We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An OK hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hera
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Sozopol
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An OK hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel was in general ok. If you are interested in other things than just bathing, you should perhaps pick a hotel closer to the old part of Sozopol. We spent most of the time in the old part, which meant we had to walk quite a lot back and forth. If you mainly want to just lay in the sunshine and swim in the water, I would recommend Hotel Hera.

Negatives:
- The last part of the road leading to the hotel (~100 m) is unlit and fairly trafficated. This felt unsafe and dangerous, especially during night.
- The breakfast was quite bad. The yoghurt and some of the bread was the only thing edible.
- No wi-fi on the 4th floor during our stay.
- Safety boxes in the reception instead of in the rooms. Only a minor hassle though.

Positives:
- Close to the beach.
- Friendly reception.
- Clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

A hotel well worth its 3 stars! Clean rooms and premises. Nice and friendly staff. The hotel is quite small and the pool area (with a 20 m pool) was never overcrowded. Our room was on the third floor with a sunny terrace facing the pool and the town Typical Bulgarian breakfast with white cheese, sausages, black olives, yoghurt etc. But where did all the nice and different kinds of bread go that we had the first days? The hotel is situated close to the long beach and a seafront promenade scattered with restaurants and bars. However, the more picturesque parts of Sozopol are in the Old Town which is about 2-3 kilometers away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Just a few rooms have terraces, but all rooms have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GunnelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sozopol, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hotel was in good shape, on a bit dark and off the beaten path, but close to the beach and food and drinks for evening walks. Could bath in the pool all night and day long (not use to that) and not all hotels allow this. Good parking spaces and wifi worked well. But the cleaning lady seemed to miss giving me fresh towels and empty the trash bin and clean the sink after the sand. They hardly said anything and was not so friendly or willing to pay much attention to you as a quest. Language barriar and culture made this place a little more difficult to visit but not impossible, Lucky the weather was supernice and the beaches are really nice. Not much to complain about really.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
2 Thank swedeinbulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This place is amazing. Absolutely. One thing i think is bad, that they are REALLY not good to english. But the place is clean, safe and cosy - i will come back :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikk3374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is a nice little hotel very near Harmani Beach. The room was a good size with a very large double bed and a small balcony. It had air conditioning and a TV in the room and was properly cleaned every day. The bathroom was a bit small with only a shower but who needs a bath with the Black Sea just around the corner?

Free internet with own computer or alternatively you could use the computer in the reception for only 3 BGN an hour. The pool area was very nice with its own bar and free of charge sun chairs.

Breakfast was ok - yoghurt and muesli, scrambled eggs and fried eggs, two types of cheese and tomatoes and cucumbers, fried sausages and a variety of breads (try the deep fried bread - it is delish!)

Staff did not speak a lot of english but were eager to help. And the hotel restaurant is definately worth a try - we had our first meal there and it was delicious.

All in all I would say that you get what you pay for - and then some. This is no luxury hotel but then again it is very cheap. What you get is a nice comfortable room with no frills, excellent location to the beach, helpful and friendly staff and a nice meal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_Kokajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We have spent 1 week in Sozopol in September 2010 with my family and friends together. The rooms are adequate size with bathroom. Wardrobe, Tv, fridge, table, sofa and a big double bed can be find in the room.I must to say that the bathroom is not equal with a 3-star standard, very small, no cabin for the shower just a curtain, and it is not as clean as it should be in a hotel (mould appeared in some palces in the bathroom). Staff is friendly, and helpful, however they are not perfect in English, some of the receptionists and FB staff cannot speak English at all. But tell the truth it is common in all Bulgaria.
Location of the hotel is very good, just 100 metres from the beach. We tried the restaurant at the hotel and I must to say it is worth to do! They have great choice of foods, which are delicious tasted. Sozopol is a beautiful small village, people must see the Old Town, specially at night, and having dinner at one of the seaside restaurants. Try octopus, langusta and calamari!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sozopol hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apolis
Hotel Apolis
#8 of 32 in Sozopol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Life Beach Resort
Green Life Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Sozopol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#2 of 32 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
0.5 mi away
Hotel Selena
Hotel Selena
#1 of 32 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort & Spa
Laguna Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 32 in Sozopol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hera

Property: Hotel Hera
Address: 9-11 Prof. Ivan Venedikov, Str, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Sozopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hera 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing