We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a Paradis”
Review of Finca Bavaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 16 Uvita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A pearl in the southern Costa Rica (Uvita). You must visit this place. A view over the Pacific which no word can decribe. Rooms which fulfil your wishes to good beds a bathroom with lots of hot water in the shower. Willy and Axel took care of us with kindness and helpfullnes. The breakfast is the best we got in Costa Rica. And the dinner Axel made for us was so tasty. Thank you Willy and Axel for some great seven days at Finca Bavaria. We will surely recommend your beautiful place.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We drove down to the Uvita area without doing any advance research and started looking around for places to stay. A small sign on the highway is all that marks this incredible place. Up a gravel road with a steep section and there we were. We initially booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 3 and would have stayed longer except we had a reservation elsewhere.

There were two trees on the grounds that were fruiting, including one right below the balcony of our room. These trees were full of birds that came to eat the berries, including more than a dozen magnificent chestnut-mandibled toucans. During our stay there were always toucans to see at very close range. We found a walking stick insect 9" long the first evening.

The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed and there was plenty of hot water. Our balcony had a hammock and chairs looking out at the Pacific Ocean. The pool was immaculate and we used it several times to beat the afternoon heat. Breakfast is served buffet style and was excellent with lots of choices and eggs cooked to order. I loved the thin pancackes.

Guests can reserve dinner in advance with a choice of 3 dishes. We passed the first night, which was a big mistake. The second night we had the best grilled fish we had in our entire month. And it's served on the patio with a roof but otherwise open to nature. We enjoyed chatting with other guests. Needless to say we ate dinner here the next night too, and it was just as good.

Willi gave us all kinds of help, including a recommendation for an isolated beach that one reaches right across the highway from the access road. A short hike along an obscured trail and a scramble down a steep bank takes you there. That was an awesome beach! There are still isolated places that you can have to yourself, and this was one of them.

The sign at the bottom of the hill on the access road says 4x4 but that's mostly so vehicles don't chew it up. A 2x4 can make it easily as long as you use low gear and keep your speed up. We had 4x4 but didn't need it.

The Uvita area is less developed than places further north and it was perfect. Voted among the 3 of us as our favourite place visited this trip. We want to go back for a longer visit, and when we do we will stay at Finca Bavaria. No question in my mind.

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the end so the balcony had views on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What can I say that no one else has! This place is a great find, Willie is a lovely guy who is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable of the area. He has a secret beach, a gorgeous morning walk, beautiful grounds, and 1/2 litre glasses of German beer! You do need a 4x4 to get there, like most places in Costa Rica, but it's worth the adventure.

If you like good food, clean accommodation, hot powerful showers, howler and white faced capuchin monkeys, hummingbirds, toucans and beautiful flowers this is the place for you

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Princey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Absolutely amazing place in the middle of the jungle!!! Spectacular views, sunsets and wildlife all around the Hotel. Would go back any time and stay longer!!!! We spend 5 days and didn't want to leave. Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Willi the owner is a very nice chap. Very helpful with local knowledge. He arranged a whale watching trip and horse riding for our family. Both of which were excellent. Views are stunning. Children loved the pool. Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesfamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were really impressed with what good value this place was. We went twice on the same holiday! The setting is absolutely superb. Sitting on the verandah, looking across a great sweep of rainforest to the ocean beyond, a cool glass in hand - heavenly! The same stunning view from the swimming pool which, for us, was a real highlight as we didn't stay anywhere else in Costa Rica with such a great pool.

Rooms are very clean. Showers are breathtakingly powerful. Same great views from some (but not all) of the rooms. Willi, who runs the place, is very attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Make it clear if you want a poolside room (no view) or a view. I'd recommend the view, every ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Finca has a great location, overlooking the beaches of Uvita.
Standard room plus tax plus breakfast make a total of 99 USD, for this price one starts to expect the comfort of an air condition and the possibility to pay with credit card.
The landscape holds a great garden and the most beautiful pool that we have seen in Costa Rica.
German staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
160 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#13 of 13 in Uvita
43 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bavaria

Address: Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finca Bavaria 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bavaria is a charming small hotel that is situated approx. 5 km south of Uvita. Surrounded by tropical rain forest, high above the Marino Ballena National Park, our guests enjoy breathtaking views over the jungle up to the coast, stunning sunsets and the sound of the animals of the rain forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bavaria Hotel Uvita
Finca Bavaria Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing