We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Lovers' Paradise-Heaven on Earth!”
Review of Manoas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manoas
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Villas de Las Aves is truly a gem. We stayed in Villa Paloma, the one bedroom villa overlooking the river, and have to say had one of the best stays in all our years of travel in Costa Rica. There is something special about this place! This is the closest I have come to a "religious experience" in nature.
Paul and Sarah have created an oasis for all types of animals, both in the wild, and for their rescues, which include parrots, dogs,cats, pigs, geese, and a donkey. They have planted a wonderful variety of bushes in front of the villas that attract an incredible amount of hummingbirds and butterflies. We could not tear ourselves off the spacious front patio, it was heaven! I saw more species of birds at this place than I have ever seen at any other place in Costa Rica.
The Restaurant was closed while we were there, but Paul and Sarah were kind enough to provide a delicious breakfast for us every morning. Their goal is to have the restaurant open again in the near future. The "Chef's Table" had glowing reviews before it closed, and we hope that it will be open when we return.
As you know, VDLA is about 2 km up a very adventurous road, so you will need a 4 WD for your stay. That said, we always stayed in at night, and cooked freshly caught mahi mahi and shrimp on the BBQ, sipping on margaritas, and lounging in the hot tub. You can drive to a great variety of fabulous restaurants in Uvita, Ojochal or Dominical, if you want to dine out.
There is a beautiful waterfall that you can walk to just up the hill from the Villa, and it is definitely worth the trek. There is a well marked trail down through the forest to get there,and you can just relax in the soothing fresh water and massage your shoulders under the falls.
Thank-you Paul, Sarah and Juleeana for creating this magical spot. We'll be back again before you know it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addictedtocostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Manoas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed at this beautiful spot in January. I apologize for not putting up my rave review before now.
The villa was the perfect combination of a costa rican feel with all the amenities we needed. We adored the outdoor hottub and used it every night of our stay. Oh, those star filled skies! We also used the barbecue and swimming pool and deck area daily.
The night of our arrival, Paul & Sarah arranged for a brick oven pizza to be brought to our door. We sat on our patio and drank wine and dined under the stars. Other days consisted of exploring a new beach area each morning, grabbing a late lunch somewhere in the area, then heading back to our villa for a late afternoon swim in the pool, drinks and supper under the stars, then the hottub.
We could not have been more content and will definitely return to the area for more exploring (it's wonderful) and will be staying with Paul & Sarah again. Even though this spot didn't have an "ocean view" that everyone looks for, you won't miss it. It's beautiful mountain/jungle location along a small river is great.
Paul & Sarah also have a great lunch spot, Going Bananas, on the main drag. It's well worth trying, but we dearly hope Chef's Table will be open again for our return visit.
Don't forget your 4x4 though as the drive up is not for the compact car crowd.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennoxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We just returned from Costa Rica and I am still dreaming of beautiful Villas de Las Aves. Although the trip up to the villas is arduous, the property itself is stunningly beautiful in every way with absolutely no detail left undone.

The villas are absolutely beautiful and luxurious. Sarah and Paul thought of everything: snacks, water and coffees (complimentary), fully equiped kitchen, fresh flowers, relaxing hammock, our own beautiful outdoor dining and sitting area, flat screen t.v. (never turned on by us -too beautiful around to do that!), music, books, magazines, games to play, DVD's, a georgeous pool overlooking the river with exotic birds next to it, our own private jacuzzi, a wonderful outdoor shower which runs from bamboo shoots (beauriful indoor shower also), luxurious robes provided, delicious homemade pizzas upon request, everything was just absolutely perfect! So much so that we, a family who is constantly on the go, did not even want to leave the property.

We brought our two children 6 and 9 and they were absolutely in their glory with a bit of freedom to wander the place. The property is totally safe as the six sweet dogs alert the owners to anyone's approach. The children loved and sought out the dogs, but they did not bother us in any way and generally kept to themselves after a quick greeting. The children were completely entranced by these creatures as well as the beautiful exotic birds and the farm animals which are kept at a separate (away from the villas) spot on the property. The young woman Julianna who is employed by Paul and Sarah, is bright and lovely and didn't mind that we joined her to go to feed the animals. She was informative and wonderful with the children and they absolutely loved visiting the donkeys, pigs, guinea hens, exotic birds, and the ducks and geese at the pond.

Julianna also did our laundry for a modest fee and made it clear that anything we needed she would help us with. We saw lots of birds including Toucans in the trees and saw horses wandering freely down at the river.

Paul and Sarah were also incredibly kind and pleasant. The perfect hosts in every way.

Although it was paradise for our children, I would also love to return to this beautiful place with my husband as it is wonderful for couples as well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapdelaine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Just two villas in a completely private setting. Offering excellent value for those who enjoy the opportunity to view exotic wildlife in a picturesque landscape. Only a short drive to the beach with ample restaurant choices and whale watching during the season. The owners and their staff are helpful and friendly without imposing. They plan to reopen their fine dining restaurant, just walking distance from the villas to complement "Going Bananas" their beachfront dining some 15 minutes by car.
The villas are well equipped for those wishing to prepare their own food and have comfortable furnishings both inside and out enabling full benefit to enjoy the veiws and abundant birdlife.
The bathroom being on a different level to the bedroom did not overly concern us, but may inhibit some

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieAnne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Villas de las Aves is our favorite home away from home.
after spending one week there last year ..we reserved 2 weeks this year.

We prefer the mountain and river areas of costa rica.. but need that hot ocean salt water swim at the end of the day.

Villas de las Aves is approx. 2 miles up from the beach .. adjacent to a beautiful river with waterfalls and swimming holes ....so you have it all.

we stay in the paloma villa- perfect for a couple...read a book in the hot tub at night under the stars or watch the super bowl on satellite tv .. with jungle sounds in the background..
it's very clean, with a well equipped kitchen, great shower, totally private.. if you wish, you will not see anyone .. (but you should meet everyone)

the birds of costa rica flourish on these grounds. waking up to the reclusive sounds in the morning is amazing... it is HARD to leave the compound .. but there are so many amazing things happening within a mile or 10 up and down the coast. so you gotta explore..

sarah, paul, julianna and staff are lovely and more than accommodating...

. if you're not an animal person- you may not enjoy the grounds as much as we do.
they rescue dogs, cats ,parrots .. the upper farm hosts donkeys, pigs, peacocks .. and who knows what's to come .... we have to leave our dogs and parrots at home .. so find all this comforting and entertaining.

their "chef's table" restaurant is in flux? .. too bad -..but their temporary restaurant "going bananas" .. is open down the road.so you can still enjoy good cusine.

uvita is good point to base your trip. it is not touristy .. but gives us enough of what we need ..as the roads improve, the drive north and south is easy.

great hiking and visuals everywhere..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbarnumChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This is a wonderful spot, and I highly recommend it. One thing - you will need 4WD, as the road to reach the Villas is a challenging one. But once you swim in the pool or relax in the jacuzzi, you'll forget all about the bumpy road.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Yes, it really is as wonderful as all the other reviews suggest.

Villas de las Aves: Up a gravel road that is quite an adventure in itself (according to owners Paul & Sarah, the worst part of the road has just been repaired), turn a corner, and suddenly you're on a large property where rescued parrots, dogs and cats await you, along with two friendly, warm people who will make your stay all the more enjoyable.

The villas themselves (we stayed in Paloma, the smaller of the two) are spacious and luxurious in a laid-back, tasteful way; you'll quickly notice how much attention they paid to detail. Everything is clean and beautiful, the jaccuzzi is amazing for cool nights, the pool is great for cooling off, the bed is utterly comfortable, and the kitchen holds everything you need.

We only stayed for two nights (a mistake) and didn't actually explore the beaches which are supposedly lovely; instead, we went hiking in the forest surrounding the property. Apes, birds, waterfalls - there's definitely enough to see.

Also, while the restaurant was closed during our stay, Sarah cooked a dinner for us and another couple staying in the other villa at the time. The food was plenty and amazing, the atmosphere great.

Overall, I would give this 6 stars, if I could. We stayed in quite a few really nice places, some of them much more expensive, but this one beats them all. Hands down.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwarzbaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
4.6 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.3 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
623 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 13 in Uvita
495 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 13 in Uvita
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoas

Address: La Union Road, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica (Formerly Villas de las Aves)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Price Range: £49 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoas (Formerly Villas De Las Aves) has undergone an extensive renovation. We now offer a large 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom house with gourmet kitchen, laundry room with washer & dryer, lounge/TV area and open air dining area all overlooking the river. We also offer both one bedroom & 2 Bedroom villas with kitchen, lounge, TV, washer & dryer, private jacuzzi and sundeck. All villas are fully air conditioned and close to the pool. WiFi is available throughout the property. Private parking is located right next to each house. Staff are onsite. ***A new addition to the property, are 4 luxury Safari tents. Each tent is complete with a luxurious King sized bed, full bathroom, and viewing deck with lounge chairs and shade umbrella. The camping tents offer an accommodation that is just as comfortable as the villas, but brings you a step closer to the jungle around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Manoas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing