We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Château les Merles - Mouleydier, Bergerac”
Review of Chateau les Merles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau les Merles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mouleydier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Château les Merles - Mouleydier, Bergerac”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was by chance we popped in here and so pleased we did. Although they appeared to very busy, we were ushered to an shaded table in the shingled courtyard and presented with welcome drinking's and tapas, such a wonderful surprise and so welcoming in the summer heat.
We had a lovely night in a beautiful room, enjoyed the pool some distance from the room, set out in a lovely lawn setting. By then it came as no surprise that the dinner would be equally wonderful and it was. But the breakfast will always stand out in my mind as it was the only place (and we stayed in many in France,) that managed to present scrambled eggs beautifully. Breakfast setting had rustic charm and lovely food set in large open kitchen/Barn setting. Would return, loved it.

Room Tip: We consider that finding a good room would be no problem here - from what we saw they were all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    84
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
47
175
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stokesley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staying at Les Merles for a long weekend to celebrate the marriage of my Son and his Fiance was an incredible experience. From arrival to departure was just excellence, The accommodation, meal experiences, amazing service from all the staff made for an unforgettable weekend. The arrangements were brilliant and if asked how L could have made the stay better I would have been lost for words.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent a week at Château les Merles at the beginning of July and couldn't have been more thrilled with our choice. We nearly always use Mr and Mrs Smith Hotels in France and this has been our best experience so far. Lillian and Reiner on the front desk helped us sort out our difficulties with Europcar and helped us plan restaurants and outings. They could not have been more helpful or efficient. All of the staff were polite and very welcoming. The quality of the food was fabulous and it was refreshing to have options such as Thai Beef Salad and lots of vegetables as well as regional specialties. We were upgraded to a villa for the length of our stay and the decor was both contempory and sophisticated. I would love to know where to buy the rug in the sitting room. We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel and hope to come back with either friends or family.Kim Thompson

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 62Kim_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed last minute at one of the Villa's. The reception on arrival and throughout our stay was excellent and very welcoming despite being a noisy family of five.
The hotel was a beautiful respite and the villas and pools were a great holiday.
We had wonderful food at the restaurant and very kind and helpful service. We would recommend this hotel for a family but would also look forward to coming back on our own.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our stay at Les Merles was a wedding anniversary present. We live not too far away in the Lot so we are quite used to varying standards at hotels and restaurants. We also play golf so were able to enjoy playing on a very well designed course - by no means easy. The hotel itself was very good - we liked the open plan Perigord kitchen, very interesting and the food produced was of a very high standard. Our room was comfortable, typical of an old chateau with lots of beams and small windows. (Care was needed on the winding staircase). Overall a very pleasant experience with well trained and friendly staff. The Chateau Merles red wine was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were so looking forward to staying at the Chateau but were left disappointed and for once actually happy to move on to somewhere else. Room large and modern but too sparse. TV the size of a small PC on a tiny table. No mini bar, bin or anywhere other than one small table to put things on. Bathroom was good though. Front of desk helpful However, the food in the restaurant was a huge disappointment. It promised so much and delivered so little. Bland, tasteless, not much choice. Fine for one night but would really not recommend it for more than that. We had a waiter who really wasn't interested as well. Got our bill before we ordered it when my partner had already said we would like a coffee. Which brings me on to the coffee they have a problem making coffee think bitter, watery ie so bad at breakfast one morning most people drank tea! I actually couldn't be bothered to pay the 15 euros for breakfast as knew it would be poor! So if they cant make coffee imagine what the food is like! Basically it is an ok place and the views are lovely but would suggest you eat in Bergerac and there are a lot better places to stay!

Room Tip: Probably ok if you like playing golf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We booked in for one night. Tired after a very long day, it was a terrific welcome with a complementary, very welcome, glass of champagne as soon as we checked in. The staff, every single one, were exceptionally friendly and helpful, we truly felt they wanted us to have a great stay.. Very comfortable room and bed. The restaurant although not the most attractive looking was clean and comfortable. The menu was excellent with tough decisions required. The food really delicious with some excellent wines, not cheap however certainly the quality meant we thought it was value for money.

Room Tip: The floors are wooden and old. We had a top floor room, which judging by other comments was a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mouleydier
5.4 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
234 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
408 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
170 reviews
7.8 mi away
Manoir du Grand Vignoble
Manoir du Grand Vignoble
#1 of 1 in St.-Julien-de-Crempse
116 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau les Merles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau les Merles

Property: Chateau les Merles
Address: Tuilieres, 24520 Mouleydier, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Mouleydier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mouleydier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau les Merles 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Sarlat in the heart of Bergerac vineyards and forests on the hills of the Dordogne river, Château les Merles offers a gourmet restaurant, a boutique luxury hotel and a challenging 9-hole golf course with driving range and putting green, swimming pool, tennis court and wellness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau les Merles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Merles Mouleydier
Chateau Les Merles France/Dordogne - Mouleydier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing