We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my top five places on the planet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
“One of my top five places on the planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Love this place. All of it. Have visited repeatedly over the last seven years. Recommend to anyone who wants to experience the environment in a wonderfully comfortable setting without the distractions of phone, video, TV, or bar scene.

Room Tip: Can't think of a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johnkrynicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
“One of my top five places on the planet”

THANK YOU!!!

what an honor! that means a lot to our entire team! Put a big smile in our faces! Because that is our goal, to make your stay the best one ever and to make sure you have the privacy you need, but also the help that you want!

Muchas Gracias for sharing your review! and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    61
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
102
205
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

La Cusinga is a gem of an ecological retreat complex. The cabanas are lovely, spacious, and we'll appointed. The view out over the ocean, with sunset glowing, birds.and monkies in the trees, is magical. Playa del Arco, or rainbow beach, is haunting in its remote beauty. Water is bathtub warm and swimming safe. Trails to walk, organic local foods, knowledgeable friendly staff, a spectacular yoga pavilion with water views, our five days were the high point of our visit.

Room Tip: Any room on the lower path closest to the meadow and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brooke46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Muchas Gracias!

I love to hear this:

" our five days were the high point of our visit."

thank you for sharing your visit with the world, kind words that make our team very happy. And also give people an idea of what we are! We are nature lovers and we are one with our place!

We hope to have you back here with us very soon!

Gracias!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here with a small tour group, and it was a highlight of the trip. I was in a room with several bunk beds in it on the second floor of the main building. We had a fabulous view of the ocean! When I woke in the mornings, I could look into the trees and watch toucans and other birds. To top it off, there was great food with fresh fruit and juices! If I return to the area, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Italiphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review! we are glad that you had a good time and that our place was still in your heart!

i look forward to your next visit!

Your review help us to know that we are doing the right thing!

Pura Vida from Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have been visiting La Cusinga Lodge for many years and it is always a pleasure to stay there. The location is perfect, the staff is amazing and the food is the best in Costa Rica. If you are in the area and you want to enjoy an environmental friendly experience, please stay there. You will love it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JRVargasRutaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
JRVargas,

thank you! i am glad that you gave us a review! It is an honor, as you know we love having you and your people visit us! thank you for all your help during so many years!

Look forward to working together for many more years!

Muchas gracias y Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at La Cusinga for 4 days, while on a tour around Costa Rica. The food was wonderful, the scenery was breathtaking, there many great trails to explore, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was nice to know that the owners strive to preserve the natural environment of the surrounding rainforest. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and definitely would consider La Cusinga Eco Lodge as one of the best places I stayed at while visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you! for your review and for sharing the photos!

we are glad that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our place. we work hard to preserve our area, for more than 40 years we have been here and we have always been the tree huggers of the area, and we are proud it because today we have a place that we can enjoy and be part of nature. And we can share it with people like you that also like nature!

thank you for these words:

"The food was wonderful, the scenery was breathtaking, there many great trails to explore, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was nice to know that the owners strive to preserve the natural environment of the surrounding rainforest."

and the entire review!

thank you again and Pura VIda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agen, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This is probably one of the nicest place we've been during our 11 days trip in Costa Rica. We spent one day and one night there. The location, in front of the Punta Uvita, is just amazing. The staff is really smiling and welcoming. Food is OK. Our wood bungalow was realy pleasant.
BUT : we had the misfortune to stay there in the same time than a very noisy and impolite 15 people group (who, by coincidence, was American). Although the staff seemed to be really sorry of it, this group definitely spoiled our stay in this lodge. The mirador, an open place with rocking chairs, hammocks, with an amazing view on the ocean, is spoiled by noisy people, taking all the space. Moreover the bungalows are not soundproof, and we heard people (the same) from the trails at 6:30 am. The massage room is located beneath a room, and of course very noisy also. Too bad !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_B_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Tom B,

I love the first part of your review:

"This is probably one of the nicest place we've been during our 11 days trip in Costa Rica. We spent one day and one night there. The location, in front of the Punta Uvita, is just amazing. The staff is really smiling and welcoming. "

The rest of the review I understand and tried to correct the situation. First of all we are sorry that you had a negative experience. We have a lot of yoga groups in our hotel and part of their routine is yoga in the morning and evening. The morning in the jungle start early with the howlers calling everyone to wake up, and the toucans looking for breakfast.

We will take your review to heart and we have already had a meeting to make sure we can work out this type of issues, so we can have everyone enjoy their stay to the fullest. For us this is the first time we have this issue. We hope you come back and have a better experience!

Again thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I recently made our first trip to Costa Rica. We decided to visit the Uvita area on the Pacific Coast due to the recommendations from our friends Roger & Anita, and Amy (all of Geoporter). We spent 4 nights at La Cusinga in mid December 2013. La Cusinga was a fabulous choice and aligned with our personal values of conservation and natural wonder.

The La Cusinga experience begins with driving down the entry road with its tight curves and meanders. As you enter the parking area the natural elements fill your senses (sights, sounds, textures, fragrances, all give evidence of a serene place). Olman, very gracious young man, welcomed us at the office, checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was awesome beginning with the approach to the front door, the wooden materials, the arched design and the room continued to impress as we entered to natural woods, fibers, fresh linens and an open design filled with natural light. As we made our way through the room we wandered out to the covered balcony/patio with a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean; we had an uninterupted view of Whale Island, Tres Hermosas (Three Sisters), the west horizon, the Whale Tail of the National Park not to mention amazing flora and fauna. I think we captured 1000 photos from the balcony. It was a wonderful place to share the early morning with the monkey and birds; with our coffee in hand we welcomed each day.

The architecture of the grounds, buildings, trails and all facilities were impressive and inspiring. There are numerous natural trails through the rain forest, leading to the beach, leading to the the point, and throughout the facility. The lodge's style was very attractive and included a wonderful open-air, covered patio for guests to watch the whales, dolphin, birds, and from which to take pictures, to read or just to let the day wind down while occupying a hammock.

We enjoyed breakfast each day, it is included, and had dinner with them twice while there. Both dinners exceeded our expectations and was quite filling; it was an effort to clean my plate but I didn't want to leave anything! The meals were a bargain for what we received. They did a great job with the menu they choose each night - several courses all of which were awesome. One of the nights we ate dinner at La Cusinga was my wife's birthday and they surprised us with a homemade birthday cake - it was a perfect end to a great day.

The yoga platform was something out of a magazine, just an awesome, peaceful place.

I was surprised at the value, i think we got a great value for the cost. We did have a small rental car which allowed us to travel into Uvita and to experience all the region had to offer.

We did make a few comments about the location of their spa (the room used for massages). It, at the time of our stay, was on the first floor of a two level structure and the guests staying on the second floor, as one would expect, made some subtle noises; the noise of guests took away from the peaceful tranquility needed to ensure a great massage. My wife said the massage was wonderful but the sounds of people enjoying the day did take away from the solitude desired during a massage. We suggested they do something to isolate the massage experience in order that the ocean's surf and soft music was all that inter-twined with the soothing massage.

We highly recommend La Cusinga but also suggest you set your expectations correctly. This is an eco-lodge that demonstrates great respect for the local, natural beauty and the environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
SCOTT S,

Thank you so much for your visit, and for taking your time to give us such a great review! Anita is down here and thanked her for the referral! We are so glad that you and your wife had a great time with us!

" La Cusinga was a fabulous choice and aligned with our personal values of conservation and natural wonder. "

Those word give us great hope that we are doing things right!

We hope that you do come back! and thank you for all the referrals that, some one told me, that you are given! thank you!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.5 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#11 of 12 in Uvita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#5 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing