We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great views but very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Donauschlinge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is all about the views. Sited on the outer rim of a 180 degree turn in the Danube, practically all rooms have a wonderful view of the river both up and downstream.

Yet the main attraction of this place is the large terrace. That is sited one floor up overlooking the river. You have to book in advance to get the best tables by the river but the terrace is so wide that you can see the river from almost any table.

We had afternoon tea on the terrace. The Black Forest gateau was stunningly good. Later that evening we had dinner there as well. The menu is very old school, with lots of Austrian meat dishes. Outside of fish there isn't a lot for vegetarians.

Unfortunately the interior decoration of the bedrooms lets this place down. Like a bathroom with no shower cubicle or curtain - just a shower head on a coil over the bath. Also for a double room it was two single beds pushed together, and neither the beds or the linen were particularly good.

One other attraction - the hotel has a small health centre with a sauna, steam room and swimming pool. The pool was fine, perhaps a little cold, and it has some bizarre Greco style paintings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel during two separate bicycle trips on the Danube Cycleway. It's perfectly located at the Schlogen Curve of the Danube. We loved sitting on our balcony, or on a park bench outside, to watch the cruise boats go by. The room was larger than average, comfortable and quiet for a good night's sleep. We had an enjoyable dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. We also were able to buy a picnic lunch to take along on the next day's bike ride, which was quite convenient for us. Next time, we will just buy one "lunch bucket" as it was plenty big enough for two. We did not take advantage of the swimming pool and spa, although it looked like fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel OK. Staff pleasant. Wonderful view from top of hill behind hotel. Quite a long steep climb but certainly well worth it.
Nice dinner on terrace beside the Danube.Hotel perfect ending to our first of cycling down the Danube.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Nice looking building at great location on our cycling trip Passau-Vienna.
We arrived at the same time as another couple. After we checked in one of the receptionists was going to show us (and the other couple) to our rooms. Unfortunately the husband of the other couple had walked away and we had to wait for him to come back. We made it clear after a while that we were fed up with the waiting for him so the girl took my husband and me to our room and left the other woman waiting for her husband.

We had a room with a great view on the Danube. The room was very small though. We stayed on the ground floor so we could just walk out onto our terrace and the grass and playground. Great, especially if you are there with kids.
Althought the room was basic the rest of the hotel made well up for that. The hotel has a swimming pool and a number of other relaxing possibilities. We enjoyed the steamcabine, infra red cabine and the sauna. There was no jacuzzi as such but there was a 'bubblecorner' in the swimming pool. Because of this setting the water temperature was not really high enough to hang out there and enjoy the bubble for too long although the temperature was fine for swimming of course.

The restaurant was good. We both had a great meal and the server was good. Great terrace but also inside there were loads of different places to go and sit.
Breakfast was good also. No complaints/comments.
The only really negative thing was that the bicycles had to be parked outside. The morning we left we had to load our bikes in the rain. Not nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is perfect for group of biker which want to stop and enjoy the typical austrian hotel.
Waiter e worker are dressed with local dresses, different kind of beers at the bar and a rich breakfast in the morning. From the top of the hill, there is a wonderful view of the bay ( I really suggest you to see it!). Rooms are good and clean and there is a covered swimmimg pool with termal water.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here over Saturday night in late June and although we only booked the same morning we had a huge room looking over the boat dock and the "bend". We were on the 3rd floor so we were not at all bothered by the childrens play area below - or even the wedding parties floating by.

One of us had an enjoyable time using the massage service to recover from the days cycling but we did not get to sample the pool although it looked inviting.

There is nowhere else to go so we had dinner in the very large restaurant most of which seemed to be taken over by large parties of coach tourists. The dinner was very nice, including dessert and service was good - and we did charge the meal to our room.

This was followed by the buffet breakfast which was excellent with a large selection and lots of it.

Overall a memorable experience - we will always remember the views from the window.

Room Tip: Get a room with the views around the Sclogen bend - its awesome. I expect the higher the better. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Donauschlinge on a recent cycling trip through Austria. It is located at the famous "Schlogen" bend of the Danube and is a sprawling conference style hotel. We were first given a room facing the Danube (but it also overlooked the children's play area) so we asked for a quieter room and were given a room in the back of the hotel facing the road. Our room had no A/C so we had to leave the balcony door open for some fresh air. Which wasn't so fresh since the occupants next door sat on their balcony and chain-smoked! (What is it with Austrians and smoking?? They are obsessed with it).

Anyways, some things to note are that WiFi is 3 euros for 24 hours, the hotel has an indoor pool and there is also a massive restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. We were there on a Sunday night in mid- September which meant that the terrace was nearly empty at dinner and we had a lovely view of the river which is I think is the sole point of coming to the Hotel Donauschlinge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schlogen
Revita Hotel Kocher
#1 of 1 in Sankt Agatha
75 reviews
Hotel-Restaurant Faustschloessl
#1 of 1 in Oberlandshaag
30 reviews
Landhaus Falkner
#1 of 1 in Hofkirchen im Muhlkreis
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#8 of 24 in Passau
107 reviews
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
249 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donauschlinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donauschlinge

Address: Schloegen 2, Schlogen 4083, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Schlogen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Price Range: £105 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donauschlinge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Donauschlinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing