We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-run hotel ideal for families”
Review of Seehotel Hoffmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seehotel Hoffmann
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Steindorf
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Family-run hotel ideal for families”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Seehotel Hoffmann has a very good selection of different rooms catering to any type of family - whether you have 1, 2, 3 or 4 kids, and of whatever age, the Hoffmanns have a suitable solution including rooms with partitions, adjoining rooms, or apartments with complete separate bedrooms. The room standard is very high for a European family-run hotel - which almost by definition does not include air conditioning. You might therefore have a couple of bugs flying around at night, and it does get noisy if you have a street-facing room. Get a room with a lake view instead.

The location is wonderful. It is a great point of departure for hikes, running, mountaineering, biking, water sports and much more. During the high season, various activities ranging from porcelain painting to hiking are offered on a daily basis, as well as a small "kid's club". The Hoffmann estate boasts a lawn with lake access that also features a beautiful hi-end sauna (but note the German/Austrian habit of going to the sauna together with the opposite sex - naked). There is a 3-or-so meter jumping board to jump into the lake from the jetty, a kayak, pedal boat, sand pit, playground, table tennis table, tennis courts... and no extra charge for borrowing any of the equipment.

Service is friendly, professional and personal (staff and owners remember your name from the first minute). Many hotel guests are regulars, and almost everyone is staying for a full week (or two or three) adding to the friendly atmosphere. Breakfast buffet has everything you can ask for from the central European breakfast cuisine. We very much enjoyed the 5 course set meal in the evenings - the chef was even flexible to cater to special food requests (and to give us an extra serving of our favourite dishes). Great local wines on the menu.

The combination between reading on a sun lounger at the lake, doing some sports in beautiful nature and having the kids burn lots of energy was the perfect recipe for a fantastic and relaxing holiday! We've already booked the place for next year. Very important, though: stay far away if you don't have kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we were there for camping, not really in hotel but by the shore of ossiacher see. this place is small clean silent and wonderful. there is a playground for children. toilet and bathrooms are clean. you also get defreeze to store your stuff. this is the best camping site that i have ever been to. the lake starts from shallow water not too deep, then it goes deeper. very clean water. it feels like swimming the whole day. i will visit this place again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakhila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here on business a few weeks ago, sticking out like a sore thumb from the predominantly on-vacation crowd. My room was in the original older house, refurbished to high standards as family rooms (good-sized main bedroom, desk, chair, balcony overlooking the lake approx 100m down the hiilside, bunk-bed 2nd bedroom) but no wifi (signal only available in main and more-modern block). Aside from the wifi issue, the only real problem with the room was the heat in high summer: the room has no aircon or fan, so the only ventilation is gained by opening the windows but with a busy main road running down the back of the hotel, windows had to be kept closed, so the choice is sleep or swelter in hot weather. Breakfasts are good, and the value and quality of the 25euro evening meal is high, albeit the choice is one of two starters and two main courses only though in a hotel of this size a limited menu is wiser than too many choices. Again, a slight blemish that smoking is permitted on the balcony, so a leisurely meal is polluted subsequently by diners who light up. The host gave a welcome speech to all the guests on the first evening, not to my taste but maybe welcomed by others; nevertheless she was always charming and helpful. All the staff are friendly.

Finally (it's not evident on the web site photos) be aware that a single track railway runs across the hotel grounds between the accommodation blocks and the lakeside/spa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a great time at this nice hotel. Very clean, friendly people and good food
Close to bus,ship and train.Will visit again, Inge & Hermann,Texas

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostagain5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we were couple with 3 children and the rooms were very small. we didnt have a place to put our suitcases and they were left eace other. there was a lot of noice from a train down the window, beside the hotel, and a noice from a mainroad in the oter side of the room. the children cannot sleep and came to us all the night. the manager of the hotel miss eva hoffmann was very not kindly and didnt let us to leave after one night, without paying on the second night that we ordered only two days before. we never meet such attitude and we are travelling a lot. it was our first time that we left hotel earlier from what we planned to. there also no pool at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bill086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicenza italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2007

we stayed their three nights and was verey happy there. but when it came to pay the oider gentleman ran my credit card three times. i have got my bill from my credit card stating i was charged three times on the same day 11 aug.2007.the old gentleman said that it did not go through so joe franica and me payed in cash my name is leslie gunderson

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — my billing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2006

One of the booming low-cost airlines brought me to Carinthia (Klagenfurt airport), the most southern province of Austria and the gate to Italy and Slovenia. Villach is the 2nd largest city in this region and has grown enough to reach the borders of Lake Ossiach, one of the pearls of Lakeland Carinthia, with water temperatures of 20 - 26 centigrades in summer.

When arriving at Seehotel Hoffmann in Steindorf (about 14 km from Villach centre) we were friendly welcomed by the family owners and admired at once the marvellous view on the lake. We felt like visiting Lac Leman, but at moderate Austrian rates.

Our room in the "Landhaus" was about 30 sqm, the furniture completely new, the large bathroom clean and bright. From the balcony we enjoyed a perfect view over the lake to the cathedral and former monastery of Ossiach, today the cultural center of this region and site of the annual Music Festival (#3 in Austria after Salzburg and Bregenz).

Here you can have it all. Water sports at the hotel's private beach, sailing and boat travel, music and architecture. In winter Gerlitzen ski resort is only at 7 km distance. And in summer a visit of Pasterze Glacier is recommended, a tour of 80 min by car, to Austria's highest mountain Grossglockner (3800 m).

The bus to Villach center stops right in front of the house, the train station is a 2 min walk.
Every Tue and Thur a group doing Nordic walking is organized, tennis courts and bikes are available.

If you book half board the Hoffmann family throws in a delicious bonus, consisting of free coffee & cake (or tea) in the afternoon served at the panorama terrasse. Their theme buffet once or twice a week (on Carnthia, Italian food, Adriatic specialities, Viennese desserts ...) with the adequate music is legendary.

While we stayed there for a holiday week, I think that such a place is also worth considering when you are traveling on business. Klagenfurt and Villach (Tauern Autobahn) are at 15 km, Ljubljana at 80 km distance. Especíally when you feel you deserve a relax weekend after a long week's work.

I shall try to find a client situated close to this place, to have a reason to return in the near future.

Helpful?
11 Thank freekicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steindorf
2.2 mi away
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#3 of 6 in Bodensdorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#1 of 3 in Ossiach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.2 mi away
hotel12
hotel12
#2 of 6 in Bodensdorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.4 mi away
ROBINSON Club Landskron
ROBINSON Club Landskron
#1 of 1 in Landskron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resor...
#1 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hoffmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hoffmann

Property: Seehotel Hoffmann
Address: Stiegl, Steindorf 9552, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Steindorf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Steindorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Hoffmann 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Seehotel Hoffmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hoffmann Austria/Steindorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing