We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”
Review of Tucan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tucan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great people”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed in a double room with private bath for two nights during the rainy season. Positives: The people who run this hostel are lovely and helpful regarding nearby beaches/places to eat. The overall vibe of the place is fun; we loved the hammocks strung up all over the place. Cons: The air conditioning didn't work and the window didn't have a screen, so we got pretty bitten up at night. (This was partly our fault, as we didn't let them know about the air conditioner being broken.) Our bed had just a sheet on it, and the bottom sheet had a couple of rips in it. The rooms were not cleaned each day. Also, all the rooms are around a centered area which can get really noisy if you want to sleep. (That said, we realize it's a hostel, not a five-star hotel!) We ate some meals here, which were so-so but thankfully filling and pretty inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    60
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
83
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for a few nights in june with a large-ish group of backpakers and right from the beginning we received outstanding service. The owners are the most hospitable, friendly people I have met. They drove us to the beach, recommended things to do and were generally lovely. One day we went to a beautiful waterfall several klm away, we ended up getting caught in the rain quite late in the afternoons. Worried, the owner came looking for us with dry towels and a car to drive us back to the hotel. How friendly!

On top of this, the hotel is very clean, comfortable and has everything a traveller could need!

Thank you so much for you hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This place has the best decoration of the American Continent!!! You'll love relaxing on the hamac, have a beer on the tables in the main area, play pool or grab the guitar and entertain the guests around (if you can...). The owners, a mixed couple (authentic Italian lady, American man) will give you loads of practical info on the area and will try and make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are crazy too. Those without air conditioning can get really hot even with the fan on, but the whole crazy atmosphere will make up for it.
Small area to cook which is very handy. Wlaking distance to a "bakery" (not French bread...), bank and supermarket in particular. Try the wonderful Ceviche at the fish store nearby. Uvita is not such a great town... but the beaches are great !!!!! We saw dolphins (fins mostly) close to us in the water.
Thanks Tucan Hotel, we had a very friendly and relaxing experience there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucerias, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The setting of the place is perfect, with the reception, dinning area, common kitchen and hammock all in the and the rooms all around. It is airy and comfortable. They offer food and drinks for those that don't want to cook. I cook so I can appreciate when a Hostel keeps a kitchen with all the most important basic items needed for cooking a simple meal. The have free coffee all day, cooking oil, pepper, salt and even chamomile tea in the kitchen. The rooms and bathrooms clean; all a budget traveler like me needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretnMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Toucan was one of the first places I stayed in Costa Rica, and it was a great first taste indeed! The hostel staff, especially Alex (hey Alex!) and Kenneth were so helpful and friendly, helping us to translate phrases and call other hostels (thanks Kenneth) on our journey. It is a real spacious place with lots of hammocks and areas for hanging out, and a smallish but working kitchen. We stayed in hammocks in the tree house and it was amazing! Would really recommend staying in the tree house, and it gets nice and cool up there in the evening. This hostel is about 25 walk to the waterfall and you would need a taxi to the beach. But the price is right and you can access the river closer (turn right at the hostel exiting, right at the furniture making place) and the supermercado and bank are real close too. Great time!

Room Tip: Tree house!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Me and my partner stayed there 4 nights. The first two nights we camped in our own tent and the two last we stayed in the mosquito-net building in the back of the garden. Both options were enjoyable and cheap.

The hotel is a bit far from the beach, but they do drive a little shuttle bus down there once a day. The beaches in uvita are well worth going there for; not too many people and you can easily get coconuts for free.

The staff were very helpful and nice to talk to. The wibe is very relaxed. You can easily get food made for you or you can go to the supermarked just around the corner witch has everything you'll need to make your own meals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent 4 days in Uvita (Feb 2012) and actually did not stay at the Tucan but we did spend a significant amount of time there hanging out in the communal area, booking tours and having a few beers. The atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming unlike the place we had booked where we slept only. Alex was the best, he helped us book several tours and provided us with advice on what to do and where to go in the area. He allowed us to leave our packs with them while on the tours and we felf very comfortable doing so. It is a great place to meet other travellers. The food is also really good there. We can't comment on the rooms but we would sure give the Tucan a try if in the area again. The vibe and staff are reason enough to return. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimKerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.5 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
608 reviews
3.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
4.3 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#12 of 12 in Uvita
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Cascada Verde
Hostel Cascada Verde
#6 of 41 in Uvita
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucan Hotel

Property: Tucan Hotel
Address: 100 mtrs east of Banco de Costa Rica | Uvita de Osa, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tucan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucan Hotel Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing