We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga retreat... a beautiful success!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yoga retreat... a beautiful success!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Pura Vida! Sustainable Eco Lodge, without feeling the need for air condition. I am the first one to say," I Need air condition and hot water consistently"! So when I say, going this time of year was perfect, I mean, no sweat!

I was in a group room, so I believe this was the cause for limited hot water. The yoga participants in the private rooms did not seem to have this problem. I would indeed go private next time. All of the rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean!

The location was fabulous, the reason for being there! Mountainside overlooking the Pacific ocean. Nature is #1 at La Cusinga!! The gorgeous private beach was a 20min hike down the mountain. If you prefer you can take a taxi 5-10 min. to the beautiful local pubic beaches.

The service was wonderful. The staff were all so happy,friendly and helpful. Always an English speaking manager around to assist! The owner was gracious and modest. He has an incredible story of how La Cusinga came to be. Also, why it remains so exclusive:) It is a perfect model of how we can preserve our planet. The buffets were delicious and nutritious (Plenty of local fresh fruits) with plenty of vegan and raw alternatives for each meal.

The Yoga Center, well, IT IS PERFECT! Indescribable energy! I will down load some pics!

Room Tip: Private rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterfly2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
506-2770-2549, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Pura Vida! a word that tell you a lot about our place! Yoga is a practice where one needs to be one with our self, but also with nature. and what better place than a hotel that has both Rainforest and Ocean. Thank you for your visit and we do look forward to your return. And we will look into how to have more hot water in the group rooms, we have already increased the capacity, but we will look into it again!

And please let others know about our place as a place to visit and also as a yoga place.

thank you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    63
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
111
213
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

we checked in and never left for our entire stay. the commitment to sustainable living is evident at every turn, with beautiful, private rooms and fantastic food overlooking the pacific. a somewhat vigorous walk ends at an incredible beach we had to ourselves, and an easy walk the other direction leads to a waterfall and pool with a perfect current for swimming against, and there is a more ambitious 2 hour nature hike. the staff is committed, knowledgeable and friendly, and the property feels as though it is set in a vast preserve (it shares boundaries with the ballena park).

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite is very private with an ocean view of the "whales tail"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
506-2770-2549, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
thank you for your visit! we love to get people that get what we are about! we are trying to let peole know that we can actually be one with nature! and that quality and comfort is possible in a sustainable place! again thank you so much for your visit!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We only happened on La Cusinga having been let down by another lodge. We stayed one night-we were the only guest-it poured with rain all the time but we still rate it excellent. The staff, thelodge, the environment are first class. We had supperoverlooking the jungle being closely observed bt a tree frog. We will return outside the rainy season.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matelot67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
506-2770-2549, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
People ask me what the best time to visit Costa Rica is. My top of mind reply will be the time when it rains… as it is the time that I love best, as the forest is full of life, the colors are greener, and happier. It is the time that I enjoy the most.

Thank you for having taking a few minutes of your time to let us and the world know how your stay was!!!

We are glad that you had a good experience and look forward to see you in the future! Have a great 2012!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We absolutely loved everything about La Cusinga! We spent countless early AM (with carafes of fresh coffee) and late PM (with cold beers)hours bird watching from the beautiful covered common room. The food was delicious, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was perfect. The women working at the time, were lovely and made sure we were happy as clams! The hiking was great and we had the beaches to ourselves. The yoga space is exquisite and the design is beautiful. If we have the chance to go back to CR, La Cusinga would be tops on our list!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BirdyIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
506-2770-2549, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a good time! and yes coffee in the morning with the sounds of nature, the forest to the left and the ocen infront of you! yes a few cups of coffee are a great way to start your morning! we look forward to your next visit. Again thank you for your visit and for taking time to give us a review! and from all of us at La Cusinga: Happy Holidays! and a great 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

If you real love the nature you have to go to Costa Rica!
If you real love the nature you have to go to La Cusinga Eco Lodge!!!

!!Everything and Everyone are Excellent!!
The access is easy, the accommodations are perfect, everything is functional and clean, the gastronomy is excellent, clean, well done, served with car full glamour, at night the illumination is discrete and romantic, the "senderos" are well identifies you don´t need guide, the beach is amazing...
ALL staff are polite, helpful, friendly, available all the time, without realizing they are always there!
I will never forget that hotel, its just perfect!!

Room Tip: the accommodations are perfect, everything is functional and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaTarrozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Than you for taking the time and giving us a review! Very kind words and it is great to know that the team did a good job!Thank you for your visit! Look forward to your next visit! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Cabins were exquisite! We had a beautiful view of the garden (which had a baby boa constrictor snuggling in one of the bushes!), the ocean, and plenty of birds. Yoga was amazing, so were the massages. The beach is a short hike away and that's where we got engaged — yes it's that beautiful. Also, we hiked another trail on the property during the rain and saw a couple of poison dart frogs! There were also people swimming in the river, under the waterfall. The other best part was the food, every bite was delicious including the banana ice cream. The staff was very nice and helpful—they booked us on a great whale watch and arranged the yoga and massage sessions with no problems.

As far as places go this felt high-end without being too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solidgoldmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Than you for taking the time and giving us a review! I had the pleasure of getting engaged and married here too! it is a romantic Natural place! We hope that you have a great wedding and please do share your photos with us! and come back over the years to see your family and to share your place with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We only spent there two nights during our "Costa Rica Round Trip" and enjoyed it much. As we were traveling on our own with a rental car, it didn't really mater that the lodge is a bit remote. Our room was nice and clean, but sure don't (and we didn't) expect a fife star hotel room....

We were warmly welcomed at the reception and also for the rest of the stay, staff was always nice and helpful. After we've seen the pretty restaurant with perfect view over the sea, we decided to have all meals in there and didn't regret it though you have to consider that it's a set menue but big and well prepared.

If going there, consider that there is no bar, so we were happy to have brought our own beer, which can be placed in the fridge beside the kitchen to keep it cool.

Nearby rainforest with privat walks is also very pretty and a nice option to spend some time. We've also booked the whale tour trough the lodge, seen some whales, dolphins and turtels. The tour is nice though quite expensive.

All in all a place to recomend for the ones searching a nice and quiet lodge to stay with instant access to nature. If going back to Costa Rica we'll sure consider to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choli74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
"staff was always nice and helpful." this are the words that i love hear from our visitors, as we as a team try hard to make sure you feel at home! thank you for your visit and thank you for taking a few minutes to give the world your view! we look forward to your next visit... Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.5 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 South Of Km Mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing