We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a relaxing weekend”
Review of Chateau Mcely

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Mcely
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mcely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Chateau Mcely is an incredible place. It has been renovated very tastefully, and sits in extensive grounds which are already pleasant and will only improve as the landscaping matures.

There are numerous spa treatments and facilities available, but book in advance to avoid disappointment during busy times.

Make sure you get up onto the observation deck at some point during your trips: you'll get a breathtaking view of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaKavrikova, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback, which is always very much appreciated and helps us to improve our services. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Chateau Mcely both in the chateau itself and also in the park, which in these days offers very nice ambience for a nice walk, picnic or sports activities.
We are always happy to find the most suitable time of a massage and other treatments for our guests. However as the high-season approaches we recommend out guests to book the treatment in advance so they get the best time suitable for their itinerary and can enjoy stay at the chateau to their highest satisfaction.
We will also be very happy to provide our guests with the information regarding activities which can be done nearby.
Thank you very much for your comments and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

Jana Kavrikova
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Mcely
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have been returning to Prague for about three months every year for the past eleven years (giving post-gradual seminars for US medical doctors who love to come to Prague periodically every Spring) - and we had sadly missed a suitable place where one could escape during the tedious weekends that are a signature of every big city. In Chateau Mcely we have found, at last, such a place.

As our children are grown and "out of the nest", the present centre of our life is a little Westie dog, who travels with us everywhere and goes with us to all the hotels and restaurants we frequent during our meanderings to various research and educational centres throughout Europe. Well - Chateau Mcely is a real paradise for such little four-legged friends! The grounds are beautiful and expansive, the chateau itself is pet-friendly in every meaning of the word, the restaurant has a special menu for pets - as I said, a true pets' paradise.

The owners of the chateau did a magnificent job re-building the old structure some eight years ago into a place that offers all modern facilities while preserving its traditional roots (never an easy task under any circumstances).

One could, of course, find aspects of the resulting modification that could be improved upon (e.g., the lovely, spacious bathrooms have only a single little handbasin with no surfaces where a lady could place her cosmetics, the bathtubs are small while there is plenty of empty space around - a space that would allow for a large, comfortable tub, the lighting fixtures, while very elegant, do not give sufficient light to allow for reading - etc.) - but all in all, Chateau Mcely is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy times reminiscent the era that is almost non-existent in today's country hotels - and surely not in any other place in the Czech republic.

The restaurant is correct, above average among hotel restaurants. The Chef is neither Freddie Girarde nor Ferran Adria - but we have experienced just about the entire menu during our stay at the Chateau Mcely and there had been not one single dish we had tasted that one could not classify as "good". The deer with wine-reduction sauce was excellent.

Service, in general, is the real forte of this establishment. The reception staff exhibits exemplary behaviour that could compare to anything one finds in the best country hotels in the world - and the restaurant waiters are simply perfect in their effort to help the diners at Chateau Mcely to enjoy their experience.

Price is a bit sharp for local milieu - but, then, this type of luxury is never cheap, not unless it is somehow subsidised by an invisible entity.

We would strongly recommend this country hotel to anyone who wishes to enjoy the unique experience of spending "high quality time", as our brothers Americans say, in immediate vicinity of lovely city of Prague! You will be returning to Chateau Mcely from then on...

jdsepes, Geneva

Room Tip: The suites are, of course, preferable - with larger bedrooms and spacious bathrooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsepes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaKavrikova, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice and praiseful comment and for sharing your experience with Spa Hotel and Forest Retreat Chateau Mcely with other travellers.

It is our greatest pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as we always strive for delivering the highest quality of service to our guests at all times. We know how important it is to treat with the same level of utmost care also the little pet travellers accompanying their masters.

Thank you very much for all valuable feedback to the hotel facilities that you share with us. Some of the aspects of the hotel interior result from the fact that Chateau Mcely follows the Green Hotel eco-standards and uses the nature friendly equipment and fittings both in the rooms and also in the common areas in the hotel. We very much appreciate your opinion and your feedback is a great inspiration for us to improve our service and/or room equipment for the next time you visit us in Chateau Mcely.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Jana Kavrikova
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If you ever dreamt of heaven, go and visit it in Mcely. We had a wonderful time there and we really felt very very special! Treated like duke and ducess, any wish comes true the moment you say it:) Its an amazing place you must see while visiting Czech republic.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaPetaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaKavrikova, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guests,

It is our pleasure to treat our guests with the utmost care. It is the highest appreciation when our guests feel being treated as the duke and dutchess – thank you very much for such a praisfull review.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Chateau Mcely soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Jana Kavrikova
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had the opporunity to visit this lovely place again last weekend. This time it was for the purpose of participating at the special event ''Goddess Gathering''. I had a wonderful time and really enjoyed staying at this place, where everything is designed to be perfect from welcome to departure. As before, the food was excellent along with the friendly and efficient service. The room (March) was very comfortable and quiet. Also I was very satisfied with the transfer service. I used it from the airport. The driver made the journey very easy. I will be definitely back again and again and again....

Room Tip: For the special event like wedding definitely go for Legend suite
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenicka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaKavrikova, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guests,

We are frankly delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Chateau Mcely. We are delighted that the unique event of Goddess Gathering in our Spa Hotel and Forest Retreat together with the services provided and gently designed rooms created the atmosphere in which you could recharge the energy, relax and get pampered with all treatments provided.

We are very pleased that the first year Goddess Gathering was a success and we are planning another one.

Thank you very much for such a praiseful review which we very much appreciate.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Jana Kavrikova
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Chateau Mcely is a place with amazing atmosphere in beautiful nature. We had dinner there and it was perfect, also servise was excellent. Very kind. I recommend to visit this lovely place. It´s a nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaKavrikova, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you loved the atmosphere of the magical place!
We look forward to welcome you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Jana Kavrikova
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I took my wife, two sons and their wives to Vienna for Christmas and Prague for New Years and we stayed part of the trip at the Chateau Mcely. This was the most enjoyable part of the trip. The property was decorated for the holidays and was absolutely gorgeous. The rooms even had fully decorated live Christmas trees! The staff was very professional and friendly and made sure we were taken care of. The restaurant was the best of all the places we stayed and was voted top restaurant in all of the Czech Republic. The general manager greeted us at breakfast each day to make sure we were having a good time. He made suggestions for activities that were spot on. We enjoyed riding their cool BMW bikes through the countryside and he arranged a luncheon at a local farmhouse and the food was delicious! Chateau Mcely is a class act - we can't wait to visit again! Highly, highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice at Chateau Mcely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanaKavrikova, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very happy that we could contribute to the fact that you spent lovely Christmas time and New Years Eve in the Czech Republic. It brings us joy when we feel that our guests love the atmosphere of Chateau Mcely. Delivering service of the highest quality is our mission which we try to fulfil at all times
We are really happy that you have enjoyed the stay with us!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely Yours,

Jana Kavrikova
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Ever notice how first impressions REALLY DO make a difference. We arrived at around 2.00pm, along with everyone else it seemed as there was no where to park in front. So we pulled up on the side grassed area under some trees (NO not the lawn!!). A portly receptionist came barrelling down the stairs walked over to us with purpose and abruptly told us verbatim "not on the grass thank you very much!!". Nice welcome, the rest of the check in was poor and we wondered what was in store for us at the much heralded Chateau Mcely!.

Now this is a real shame and had it not been for the rest of the staff, wonderful rooms, excellent food and our waiter Zdenek, Chateau Mcely would be getting a very different review. So, well done for service recovery CM but please do realise that this sort of attitude has no place in the world of highest class hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klokani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your comment which give us very important feedback. We are really sorry that you were dissapointed from the receptionist regarding parking onthe lawn, which was not probably worded correctly and made a unpleasant surprise and the bad first impression. We are learning from our mistakes and we discussed with reception team. I really believe for next time your first impression upon arrival will be as well it should be, full of positive emotions.

However, we are very pleased that you were satisfied with the service of the restaurant Piano Nobile, which was voted for the best restaurant in the Czech Republic by Maurer's Grand Restaurant, which is really important gastronomic award.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at Chateau Mcely and offer you a glass of Cremant Chateau Mcely as an apology for misunderstanding during your first visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Petra Štychová
Office Manager Chateau Mcely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mcely
2.5 mi away
Maxmilian Lifestyle Resort
22.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Kotera
Hotel Chateau Kotera
#1 of 1 in Ratbor
69 reviews
2.5 mi away
Loucen Castle
Loucen Castle
#1 of 2 in Loucen
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Spa Hotel Felicitas
Spa Hotel Felicitas
#1 of 13 in Podebrady
55 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Golfi
Hotel Golfi
#3 of 13 in Podebrady
25 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sand Martin
Sand Martin
#2 of 9 in Mlada Boleslav
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Mcely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Mcely

Address: Mcely 61 | Club Hotel & Forest Retreat, Mcely 289 36, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Mcely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mcely
Price Range: £110 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Mcely 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2008 World Travel Awards, Chateau Mcely was voted the “World’s Leading Green Hotel.” It is situated in the midst of the St. George Forest, high on a hill with breath-taking vistas, just an hour’s drive from the centre of Prague and in the heart of old Central Europe. This former rural manor of the Thurn-Taxis aristocracy is a place of magical wonder, with positive healing energy, a long history, and with a family atmosphere and personal attention to so many details that it literally guarantees its guests a balance of body, mind and spirit. Limousine service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Mcely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Mcely Hotel Mcely
Chateau Mcely Prague
Chateau Mcely Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing