We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellente - Exellent - Unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellente - Exellent - Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

A unique eco place, with test best food in the boutique restaurant, i ever eaten in costa rica.
Sergio and his staff were very helpfull and friendly with our three small children.

They cooked every day for our kids a small lunch with 100% naturally ingridients.

The arco beach is unique and by low tide real good to swimm.

We enjoyed this unique place and will go back a soon as possible.
http://lacusingalodge.com/en/photos/12/-Promocional-Videos

Thanks for this superb place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonsoon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    61
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
102
205
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

I came to La Cusinga for my second stay here on my honeymoon. It was as wonderful as I remember it. The view from the Mirador is amazing and the sunsets here are incredible. The property has an amazing diversity of flora and fauna on property - sea turtles come here, Congos and toucans are easy to find, there is a natural pool on the property, there is a (basically) private beach a few minutes walk from the place. On top of that Mateo really made us feel like family and the meals were as though your mother made you each course wth love - except your mother is the best cook in the city. To continue this feeling I received an e-mail directly addressing the feedback we left on our comment card at check out which just continued our feeling that they cared for us like family while we were there. Thank you La Cusinga!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tschannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
It is so nice to see people that come back to enjoy great moments with us!

Congrats in your wedding! And thank you for making our place your Honeymoon destination!

Glad that we fulfill your expectation, and hope that you had a great time. We do look forward to your return over the years and to let us be part of your life! To see you family grow and to be part of our family! We have friends that have been coming back over the years and had shared with us those especial moments!

Again thank you for making us part of your life! And we look forward to a long lasting relationship of friendship and of “familia,” again congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

you will find:
an amazing ocean view - if you are lucky you can see wales and dofphines
jungle trails with all the plants and animals that Costa Rica has to offer
tasteful and clean bungalows
an open air restaurant with excellent food
a beach

you will not find air condition and TV (thank god)

We had an excellent time - thank you!

Room Tip: get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

While we did not stay at La Cusinga, our four course Friday night dinner at the Gecko Restaurant was the highlight of our trip to the area.

Make no mistakes, this is destination dining in a completely rustic setting. We had dinner there on a tip from friends who travel regularly to the area, and a week of eating in the area (good local food, but nothing to write home about) dinner here was wonderful change.

It was initially a let down to find out that the night we booked, they were serving a vegetarian meal, but we were very pleasantly surprised once our meal arrived at the table. The meal started with a pitcher of homemade Tamarind juice. We were served a fantastic sweet potato soup with fresh local grown herbs. Our next course was a light salad of local garden grown vegetables, including some of the sweetest cucumber we've ever eaten. Our next course was a stuffed red local pepper, which was so savory, it was hard to believe it was vegetarian, served with a flavorful side of herbed mashed potatoes. Things wrapped up with homemade vanilla ice cream and a chocolate sauce over slices of young fresh white fleshed pineapple, grown on the premises.

We brought our 6 year old, and they were fantastic with her, willingly making her a separate butter noodles entree and all the starters and dessert, and charging us half the adult price. A four course dinner of this caliber, at $20 US a person, was our best meal and best deal of the trip.

I don't know that the Eco Lodge would be a place our young family would stay, we stayed nearby at a comfortable beachfront locale with air conditioning, but there was simply no better setting to view a sunset than high in the hills overlooking the coast at this unique, beautiful Lodge. if you want beer or cocktails, you can bring them in to watch the sunset and you'll be given a bucket of ice and glasses, but they are not served. I believe they may have wine at La Cusinga, but am not certain of this.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank find_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Thank you for your review! it is nice to get such review as it let us know that what we are doing is correct and that people like what we do! It is a concept that we like, try to serve organic products from our own land or our neighbors, which will give us a great tasting product… which if the love and care the team adds to it will be an even greater experience!

Again thank you for visiting us and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Surely the best lodge we had in our 5-week trip in Costa Rica. The view from the lodge is splendid! The term "eco" is well deserve. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorateurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Though La cusinga is beautful, and the staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgable, for those that are used to air conditioning or easy access you may find it challenging.

Between 50-- 60 'boulder type' steps each way up and down from the car park down to our cabin or to the dining area, as the resort is built on a hillside with either or both suitcases / small children is challenging.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the lodge's structures, views, and staff. In our over 15 years of operation we have always greatly valued our guests' feedback. For this reason we give all guests the opportunity to fill out our feedback form while closing their bill. After reviewing the opinions of this family and realizing that their experience clearly did not match their expectations, we wrote them an e-mail asking for further suggestions as to how we could have specifically improved their stay. As we received no word, and now see this review, we feel it is appropriate to clear up a few details.

While it is quite true that none of our “cabinas” have air conditioning, this is not something that we ever offer. We have created La Cusinga as a model for sustainable business practices, where financial viability is achieved in conjunction with a stewardship of the forest and surrounding ecosystems and an integrated participation in the community's healthy human growth. We designed the lodge to provide our guests with the opportunity to explore the property's primary and secondary forests, pristine beaches, natural pools, and to enjoy an unparalleled contact with the area's natural beauty without sacrificing the basic comforts to which we are accostumed – namely a restful night's sleep, comfortable rocking chairs and hammocks with fantastic views, and tropical foods and juices prepared with fresh local produce. Our cabinas are designed to maximize natural airflows during the day and the refreshing ocean breezes at night. All rooms are also completely screened to prevent mosquitos and other bugs from entering and disrupting the tranquility of night in the jungle.

Yes, the lodge is built on a hillside that gives our guests unique views of the Ballena Marine National Park. All the infrastructure was built with local materials, including the stairs and walkway. We feel, however, that the term “boulder-type” is quite misleading. The stairs are made using our unique La Cusinga style beautifully combining a concrete base with local stones and are constantly maintained. The walk-up the 60 stairs is surrounded by beautiful tropical plants and fruit trees, and can be done at ease by guests of any age in under two minutes.

We do regret that this family had to bring up part of their luggage by themselves. Upon arrival, we always offer to help our guests with the luggage so that they do not have to carry them down the stairs, which we admit can be somewhat challenging depending on the size of the suitcase. This is naturally a service we provide completely free of charge, as our staff is happy to help our newly-arrived guests start to feel at home and relaxed. Despite our friendly reminders on the day of check-out, oftentimes guests prefer to bring the bags by themselves, and we respect their wishes.

Once again we thank this guest for the very positive feedback regarding our staff and services, as well as for enhancing our understanding of guests' needs. We would like to emphasize that the only two negative aspects of this review (neither of which was included in the actual feedback form) were the lack of air conditioning (something that we never offer and is unnecessary with the cool ocean breezes) and the fact that they had to walk up some well-maintained steps that in total take less than two minutes to arrive to the hotel's main lookout. We are a Costa Rican family business and are very confident that our lodge provides guests with an unparalleled opportunity to enjoy all that this wonderful area has to offer. We welcome anyone interested to contact us and to come decide for themselves!

thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eudora, Arkansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

La Cusinga was a unique experience with the sounds of howler monkeys and lovely impressions of nature. Initially, group travel promoted an air conditioned lodge and the La Cusinga change without AC was a health problem for me. A second floor bunk bed assignment with no cross ventilation and an inefficient ceiling fan resulted in a sleepless struggle for breath. However, no resort personnel were present in the night.
The staff seemed reluctant to provide ice when they arrived at 6 AM. The Tucan dorm ceiling fan was not fixed April 1-2, 2011. The tour guide’s effort obtained an electric fan, but I had little rest in my 2 night stay. Please consider developing health management for those with heart issues.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrimcAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
506-2770-2549, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
We are sorry that you had such issues! The error was done from the travel agent that brought you here! As they know the place well and they know it is an EcoLodge with trails and nature all around it! We have never had A/C so that was not our misrepresentation, and we are very sorry that they took you to a place that was not what they sold to you. Again this company knows our place and has worked with us for many years, so I am still in shock why they chose our place for you! We did try to do our best to help out. Our cabins are well ventilated and they have fans and they are open in in 2 sides and the roof too. The ice issue is also something the guide knows well, we have a small ice maker that we have only for the kitchen, so when a large group like the one you were part of all the ice is use to make the natural juices that we provide during the entire day for you at no extra cost. The tour operator at no point told us the age of your group nor any health problems that you all had, actually they gave us a room list and told us not to move anyone around. I see the anger that you have, but I know that most of it is because someone sold you a product and gave you another one! It is not fare that we get the one out of five rating as it was not us that sold you the wrong package. We are a great place for people that love to be part of nature that are active and that understand what a sustainable hotel is about. But life is not fair! We will support your anger for what someone else sold you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.5 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#11 of 12 in Uvita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing