We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, nice spa”
Review of Landhotel Romerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Landhotel Romerhof
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dorfgastein
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed @ Roemerhof for a week for skiing in January 2013. We had the "schneemannpauschale". Although I generally don't like half-board, here it was actually worth it, the food was excellent. The Spa is also very nice/stylish, just the Finnish sauna is a bit small/crowed (there's also a steam bath and a larger "bio-sauna", which seems to be a regular sauna, just not very hot 55C). The hotel is within walking distance to the train station and the ski lift, a bummer the location is not exactly pedestrian friendly, there are no sidewalks?!? So you if you come without a car you either have to take the skibus (which goes every 15min) or hope the drivers pay attention. The ski region is nice, many modern lifts, almost no waiting times (in first week of January), well prepared slopes. Finally, very nice/attentive staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Stadlergut", which is right next to the hotel. I think the rooms there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Returned for a fourth visit this summer for a family holiday. The hotel had been refurbished since our previous visit and we had one of their new family rooms (which had a small adjoining bedroom for the kids). Lovely room, with great balcony. Gastein valley is so beautiful you are pretty much guaranteed a great view from any room!

Free bicycle hire is fantastic with kids cycles also available: perfect for a trip to Bad Hofgastein for lunch.

The public areas are very pretty and everything is always spotlessly clean. Great spa and pool.

The best thing is the family Hasenaeur, who run the hotel. Great hosts, always very welcoming, with nothing too much trouble. Will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Griff_Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Römerhof the last week in February. The apartment was nice and clean, with a stunning view over the village with Gasteiner valley and just a short walk to the hotel with all its amenities. Halfboard is recommended, breakfast was great and every evening there was a multiple course menu. The staff is fantastic in all ways!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrOtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I recently stayed in this charming country hotel. The Hasenauer Family enure that you get a personal and "family" environment - right down to the haushund! doubleThe room I had was very comfortable, with balcony, a spotless and mold-free bathroom, TV, telephone and wireless internet connection. I was lucky enough to be shown some of the other rooms - including family rooms for 4/5 persons, and these would staify even the most fastidious guests. The main meals I had were filling and well presented. The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of hot and cold dishes, with egg requests being prepared while you waited. The wellness facilities and indoor pool shame some 5-star hotels I have been in. An old 14th century tower has been turned into a bar (lower level) and an apartment (upper level). My only complaint about the hotel would be that this bar is a smoking bar - and when I poked my head inside - the cigarette smoke was thick, heavy and stinky. The hotel is 2 minute's drive from the bahnhof, and a short distance from the ski area. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families and couples who want a relaxing winter break. I would imagine at Christmas-time the family would decorate the hotel to give the true alpine Christmas atmosphere. Beware if you are allergic to dogs as this hotel has a very friendly house dog that spends a lot of time in the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly-renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwalaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

First of all, do not travel from Serbia, on days after Orthodox Christmas, as all „Gastarbeiter" want to go back to their current place of residence, away from home. It took us 15 hours, two major border crossing traffic jams, one paytoll jam and big accident on the outskirts of Ljubljana for 800km. Family run hotel manager waited for us (we have arrived at 2, after midnight) and prepared a rich, cold dinner (almost breakfast). We were in an aparthouse, not in the same building as the hotel, but we appreciated two rooms, more than warm connection to the restaurant. We opted for HB accomodation. The cable car is 300m from the hotel, it could be possible to go on skiis, but with such a high snow border, it was almost impossible to drag kids on sleigh.
APARTMENT: It was spacious, with a terrace facing mountain, nice bathroom, separated from WC, though. WC was without a place to wash hands. The living room was big enough for the sofa to be left in extended position. The kitchen had enough utensils and plates, the whole place was cleaned regurarily. The apart-hotel is in a good position in the village, but the village lacks any entertainment options, so a trip to nearby Hofgastein was needed often.
FOOD: Very good meal, plenty to choose from, not too much "recycling" (leftovers from last night), local products, neat water trick (many choices, apparently each different in character). Cheese types variuos, meat available. They were willing to help those with special food needs.
SERVICE: To a very high standard most of the time, the slowness could be attributed to many nervous guests or tos the fact that we were not pushing them too much.

We were on a horse sleigh/carriage ride and it was magnificent, all of us four curled under the blanket, almost untouched nature across the river from the hotel. Worth a try.

Room Tip: Just say what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The whole family enjoyed our skiing holiday at the Landhotel Römerhof. The food was very good. The relaxation area was good. The hotel is not situated in the slopes but it is not far from the skii-area Dorfgastein/Grossarl. By car or bus it is approximately 10 minutes to Bad Hofgastein and 20 minutes to Badgastein.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravelerSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Excellent hotel for families, who wants quality and value, when they go skiing in Austia.
We have been visiting the hotel 8 times since 1994, and are always leaving with happy memories. We will be back in 2011!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CopenhagenFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorfgastein
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Hauserbauer
Landhotel Hauserbauer
#2 of 4 in Dorfgastein
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landhotel Untermuellnergut
Landhotel Untermuellnergut
#4 of 4 in Dorfgastein
14 reviews
5.2 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
#11 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
185 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
140 reviews
5.0 mi away
Oesterreichischer Hof
Oesterreichischer Hof
#7 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Romerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Romerhof

Address: Romerplatz 1, Dorfgastein 5632, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Dorfgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dorfgastein
Price Range: £112 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhotel Romerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Landhotel Romerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing