We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windmill - CLOSED

Windmill
Cuisines: Barbecue, European, Eastern European, Central European, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Famous restaurant located at the old town of Sozopol, traditioanal Bulgarian restaurant.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This place was really fun and had a great traditional show!! The service was really good we had a very nice waiter who was very helpful. The food was good they have a lot of traditional Bulgarian food on the menu. Very big inside good for party's and family's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnich93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“overated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

good food, brilliant view, though other restaurants in the old town had much more character, with food just as good as Windmill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Set menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We went here as part of a trip. The restaurant itself is lovely and the waiting staff had traditional clothing on. Didn't expect much from the food because we were a coach trip but was pleasantly surprised. Shopska salad to start with...no surprise! Then tomato soup which was very nice, then a pork stew which appeared to be cooked in the tomato soup. It was lovely although I drained most of the soup off it, then ice cream. All served quickly and efficiently. The views from this restaurant are to die for and if I was to go back to Sozopol I would definitely visit this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JG134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Do not order turbot unless you're rich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I attach the bill for our meal at the Windmill. The item which cost 44.99 Bulgarian lev (just under £20) is for 4 fillets of turbot (which was not the most expensive item on the menu). In England, this would be a lot; in Bulgaria it's extortionate.

The trouble is that prices for fish are listed in weight, so you're not sure how much it's going to cost until after you get the bill. I suppose we should have asked for only 2 fillets but we didn't know how much that would weigh. In fact, we didn't stipulate any weight - my husband just pointed to the turbot on the menu. We have had fish before at Bulgarian restaurants and have never had such a nasty surprise as this. On the contrary, we are usually surprised at how cheap the food is.

The turbot was very good - and so it should be at that price - but it wasn't worth £20. I had stuffed vine leaves which was very good too and much better value.

We both had ice cream for dessert but that wasn't very good at all - too sweet and with an artificial taste.

There was a Bulgarian folklore song and dance display going on (which we couldn't see because we were seated upstairs). It sounded really fake and touristy.

In short, I wouldn't go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eat inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Although it is lovely to sit and eat with the sea view the food easily becomes cool.

Food is good and service is friendly and helpful

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windmill also viewed

Sozopol, Burgas Province
Sozopol, Burgas Province
 
Sozopol, Burgas Province
Sozopol, Burgas Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing