkeys. You became one with Mother Nature's rainforest and the views...well they were spectacular that words cannot describe. We chose not to rent a car during our time there in RP, but you do have the option available to you. The drivers were great and very accommodating. The staff (actually, my CR family) was so sweet. You began to know their life and vice versa. To me, I know that CR and RP will have a very special place in my heart.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK0821MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Thanks again to the amazing staff at rancho pacifico. Michelle and I had the best vacation ever. The staff really made it happen. The food was incredible! Thanks Alex! Our driver Christian was one of the nicest guys we met. Thanks again for playing the guitar for michelle on her birthday. Adrianne and Marvin did a great job taking care of us.

Thanks Again,
Todd and Michelle

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittefrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We just returned from our 8-day honeymoon in Costa Rica. We spent the last four days at Rancho Pacifico which were both fun-filled and relaxing all at once. Upon arrival, we were kindly greeted by Adrianna and Alex -- it felt like long-lost friends greeting us with excitement and details about the resort and all that it has to offer. One beauty of Rancho Pacifico is the location: you can choose to stay on the resort to enjoy complete relaxation, quiet, and amazing food or you can venture to the local towns nearby (within a 10-20 minute drive) for the national parks and trails, beaches, tours and adventures...Rancho Pacifico is the perfect balance for travelers who want both. We were amazed at how wonderfully Adrianna "read" our personalities and requests and gave us the best recommendations of where to go and what to do. We were so excited when Alex (the head chef and manager) was kind enough to set up a fishing adventure and then went out of his way to cook a special, and completely amazing, dish of each of the types of fish that we caught that day as part of our dinner! The dinners were incredibly economical ($34/person), four-courses and were outstanding in creativity, taste and quality. They focus on all fresh, local, organic ingredients and no meal is ever the same...we were surprised each morning and evening with delicious bakery muffins, breads and treats that Alex and his staff created throughout the day. The service from all the staff was so kind and attentive...Ronny, Marvin, Alex, and both Adrianna's...we left feeling like they were both friends and family. An absolute 5-star resort and a gem amidst the rough of the jungle!! We were very sad to go but are already looking forward to our return to Rancho Pacifico!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPCPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at Rancho Pacifico for the last three nights as part of an 8 night vacation. If we had known earlier, we would have stayed the entire 8 nights there. We knew we were in for something special while on the drive up to the resort. We had one of the tree houses. It was like something out of a movie set. The ultimate in privacy! The deck opened with views to the ocean and had a hot tub outside. We awoke each morning to howler monkeys and birds. Most importantly, the staff was fabulous. The food was by the far the best we had in Costa Rica, and the menu was creative. The daily special cocktails the perfect tropical drinks. Garrison is the ultimate host and the rest of the staff looked after all of our needs. We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Words cannot express what an amazing trip this was. Rancho Pacifico thinks of everything and then try’s to go above and beyond! All of your recommended tours were fabulous, the food outstanding (Alex your great and I'm still waiting for a recipe you promised me!), our driver Christian couldn't do enough for us and Marvin and Adrianne took great care of us in the dining room. The massages and wraps were heavenly with Marco; I started the trip with one and ended it with another. Waking up in the morning to the call of the birds and monkeys will not be soon forgotten! Garrison and his wife, who were in Colorado during our visit, took great care of my friends who we were traveling with. One of them got sick and the owners were called from the states and spoke with them. They suggested that she be taken to the hospital for IV fluids and Alex/ Adrianne arranged for a driver to take them and to stay with them through the whole process to help translate. When they arrived back from the hospital, several hours later, Alex made some soup for her and had it delivered to their room. This is the kind of outstanding care that is given at Rancho Pacifico. Garrison, your hotel is in great hands while you are away and you should be very proud of your staff. But then, you must know that since you hired them. We look forward to returning and hopefully next time Garrison, you and your dogs will be there. It was a pleasure speaking with you on the phone the morning that we were leaving

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbirchRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
645 reviews
4.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 13 in Uvita
177 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: £417 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rancho Pacifico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea.....Your Adult-Exclusive Hideaway in Costa Rica's Last-Best Place. One of the World's Most Awarded EcoLuxury Hotels. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy. Trip Advisor Traveler Choice - 4 consecutive years. World Travel Award Finalist - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years.....and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing