We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau les Merles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau les Merles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mouleydier
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I read some of the Trip Advisor reviews before staying here and as usual there were a couple 'terrible' and 'poor' reviews amongst many many more 'excellent'. I have to wonder whether these 'terrible' people are serious with the reasons for such bad reviews. Chateau Les Merles is an exquisite old Chateau 10km to the East of Bergerac set in some wonder grounds surrounded by acres of vineyards.

We stayed for 4 nights in October 13 and could not ask for anything more. The staff provide the correct amount of attentiveness, friendly, helpful, and make you feel perfectly relaxed. The food in the restaurant is exquisite as you would expect. The 'menu du jour' which was approximately 30 EUR was wonderful and matched the a la carte offerings in every way.

We tended to stick to the local 'Chateau Les Merles' wine which is a must (at least once) if you stay here, the red is fantastic.

We had room 12 which was upstairs. Yes it had creaky wooden floors which is what you'd expect for such an old building, however there was no bedroom below so I don't think it would bother anyone else. The exposed wooden beams gave a real feel to the building and the bed was superb. Easily enough space for a couple for a few nights and the bathroom was large, well finished and clean.

I can't comment on the 9 hole golf course because I don't play but it looked great set in the surrounding hills. We took our bicycles and had some great rides around the Dordogne valley.

It's so hard to pick fault, perhaps if I was staying there on business the need for a reliable wifi service would be important, as it happens the only place to really get a good signal was outside in the courtyard sipping a local wine - oh well, needs must!

Tips:

Get an upstairs room if possible, the views are stunning.
Book directly with the hotel and not through all those middle men like booking.com and hotels.com
When you for

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if possible, the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    83
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
45
169
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

For €200 per night you get an impressive chateau, contemporary interiors, good staff and a nice location. Arrive keeping this in mind and not expecting a truly five star property and you won't be disappointed. Come expecting something that looks exactly as impressive as it's site and you might feel a small element of regret. The food is genuinely superb and reasonably priced, the staff great (it's a slice of the Netherlands in the Dordogne from the owner down) and there's plenty to do. But to keep the prices at that level, you do predictably get something that feels like the hotel had a makeover rather than a really proper refurbishment. Parts are like living in a 24 hour transform your home TV show. That said, it was good value, well run and we wish them all well. Worth a try.

Room Tip: As for a room on the front of the main chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from Chateau Merles and found it be a very comfortable place to return to after a days outing in the Dordogne.....like putting on an "old worn shirt" Chateau Merles had this effect.
The warm welcome started with a cool glass champagne and hit just the right note to start relaxing at this establishment.
All the staff were very friendly and efficient, food was wonderful and the setting for dinner romantic....
The hotel is a grand old place and has aged well.
If there are comments to be made for improvement I would say a spruce up of the pool and the lounge sofas....
Overall we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MxQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at Chateau les Merles for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon, we booked through Mr and Mrs Smith.

We were greeted very warmly with champagne and canapes. Our room was extremely clean and well presented. The decor is modern and stylish. There were satin slippers and large, soft, fluffy robes for us both. The bed was very comfortable with soft bedding. We had french doors with a juliet balcony so that we could enjoy our view over the grounds and pool. A bottle of the chateau wine was left for us on arrival in the room.

We ate several times in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All meals were extremely delicious and very well presented. The waiting staff were helpful and efficient. We were never rushed and spent long evening relaxing in the wonderful courtyard with their sumptuous food and wine.

The grounds and pool are well kept and beautiful. Being a small hotel it was always very peaceful and made for tranquil, relaxing stay. There were always fresh towels available at the pool and never too busy. Drinks and food can even be brought to you by the pool.

Service was excellent and they helped us with any need that we had. We recommend this hotel and restaurant very highly. It made a special place to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

First the very good things: the chateau is a lovely building and has excellent friendly attentive staff, the food is delicious, the pool has pretty surroundings and even in high season was not over-full. The area is interesting, with lots to visit (we went to a Celtic music festival, wine-tasting, local chateaux and of course markets..) and the hotel were helpful with booking things for us. However, we were disappointed with the mis-match of external classic look and the spartan interiors. The entire hotel is in black and white which is boring and such a missed opportunity. Every single sofa has the same plain white cotton cover as far as we could see, the sitting-rooms look uninviting, the black umbrellas over the dining tables trap heat over you. There is one pretty chandelier in the central hall which made us long for softer more creative furnishing elsewhere.. Our room was 'luxe', and had a generous bathroom, but was not in itself well-appointed or charming. The management mean business though so maybe a re-design will come soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr0nius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent 7 nights in one of the hotel villas in July '13; parents and 2 boys in their 20's plus girlfriend/fiancee. We would to back. Large, very warm, pool, good size rooms (fans but no air conditioning), reasonably equipped kitchen (we ate in regularly), first class and distinctive 9 hole golf course, friendly, attentive and helpful staff, wonderful walking countryside, attractive restaurant... all in all, a very good stay.

Room Tip: If you select a villa, go for the one nearest the hotel. It has a lot of very welcome shade from a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights in one of the 3 villas at Chateau les Merles. We were extremely impressed by both the villa and the main hotel itself. Travelling with 3 children aged 4-8, it is often hard to find somewhere that gives us a relaxing adult holiday whilst also catering for our children, without having to resort to a large hotel with kids club etc. The villa was brand new, very modern with a great architectural interior. We had shared use of a massive swimming pool with the 2 other villas so benefitted from our own space whilst utilising the main hotel facilities. It is a fairly quiet and small hotel which suited us beautifully. The main hotel buildings are very elegant and the outside restaurant is superb albeit the service is sometimes a little slow (but very friendly). Special mention to the staff Rainer and Josephine who were extremely keen to help out with our requests. In fact, it was so good we barely left during our stay. There are a few things to keep you amused in addition to the pool - 9 hole golf, tennis, massage and our children had fun with the friendly dogs and horses and small play area (this could do with being enlarged/improved). All in all an excellent visit and a beautiful place to relax. Note no AC but very effective fans which did the job just as well, plus the villas remained very cool in 90 degree heat. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 55Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mouleydier
5.4 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
23.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau les Merles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau les Merles

Property: Chateau les Merles
Address: Tuilieres, 24520 Mouleydier, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Mouleydier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mouleydier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau les Merles 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Sarlat in the heart of Bergerac vineyards and forests on the hills of the Dordogne river, Château les Merles offers a gourmet restaurant, a boutique luxury hotel and a challenging 9-hole golf course with driving range and putting green, swimming pool, tennis court and wellness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau les Merles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Merles Mouleydier
Chateau Les Merles France/Dordogne - Mouleydier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing