We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““I'd better say this is a 4-star hotel rather than 3-star””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tabanov Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sozopol
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Tabanov Beach in Sozopol is family owned and you are able to see the effort they put to their hotel. Its very clean, nothing is broken (And if gets broken, it will be fixed immediately :)), quality of breakfast is excellent. (coffee is Nespresso, but you are able to order espresso also from the lobby bar :) )

Location is great, everything is very closely located. Many shops and restaurants are very closely located. Closest beach also in 4 minutes walk.

I did spend my holiday with my friend, at the beginning of September. The season stops at the end of September, and it was quiet but we loved it . Weather was still excellent and the city was not too full.

We would definitely go there again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Tabanov beach hotel is situated in the new part of Sozopol, behind it, the pedestrian shopping street Ropotamo with dining and bars, after the pedestrian street, the ocean. Sozopols largest market is diagonally on the other side of the road and the rooms are equipped with small refridgerators and individual quiet a/c. Tabanov offers complimentary breakfast, better than most Bulgarian hotels. They have a small lobby bar, drinks are very reasonable priced and you can have a drink in your room, outside on the terrace or even by the pool, if you ask nicely :) Safety boxes are also available in the lobby, they are somewhat pricey, but money well spent. The only negatives with the hotel: "You break it, you buy it" policy. Which includes the formerly white plastic chairs on the balconies, please be careful, one broke on the first try, but our tour guide took care of it. The other problem was the wasps at the pool, but if your not allergic, no problem, and there's always the beach, just a few minutes away. The beds are quite hard, but the staff is happy to arrange some extra blankets under your sheets for added comfort if needed. I would recommend the hotel to everyone who likes a calm vacation, familys included. Even if Tabanov is very close to the bars and restaurants, the noise never reached our room.
Be careful at ATMs, we were told the local gangsters had installed a card copier at an ATM at the Cherno more square at the top of the pedestrian street. Take more cash than you think you need and use a safety box.
The food is cheap, if you like to eat local. Beer also equally cheap, 2-3 levas for a pint in restaurants and bars. Local beers Ariana, Zagorka and Kamenitza are really good, but good wine is hard to find, but with the cheap prices, you can afford to try it by the glass. Try the local Sirene cheese (close to Feta cheese in taste), it comes stuffed in bell peppers, fried, on french fries, in pancakes and of course on Shopska salad, also recommended. Other good dishes include Sach, chicken or pork on a sizzling plate and Kavarma, a pork stew with mushrooms and onions. Bad food is hard to find, so give it a go! But remember, they bring out the food in the order it's cooked, so don't order your whole meal at the same time or your starter might be the dessert you wanted...
Tabanov beach hotel and Sozopol are good value for money, have a good time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nilla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed in the Tabanov Hotel in Sozopol for 3 nights in July and had a very enjoyable stay. It is only a 5 minute walk or less to the beach so we were able to pop back to the apartment during the day if we needed to.The hotel has it's own pool which is relatively small but it was absolutely fine. Only thing I would say about the pool area is that the sunbeds could do with cushions!
The hotel is situated in the new town but it only takes about 15 mins to walk to the old town so it's in a good location for restaurants, etc. The bedroom was tight on space but was comfortable and had everything we needed including a nice balcony. Breakfast there was a typical bulgarian breakfast and was quite tasty. Staff were quite friendly & spoke good english. We would definiately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Betts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank romanprokop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank terezafiserova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dima Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Бернард М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sozopol hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#1 of 33 in Sozopol
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Selena
Hotel Selena
#2 of 33 in Sozopol
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sunny
Hotel Sunny
#18 of 33 in Sozopol
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
0.8 mi away
Diamanti Hotel
Diamanti Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sozopol
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa List
Hotel Villa List
#5 of 33 in Sozopol
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabanov Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabanov Beach Hotel

Address: Republikanska Str 37a, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sozopol
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabanov Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tabanov Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing