We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tucan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Celestial(Uvita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
129
62
17
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
62
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikesfree shuttle to the beachfree coffee all daylarge common areashared kitchenitalian foodsocial areagood vibestree housebamboo forestbus stophot waterthe air conditioningpacific coasthammockshostelsupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I ususally dont go to low budget hotel ,because too often you get what you pay for ,if you re lucky .But as I did not want to rent a car ,and most hotels are high in the mountain , deceided to check it out .Im surely glad i did .. The place is really clean ,the clients quite decent , not like some low budget hotels who attracted only drifters .Here , many groups , or girl friends get-away ,or family . No pools but the beach is near by .
The receptions is just the best , the welcome ,the informations , the service etc ,better than n some 4 stars hotels I stayed in the area .Carla , the lovely italian manager ,obviously loves a job and cares for the guest ,and cooks in the eveving .
The restaurant is just a few tables ,but the food is worthy of a 4 stars hotels , international food with an italian touch , for 12 USD , the best meal I had in the all costa rica .So ,if you dont mind a simple decoration ,but are demanding about the food quality ,this is it !

Room Tip: its usually dormitory , bunks beds but clean , we took a private room . th reception has a safe box , you can rent bycicles , and surfboards .
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for almost a week at Tucan and enjoyed it a lot. The place is really nice to chill and read in one of the hammocks - or watch a free movie at night. The staff is great, all very helpful and friendly - you can feel, they really like their job.
We stayed in a double room with private bath, which was really nice! Big bathroom with hot water and a spacious room with a comfortable bed. The communal kitchen serves fine for cooking dinner or making your own breakfast, if you want to save some money. The restaurant inside the hostel serves food, too. The pancakes were fine, although the pasta we tried one night was not that great. For great local food try the soda "La Canalla" (just a short walk away, if you leave the hostel turn right - on the way to the waterfall). Great casados!
The beach is quite far, but most of the hostels in Uvita are not close to the beach. That's one thing you have to deal with, but Tucan Hotel offers a free shuttle to the beach in the morning. We had a great time there - did a whale waching tou, too! - and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

was a great spot to meet people if you are traveling alone, a super cool vibe inspired by the owners, a couple of expats that live on site. it has super quiet and decent dorm rooms, and a very communal vibe out in the courtyard that lends itself to interaction with new people. the bar/restaurant is well priced, but not cheap. good for what you get.

Room Tip: I really liked the treehouse, there is a cool screen tent outside too if you want fresh air. the dorms are quiet, but a little stuffy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelonmyown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

When our group of 17 teenagers and their chaperones saw this place, they literally gasped with delight. The rooms are arranged on either side of an interior space covered on top and open on the ends. The “roof” also had skylights so the whole space is light and open feeling. Under this canopy there are hammocks, seating areas with couches, a piano, a pool table, a small restaurant, and lots of interesting art.

Each room is themed around a different country and ours were all air-conditioned! Hot showers and cool air, what luxury!

Elizabeth runs the place and was so welcoming and kind, we felt instantly at home. The first night we phoned to let her know that we would arrive around 7 and wanted to have dinner there. She had a great dinner waiting for us when we arrived. Breakfast was also a treat, with yummy pancakes one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBoomer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Nice rooms with a private bath for cheap. the people are nice, and this place has an extremely relaxing vibe about it. Its a great place to crash after some rugged traveling. I would go back for sure...!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanodeano32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews