We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gerl
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gabi(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
117
81
16
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
81
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkinglovely hoteltwo nightsplenty of parkingsofa bedbasic roomsalzburg airportpoolssaunaaustriacitytrunkannex15minscleanliness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a great holiday. Everything was how I wanted to be. The hotel is situated in a location out of noise (except some noisy sounds coming from the cars on the principal way). Good food, every day you have to chose what to eat from the sweden buffet. Temperature of the inside pool was very good. Mr. Gerl was always coming to the restaurant to hear ours opinions and to talk with us. The persons from the hotel stuff were very nice. I recomand this hotel. Viva Hotel Gerl!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, having chosen the hotel for the pools, so that we could chill a bit when not sightseeing. We were not disappointed, our children had a great time in the pools, and we played table tennis etc in the garden.
The owner is around most of the time, looking after everyone's interests. Staff all seemed very pleasant. We ate in the restaurant both nights, out of ease, but the meals were very good.
Family comfort room was nice. Two rooms, one bathroom. On the road, so a bit noisy, but not really a problem. Boiling hot, so a fan would have been nice (no aircon) but we didn't ask for one, so can't complain.
Overall, really nice, well kept place.
Small negative: not sure if it was the weather, or proximity to lakes, but we all got bitten? Also need to invest in some kind of fly control in dining area.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room if road noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for one night here enroute to grado in Italy , the rooms were very good with great views of the garden, our only moan is that it was very hot and with the rooms having no air con had a uncomfortable nights sleep, the staff were very helpful in all manner and advised us with some valuable info regarding our desire to cross the alps via the grossglockner , the pool was very handy as it was very hot with plenty of beds, we would stay again mo problem

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a 3-star, nothing much else. Do take a look at google maps befiore you book. Prices are moderate for Salzburg, but then again ...
Plusses are
- A very accommodating reception (thanks, Carina)
- Excellent maintenance throughout
- Very well-kept grounds
- Indoor as well as outdoor pool (about 5x10 m each)
There were some minusses as well though:
- Situated right on Walser Bundesstrasse, which is noisy 24/7 even if trucks are rare. Never mind the noise-insulating wall - ok right in front of the property, but the tires are singing from left and right of it ... If you're not used to a good dose of traffic noise (and sleeping with no open window), opt for rooms in the older 'Gaestehaus', facing the village
- Beware of Standard rooms - much smaller than the 'Komfort' ones, which are closer to a mini suite
- Oldish furniture
- Cramped bathroom, w/o a tissue box
- No mini fridge
- Bad wi-fi reception
- Very uninspired buffet breakfast, and staff makes you feel like you're intruding.
Oh, and eating out is a good bit cheaper in Bad Reichenhall than in Salzburg ...

Room Tip: The higher up, the better, and opt for a Komfort room in the older Gaestehaus
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent nearly a week at the Hotel Gerl in March 2013. The hotel is situated well between Salzburg and many of the sites to the south of the city, although the road it is on can be quite congested due to the nearly shopping areas and the airport. The hotel itself is nice, with a good restaurant, nice grounds and two swimming pools. The rooms are alright, with space being a little limited. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and that was a big plus. Altogether, I would recommend this hotel to families wanted to visit Salzburg and its surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonnieJamesDio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews