We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good local food on lake Neusiedler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seerestaurant - Katamaran

Seerestaurant - Katamaran
Ranked #19 of 23 Restaurants in Rust
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
vienna
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good local food on lake Neusiedler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This place is right in the marina of Rust and offers a nice view of the lake. Service was friendly and efficient. The food was seasonal (pumpkin soon deer, plum dessert, etc.) and very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HankVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    35
    36
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice view, but attacked by mosquitos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant (view), with a good icebar at the top. We ordered a Spritzl which was very bad and because we were attacked by mosquitos (only in the evening) we were forced to go inside. We only had drinks, can't review the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjoerd_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
183 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good location by lake, but inadequate choice on the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The location is lovely, overlooking the lake. The menu is disappointing, with only one soup and virtually no other starters. The choice of meat course was one steak or several pork dishes - not even proper Wiener Schnitzel! The steak was OK, but was expensive for a medium-sized sirloin steak (that was improperly described as 'entrecote'). The apfel strudel was again OK but not special.
The service was satisfactory, without a long wait, and the waiters did their best with me as a non-German speaker.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best location in Rust, terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

First of all, I would like to tell, Katamaran is a very nice concept with a grandious location next to the Neusiedlersee with a nice panoramatic terrace. We have visited it twice during our stay, once for breakfast and 2nd time for a lunch. Our first visit was ok, the quality of food was fine, but they have to work on service quality.
Our second visit was a shame for Austrian hospitality.
We have been seated on terrace. During 10 minutes, no one asked as for an order, we do not recieved Menu, there was more than 6 waitress crossing around but they ignore us. I think they do not have system for they work, there is no proccess. After 15 minutes we have decided to leave the restaurant as another 2 tables did together with us.
If you have nice concept restaurant with good location, it does not mean, you have also a good service staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A good afternoon by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived for a late lunch and the sun was high in a virtual cloudless sky, this obviously was a good start to the proceedings. We chose a table next to the water that allowed us to watch the boats going leisurely up and down. We chose our wines and water, the former being very good with excellent bouquet and taste. My wife and I chose the fogash(zander) with asparagus and boiled potatoes This was cooked exactly to our taste and was well presented. This was followed later, we were in no hurry and our friends provided great conversation, by a chocolate, cream and ice-cream bonanza.

The food is not gourmet but is good and any faults in service, wine or food is forgotten by the great location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seerestaurant - Katamaran also viewed

 
Rust, Burgenland
 

Been to Seerestaurant - Katamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing