We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful!”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

In terms of eco-lodges, this place is the real deal.
The thought that went into the sustainable architecture is apparent in all of the beautiful details, and the surroundings are teeming with tons of wildlife. The beach looks as though it's part of a Jurassic Park set, and the food is superb.
In all, La Cusinga is a wonderful manifestation of the eco-tourism concept. The staff are local (as are the owners) and everything has been planned to help visitors put the least amount of strain on the local ecology while they learn about it and enjoy it.

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erondel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    63
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
110
213
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

The beach is untouched by development, which is something I had never seen in my lifetime. While in the water you find yourself not looking out to sea, but back at the pristine coastline enjoying it from all its untouched glory. On your way down to the surf do not be surprised if you walk right under a procession of howler monkeys, young and old in tow. I suggest to never venture without your binoculars for there is always something you'll want to view more closely. And don't forget to look under, over and on the leaves that you pass along your walks, chances are high that you'll find bats sleeping, hummingbirds nesting and bugs creeping all in their own special ways.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

During our one 1-week stay in Costa Rica we stayed in 3 different places and this was clearly our favorite. Great location, great staff, great food, nice rooms - a true gem for those looking for adventure while also having some creature comforts. My brother and I travelled with 2 recent college grads, a 15-year old, and an 11-year old and there was something for every one to enjoy. Personally, I will never forget being woken up by the early-morning groans of a male howler monkey right above my cabin, followed two days later by a family of white faced capuchins moseying right above me while i stood on the path near my cabin. In all my travels through Costa Rica i have never seen wildlife this close up.

All the kids had a lot of fun at the deep stream pool a short hike from the cabins - jumping into the pool from the rocks above and also admiring the neon blue crayfish in the shallows.

The wonderfully helpful lodge staff also made arrangements for several day trips including a snorkling trip to Cano Island and zip-lining at Osa Mountain, both wonderful. A local guide from the hotel also took my brother and I out for an early morning birding trip on their property across the road - excellent bird sitings!

Many thanks to Chef David for feeding our hungry group us so well!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and we didn't want it to end, there´s not a single thing that we didn't enjoy, starting with the view,, the service, the beach, the small river, the hotel rooms even the bathrooms were spectacular! And last but not least, the food! unbeliveable, fresh ingrediants and the best Chef ever! We have nothing but great memories and can´t wait to go back! Greetings to Geinier, Chef David and all the staff that made us feel great.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TicaGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I stayed at La Cusinga with an international group for a design workshop in April 2009.

It was one of the most memorable weeks of my life, the lodge is such a gem! Simple but great accomodation, very clean, mosquito screened windows in the large group accomodation, amazing food and hospitality. Tranquil and wonderfully isolated, warm water, deserted beach, abundant wild-life... A place made in heaven, I will take my family here as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This isn't the cheapest place you could stay on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. We splurged on the 4-day honeymoon package because it was, in fact, our honeymoon. The room was fantastic - luxurious comfort in a rustic setting. Juan, the hotel manager who never seems to get a day off, was incredibly friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The food was amazing, especially the dinners prepared by San Francisco native Chef David. The surrounding area is wonderful, including a secluded beach with a nice little fresh waterfall; a natural swimming pool (really a deep spot in a mountain stream - very refreshing) and close proximity to the nifty "Whale's Tail" of Uvita and all the tour options there. I don't have a bad thing to say about this place. If you're not willing or able to hike 15 minutes through the jungle (on a clearly marked, but somewhat rugged trail) to get to a great beach, this isn't the place for you. If you would freak out about seeing a jungle critter in or near your room, this isn't the place for you. We appreciated the screens that kept the very large spiders out of our room, but we didn't mind seeing a gecko and a few caterpillars that found their way in. We were awoken every morning just before dawn by the sounds of howler monkeys and roosters, which was okay because we were asleep shortly after dinner every night, we were so tired from all the fun. Although the rooms are rustic, they're also very nicely built, with comfortable beds, nice showers with hot water, and a cool breeze encouraged by the many large, screened windows, ceiling fan, and screened roof vents.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinulysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My stay at La Cusinga Ecolodge was one of the most spectacular experiences of my life. This small but special retreat centre is a rare jewel that is at once a conservation success story, profitable example of sustainable enterprise, and affordable tropical paradise. The service is sincere and exceptional. The meals were by far the best I have ever had. The views and vistas were equally spectacular. La Cusinga is a must see!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
2.5 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Property: La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Address: 200 South Of Km Mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing