We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Finca Bavaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 14 Uvita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at Finca Bavaria for two nights. The road to the finca is indeed very bumpy, but no problem with a 4x4. When we reached the finca, we immediately loved it: it's peaceful and beautiful. Rudi and Doris are incredibly nice, give good advice in what to do and where to eat in the area and they will help you with everything you need. The rooms have a ceiling fan and are very clean, but the beds were a little bit to soft for me. The pool is very nice for relaxing; you can cool off in the pool while looking at the ocean or spotting tucans and monkeys in the jungle.
In the morning we did the morninghike before breakfast, and we saw some nice wildlife and enjoyed the views of the ocean. You eat breakfast on the terrace and it's very good; fresh fruits, bread, cheese and ham, eggs, yoghurt, coffee and tea, pico gallo, and ofcourse 'Saksische leberwurst'. And with a bit of luck, you can see the tucans fly over the jungle when you are enjoying your breakfast or you can even see them from nearby in the trees near the finca, as we did.

Finca Bavaria is an little gem and I hope to return the one day, enjoying the beautiful view of the ocean and the jungle on the terrace with an Imperial in my hand.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliisaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    35
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
168
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The road from the main highway leading up to the Finca is a bumpy one but well worth the adventure. We received a warm welcome from Doris. We had arrived a little early and our room was not quite early, so we enjoyed a cold drinking while taking in the amazing view of the jungle with the ocean beyond. There is a great outdoor lounging area next to the dining area and a bar to enjoy a cold drink. There were books and maps and interesting information on the book shelves in the dining area. You could not help but relax. After hours, a cooler of a selection of cold drinks was left in the lounging area in which you would just mark down what you drank that evening and would be billed at the end of your stay. Down a short pathway was a very inviting swimming pool which also had a view of the jungle and ocean. We heard howler monkeys in the morning and saw parrots and toucans during the day. The rooms were very clean and decorated very nicely with very modern fixtures. There was a ceiling fan which was required because it was quite hot. One of the doors to the room opens out to a short pathway which leads to the pool. I enjoyed my peaceful early morning swim with no one else around, watching the toucans playing in the tree above. We stayed at 5 different places on this trip in Costa Rica; Finca Bavaria served the best breakfast of all. It was served buffet-style. It included an assortment of meats, cheeses, homemade breads and jams, eggs, a great selection of fruit, juice, tea and great coffee and more. They decorated the tables with beautiful flowers that had been freshly picked that morning. There were three tables, so you would sit with other guests and meet travelers from around the world. It was very enjoyable. Rudi and Doris, the owners, were extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay there very pleasant. There are some great restaurants in the area which were recommended by Doris. We would highly recommend this wonderful place to stay if you are in the Uvita area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I spent one night at Finca Bavaria, and getting there turned out to be quite an adventure. Access to the Finca is through a steep uphill dirt road. And it was so washed out by previous rains, that my non-4x4 car barely made it up there.
The location of Finca Bavaria is spectacular with excellent views of the ocean and the surrounding forest. Exotic birds just fly by as if they were pets. My room/cabin was large with high ceilings, nicely decorated and very clean. It had a small terrace with direct access to the pool. To my surprise everything was according to german standards: The door-lock, the toilet, the electrical outlets....they even have 220 voltage at Finca Bavaria. So american travellers may need adaptors.
The jungle location of the Finca has certain side effects. I was glad I brought earplugs, because the jungle is noisy even at night. And I woke up with the howling monkeys. Even with doors and windows closed, bugs and mosquitos found their way into the room. Ants explored my toiletries. So I slept under the mosquito-net, however that blocked out any effect from the ceiling fan.
That brings me to my criticism: I would have liked A/C in my room, because it got very warm unter that mosquito net. A refrigerator would have been nice to keep food and drinks cool...and away from the ants. Also I would have liked wireless internet. Other than that I enjoyed Finca Bavaria very much.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryslinge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at Finca Bavaria for two days, and we had a wonderful stay.
It is placed on a hill top in the forrest with a wonderful view over the forrest and the sea.
The rooms are very pleasant, clean and placed in beautiful surroundings.
We went birding in the morning on the grounds and saw howler monkeys, white faced monkeys, more than 25 tucans (two species) and lots of other birds.
And we went on a boat tour arranged from Bavaria and saw humpback whales, dolphins and lots of seabirds.
We can highly recommend this place.

Karl Top
Denmark

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
342 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

in the jungle, above the ocean, 4,5km south of Uvita, left 1km dirt road off the highway. you can make it without 4-wheel drive in dry season. stayed here end of january for 2 nights. Only 6 rooms.
Beautifull sunset from the open public veranda or from the poolside.
good and clean room.
very good breakfast in the morning from 8.00AM.
You don't miss a TV if you see toucans, or howler monkeys or morpho butterflies in front of your room.
On warmer days, I missed airco, despite the fan in the room ... that's my only complaint. If you need AC ... drive extra 1km south on highway to Cristal Ballena hotel and pay 3X more !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband and I just came back home from vacations at Costa Rica's South Pacific. We stayed at Finca Bavaria just one night but we wished it had been more.

This little and charming place is located within a beautiful property which combines ocean view the peace of nature. For those who love bird watching, this place also offers great opportunities to observe some of the exotic species of the zone.

The place is just a few minutes away from Uvita and Ojochal, two little villages that offer a surprising list of options in terms of gastronomy, outdoor activties and entertainment.

Doris and her husband are great hosts who are more than willing to offer you advice on things to do and places to go. We have nothing but great things to say about their place and their attention.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denia_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Doris and Rudy have taken a little piece of nature's wonder and turned it into paradise. The location is superb with beautiful vista's in the morning and sunsets to write poems about every night. From sloths to toucans to Howler Monkeys, the wildlife was stunning, although the Howler's barking at 5:30 in the morning was only cute for one morning. The rooms were clean and simple and the pool immaculate. Breakfast was beautifully done and we enjoyed it all four mornings of our stay.

Rudy and Doris have great connections and are extremely helpful to their guests. They treat all like friends and in turn inspire great conversation. Danke Schoen Rudy! Muchos Gracias Doris! Hasta luego!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiankgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.9 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
6.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
1.0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bavaria

Property: Finca Bavaria
Address: Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Finca Bavaria 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bavaria is a charming small hotel that is situated approx. 5 km south of Uvita. Surrounded by tropical rain forest, high above the Marino Ballena National Park, our guests enjoy breathtaking views over the jungle up to the coast, stunning sunsets and the sound of the animals of the rain forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bavaria Hotel Uvita
Finca Bavaria Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing