We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grumpy staff and TERRIBLE customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa List

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa List
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sozopol
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grumpy staff and TERRIBLE customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This place is not cheap. So you would expect a high standard of room and cleanliness. You will get neither. Apart from the young man on the desk, the rest of the staff are rude and unhelpful. When we arrived we found they had given our room to someone else. They tried to blame us because we made the booking back in April and apparently that is so long ago from August it might make the booking invalid (?!). Then they told us they had to give the room away because the couple who had been staying in it insisted on having an extra night. They didn't think to insist that they were full. We were allowed to come back a day later to check in but were delayed again because of a problem with the TV! 25 hours after we arrived, we finally checked in. They booked us a room in a cheap guesthouse nearby but offered us no discount or recompense or, most importantly, any apology at any point. We argued with them a lot and eventually were offered a 10% discount. Just bad. You will also need to rise before 7 and have your towel on hand if you want a sun lounger. This is all a shame because the pool, location (next to the beach and 10 min walk to the old town) and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    45
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were happy about the hotel and room. Make sure you book&pay for the room with the sea view, as we did. The room was clean, big and with tiny balcony, only the noise from the corridor and other rooms was a bit of pain.
The staff in the hotel and restaurant or bar was very nice, friendly and smiling – they made our stay nice. The only disappointment is that they are not offering the families with small children (they need to sleep after lunch) a room to use in case of late flight. They have offered to move to another room (due to the occupancy in our room) and pay 50% of the room rate if we stay till 4 p.m.
Breakfast was fine, every day the same food, expecting pastry - this was changed, sometimes had to wait for clean cups for coffee, but they try to do it fast. (I guess there were not enough of dishes). Wi-Fi connection in our room was perfect, but I guess it is not so in every room because people have been sitting on the stairways near our room with laptops and smart phones regular. The hotel elevator could be better, while sometimes we have to wait quite long to get him - we had baby carriage. As everybody has mentioned - the pool has less sun beds then is demand, so everybody had try hard to get the place with putting the towel on the sun bed in the morning.
If you go with small children (as we did) there is not much entertainment in the hotel, there is only swimming pool with warmer water close by the swimming pool and Kids club - which is for extra charge but due to a language barrier and age of our little girl we had not use it. Hotel next door made Disco for kids outside so music make us to stop by and join, there was also activities you could join and pay. If you walk around the beach to old Sozopol, there is a park with playgrounds - old metal and new plastics, trampolines, bouncy castle, cars for kids to drive around..asw..
The beach was just behind the "garden" and we were happy about it. There is one more beach walking distance which is busier, and I would say much better than the one close to the hotel, both are offering umbrellas to rent for extra charge.
The food in Bulgarian is nothing special and healthy, but we have found quite nice restaurant in Old Sozopol and that was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarkaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is not 4 star and the rates are very high for what they offer.

There was a cigarette smell in the room despite the fact that the rooms are for non-smokers, the curtains were smelling.
There is no wi-fi in the rooms.
The safe in the room is additionaly paid for each day and the hotel is not responsible for your things and values.
The neighbours were very noisy, there was someone knocking on the door at 5 am.
The PVC windows were not noise isolated and we couldn't sleep all night almost.
The bed sheets were old and unpleasant.

I wiil never go again there.

Despite the sea view - half of the rooms are viewing the back street which is very noisy (from early in the morning and late in night).

Room Tip: The sea view rooms should be more quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sozopol hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oslo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The staff was friendly and it was a nice terrace with lovely view.
The room was fine (a lot of the balconies are terrible, we were lucky to have to chairs and som space), but if you like to have a nice sleep and relax when you are on a holiday, do not go there! We had 3 kids with us and they would like to stay in the pool. If you are going to have a sunbed, you have to get ut before seven. The hotel do not organize the poolarea at all, and a lot of guests leave their towels and go to beach! Empty sunbeds and overcrowded. It is uncomfortable to stay by the pool because the the space between the sunbeds were 2-3 cm!!

It is not possible to book two rooms side by side. If you are going with kids it is a big problem. We got rooms in different floors. 3 kids in 2nd and the adults in 4th! (After two nights and with some help, we got rooms at the same floor. We did send an e-mail and caled in advance, it didnt help at all)

We will not go there again.

Room Tip: you can not choose. We tried, they do not manage (or want to)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne40Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
der
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I didnt expect so bad behavior and service . The villa Sozopol is the most worse hotel that I have visited in my life. Very bad service, not clean rooms, rude behavior, and they lie about everything.
I could not trust to have a nice vacation. It was also very loud and they didnt care, that there are guests in the hotel.
Do not go there.

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel, you will be sorry for the decision you have made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeeee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked this room direct with hotel to ensure a seaview room. Turned out to be booking agent in Sofia. Room was great. Well appointed, big bed, lounge area and nice bathroom. Breakfast also fine. When we walked into our room (level minus 2), we looked straight out onto the crowd around pool and they look in, our room level slightly lower than pool level, see photo. I tried reception but as it was fully booked there was nothing they could do. They re-iterated that this room was classified seaview. Later tried wi-fi connection, weak signal that would not connect. Back to reception, they were aware of this 'small problem'. Could only connect in lobby and restaurant areas. When pool closed thought we would have a bit of a view when standing up but the sunbeds had been stacked in front of us. I emailed hotel booking agent regarding room classification but still waiting for a response. I am not against staying at this hotel just check what your room will be.
Sozopol is a lovely destination, particularly wandering through the old fishing section. Hydrofoil/fast ferry to Nessebar also recommended.

Room Tip: Confirm room view.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mar0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stedham WSx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Not knowing Bulgaria, we didn't know what to expect.
Four friends in our late sixties decided on Villa List in Sozopol as it promised to be close to the beach. And it was!! Literally out of the back garden and you were there.
The hotel on B&B basis was good. Continental breakfast style plus all the outlandish (for us English) dishes , that the EasternEuropeans and Russians like. The rooms were spacious and clean.,very adequate bathroom with bath and shower over bath. Bedlinen and towels seemed to be changed on a daily basis.Lift int main building as well as by the poolside.The pool was adequate, but you had to be there early to secure a lounger. There was a note in the room info to state lounger reservation was not allowed, but of course there is no "policing".There is another area on the groundfloor with loungers. After lunch there was always chance for us to have a "lounge". If you are a naturist, there is even an area right on the top of the building for you!
The hotel is lovely and quiet , and more of a family hotel. Lots of nationalities, who seem to ignore one another.Language barrier I suppose.Reception staff spoke enough English to be helpful and were very pleasant.
If you want quiet, go to Sozopol.Eating out is very cheap, but not gourmet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stardancer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sozopol hotels
1.2 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
0.0 mi away
Hotel Selena
Hotel Selena
#1 of 32 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#2 of 32 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort & Spa
Laguna Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 32 in Sozopol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martinez ApartHotel
Martinez ApartHotel
#8 of 32 in Sozopol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamanti Hotel
Diamanti Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa List? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa List

Property: Hotel Villa List
Address: 5 Yani Popov Street, Sozopol 8130 , Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sozopol
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sozopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa List 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa List reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
List Hotel Sozopol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing