We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in Sozopol”
Review of Hotel Villa List

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa List
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sozopol
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel should have 1 star max because of their poor service.
We booked a room with seaside view and were very surprised, when they propose us to live in mansard with no view at all! This place looks like a cockloft! The room was so small, so it was hardly to breath there - there were no lively air at all.
I was pregnant and asked the receptionist to move us to another room with sea-view as we have booked and pay for. And she rejected doing it! So the first night we slept in a room where the entry light didn't work and the cleanliness left much to be desired.
The next morning we asked the manager to move us to another room and they managed to do it only the late evening.
It was our first impression and it was terrible. The rest vacation and service in the hotel was on the same level. Terrible breakfast, no cleanliness and very rude staff.

If you go to Sozopol - better choose Selena hotel (3 star), the next door of terrible Villa List.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasiya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel has 4 star amenities but not necessarily 4 star rooms. The first room we were given was pretty bad. The shower curtain was not attached to the wall and fell down when I was showering the first night. The entry light didn't work in the room, the curtains didn't cover the windows, and the cleanliness of the room was bad. We complained to reception about the first room we were given and they moved us. However, they moved us to a smaller room with two twin beds. So, our first night was pretty abysmal.

And this is where the story gets better. The next morning, we spoke to the hotel manager and he was already aware of the problem with the first room and was in the process of making amends. Ultimately, he showed us to a room in building C with a king sized bed, central A/C, large bathroom and a balcony overlooking the pool and the Black Sea. The room was very nice and very clean. To make things even better, there was a cold bottle of Chardonnay waiting for us in the room.

The staff could not have behaved any better than they did. They turned a terrible experience into a good one, and a special thank you goes to the hotel manager for handling the situation with the utmost professionalism.

As for the rest, this is what I think...The breakfast was great and the pool was nice if a bit small. The bar was full service and they made (mostly) good drinks. There was a walkway straight down to the beach and the location simply cannot be beaten. There was free parking for us and they allowed to leave the car there after we checked out so we could go have lunch in Sozopol.

So the lesson for this hotel is this: The hotel is clearly trading on its location and proximity to old town Sozopol. The amenities are absolutely 4 star, but some of the rooms are not. There is clearly a lack of reinvestment in the rooms and it shows. Be aware of what you book and ask to see the room before you accept it. Some of the rooms are great and some are not.

Room Tip: The hotel does not necessarily understand the Booking.com "double" bed designation. MAke s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bfredericksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Excellent hotel and best place on the sea side. The best rooms begin with A A21, a31 ....the STAFF IN THE HOTEL WAS FRIENDLY.
I don't know because my revue must be minimum not less than two hundred
characters? Yes.

Room Tip: with sea side vew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakov108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews I arrived around midnight expecting the worst and hoping for better.
The room we were given was a small twin overlooking the bins with a small walk-in shower/ wc. I asked for a different room and after repeating my request when the duty manager Dillian arrived in the morning we were given a nicer double with a bath.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and location is great. Didn't bother with pool as there are great beaches so close by. Overall we were pleasantly surprised and plan to return next year

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bionicdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This place is not cheap. So you would expect a high standard of room and cleanliness. You will get neither. Apart from the young man on the desk, the rest of the staff are rude and unhelpful. When we arrived we found they had given our room to someone else. They tried to blame us because we made the booking back in April and apparently that is so long ago from August it might make the booking invalid (?!). Then they told us they had to give the room away because the couple who had been staying in it insisted on having an extra night. They didn't think to insist that they were full. We were allowed to come back a day later to check in but were delayed again because of a problem with the TV! 25 hours after we arrived, we finally checked in. They booked us a room in a cheap guesthouse nearby but offered us no discount or recompense or, most importantly, any apology at any point. We argued with them a lot and eventually were offered a 10% discount. Just bad. You will also need to rise before 7 and have your towel on hand if you want a sun lounger. This is all a shame because the pool, location (next to the beach and 10 min walk to the old town) and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were happy about the hotel and room. Make sure you book&pay for the room with the sea view, as we did. The room was clean, big and with tiny balcony, only the noise from the corridor and other rooms was a bit of pain.
The staff in the hotel and restaurant or bar was very nice, friendly and smiling – they made our stay nice. The only disappointment is that they are not offering the families with small children (they need to sleep after lunch) a room to use in case of late flight. They have offered to move to another room (due to the occupancy in our room) and pay 50% of the room rate if we stay till 4 p.m.
Breakfast was fine, every day the same food, expecting pastry - this was changed, sometimes had to wait for clean cups for coffee, but they try to do it fast. (I guess there were not enough of dishes). Wi-Fi connection in our room was perfect, but I guess it is not so in every room because people have been sitting on the stairways near our room with laptops and smart phones regular. The hotel elevator could be better, while sometimes we have to wait quite long to get him - we had baby carriage. As everybody has mentioned - the pool has less sun beds then is demand, so everybody had try hard to get the place with putting the towel on the sun bed in the morning.
If you go with small children (as we did) there is not much entertainment in the hotel, there is only swimming pool with warmer water close by the swimming pool and Kids club - which is for extra charge but due to a language barrier and age of our little girl we had not use it. Hotel next door made Disco for kids outside so music make us to stop by and join, there was also activities you could join and pay. If you walk around the beach to old Sozopol, there is a park with playgrounds - old metal and new plastics, trampolines, bouncy castle, cars for kids to drive around..asw..
The beach was just behind the "garden" and we were happy about it. There is one more beach walking distance which is busier, and I would say much better than the one close to the hotel, both are offering umbrellas to rent for extra charge.
The food in Bulgarian is nothing special and healthy, but we have found quite nice restaurant in Old Sozopol and that was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JarkaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is not 4 star and the rates are very high for what they offer.

There was a cigarette smell in the room despite the fact that the rooms are for non-smokers, the curtains were smelling.
There is no wi-fi in the rooms.
The safe in the room is additionaly paid for each day and the hotel is not responsible for your things and values.
The neighbours were very noisy, there was someone knocking on the door at 5 am.
The PVC windows were not noise isolated and we couldn't sleep all night almost.
The bed sheets were old and unpleasant.

I wiil never go again there.

Despite the sea view - half of the rooms are viewing the back street which is very noisy (from early in the morning and late in night).

Room Tip: The sea view rooms should be more quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sozopol hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Selena
Hotel Selena
#2 of 33 in Sozopol
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#1 of 33 in Sozopol
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral
Hotel Coral
#19 of 33 in Sozopol
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martinez ApartHotel
Martinez ApartHotel
#9 of 33 in Sozopol
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diamanti Hotel
Diamanti Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sozopol
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa List? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa List

Address: Yani Popov Street 5, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sozopol
#2 Spa Hotel in Sozopol
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sozopol
Price Range: £32 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa List 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa List reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
List Hotel Sozopol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing