We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location, an absolute must if you are cycling the Danube to Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Donauschlinge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, an absolute must if you are cycling the Danube to Vienna”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We loved our stay in this hotel. Fantastic location. Make sure you get a room overlooking the Danube. Slightly dated hotel and rooms but this is really trivial when you see the location . It should be on everyone's "bucket list" don't miss it.

Room Tip: You must get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    91
    44
    14
    4
See reviews for
37
105
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on our first day of the Danube cycle journey. The hotel is beautiful, located right on the waterfront. The room is very big and has a private terrace looking at the danube. The restaurant is very nice, and they were very cooperative and made us special vegan dishes not included in the menu.
The spa is free of charge and includes an indoor pool, wet and dry sauna, and even free tea and beverages.
After a day of cycling in the rain this was a perfect place for rest and renewing your energy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I couldn't wait to get here after an incredibly long cycling day. However,service from reception, to the dinner restaurant and breakfast service was almost surly. I got the impression that the dirndl wearing staff were sick and tired of guests. In the restaurant, it seemed that we were ignored (hoping we'd go away?) for 15 minutes before they even acknowledged our presence. The menu was very meaty. The dinner that arrived was ordinary but without a car there were few options.

Views from the room, (of theDanube) ,were spectacular and made the room a very relaxing place to be. Otherwise the room was ok, nothing special and on the smaller side? There were some odd 'special effects' like blue lighting behind the spare toilet paper roll. The room was quite 'tired' and in need of being refurbished.

There seemed to be many recreational pursuits available and there was a HUGE number of cycle tourists at the hotel. The bicycle garage was large but not quite big enough for the number of bikes being stored.

I wouldn't go back on account of the unfriendly service and seemingly unhappy staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva G, Inhaber at Hotel Donauschlinge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Porcupinegirl,
thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.
We are terribly sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our Hotel. I would like to apologize for the unfriendly service and staff I promise you that I will talk to my staff immediately.
Our dinner menu offers three different main courses: a meat, fish and vegetarian option.
When our bicycle garage is full, we offer to store the bicycles in our yard. We are sorry when you were not informed about this option.
Yours sincerely, Eva Gugler & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at the donauschlinge and really felt quite relaxed while we were there!

Our rooms were dated but they were huge and clean. So no complaints there. The only thing that I was disturbed by was the strong smell of iron from the water in the bathroom. When we ran a bath for our son, the water was quite murky and a strange light yellow color. We gave him showers for the remainder of our stay.

The indoor pool was great and not too warm or cold. At about 4 feet deep for most of the pool, it was quite nice! In the indoor pool room, you will find 2 faucets that dispense water! One dispenses still water and the other dispenses water with gas!!! I loved this and was very well hydrated during my stay. I refilled my water bottle often.

My husband particularly enjoyed the sauna and steam room. Both were clean and well kept.

Loved the sun porch off of the pool room!

We enjoyed our dinners at the restaurant overlooking the spectacular Danube! We enjoyed particularly the turkey with mushroom gravy and the pike perch fish. My son loved their spinach tortellini. The salad bar was fun with different pickled salads in addition to the standard lettuce.

Due to the recent flooding, we were extremely saddened by the fact that the playground, bowling, table tennis, normal tennis, and sand box were all closed for repair. With a child who really would have enjoyed all those amenities, we were quite disappointed. The playground was awesome looking and even included a zip line.

It would have been nice to know ahead of time that almost all of their recreational facilities were closed. We were really looking forward to a lot of them and were disappointed when we arrived at their closing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeWIthYouPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is all about the views. Sited on the outer rim of a 180 degree turn in the Danube, practically all rooms have a wonderful view of the river both up and downstream.

Yet the main attraction of this place is the large terrace. That is sited one floor up overlooking the river. You have to book in advance to get the best tables by the river but the terrace is so wide that you can see the river from almost any table.

We had afternoon tea on the terrace. The Black Forest gateau was stunningly good. Later that evening we had dinner there as well. The menu is very old school, with lots of Austrian meat dishes. Outside of fish there isn't a lot for vegetarians.

Unfortunately the interior decoration of the bedrooms lets this place down. Like a bathroom with no shower cubicle or curtain - just a shower head on a coil over the bath. Also for a double room it was two single beds pushed together, and neither the beds or the linen were particularly good.

One other attraction - the hotel has a small health centre with a sauna, steam room and swimming pool. The pool was fine, perhaps a little cold, and it has some bizarre Greco style paintings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel during two separate bicycle trips on the Danube Cycleway. It's perfectly located at the Schlogen Curve of the Danube. We loved sitting on our balcony, or on a park bench outside, to watch the cruise boats go by. The room was larger than average, comfortable and quiet for a good night's sleep. We had an enjoyable dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. We also were able to buy a picnic lunch to take along on the next day's bike ride, which was quite convenient for us. Next time, we will just buy one "lunch bucket" as it was plenty big enough for two. We did not take advantage of the swimming pool and spa, although it looked like fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel OK. Staff pleasant. Wonderful view from top of hill behind hotel. Quite a long steep climb but certainly well worth it.
Nice dinner on terrace beside the Danube.Hotel perfect ending to our first of cycling down the Danube.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schlogen
Hotel-Restaurant Faustschloessl
#1 of 1 in Oberlandshaag
28 reviews
Revita Hotel Kocher
#1 of 1 in Sankt Agatha
64 reviews
ARCOTEL Nike
#10 of 31 in Linz
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#5 of 24 in Passau
95 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donauschlinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donauschlinge

Property: Hotel Donauschlinge
Address: Schloegen 2, Schlogen 4083, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Schlogen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donauschlinge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Donauschlinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing