We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau les Merles
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Flambee(Bergerac)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Chartreuse du Bignac(Saint-Nexans)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europ'Hotel(Bergerac)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de France(Bergerac)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manoir du Grand Vignoble(St.-Julien-de-Crempse)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Rebiere d'Or(Mouleydier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
162
92
30
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
92
30
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsles merlesgolf coursestayed here for a weekrustic charmboutique hoteldordogne valleyglass of champagnelovely settingsurrounding countrysidemodern twistlog firewithout being stuffyset menuout of this worldopen kitchenwonderful restaurantexcellent food and wine
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What can I say? Booked for two nights and ended up staying for four nights!
Staff and owners absolutely wonderful. As were the restaurant, rooms and 9-holes golf course (not easy mind you). We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 234Marcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The greeting on arrival is warm, quickly followed by a chilled glass of local champagne. I had booked a food/wine holiday which was a perfect combination of instruction, hands on experience, demonstration and relaxed escorted trips out. The staff are the heart of the Chateau, friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was excellent with an impressive wine list, but do try the local red - its good!

The room was comfortable, clean and if I had to pick fault, the lack of a full length mirror was slightly annoying.

I would go back without hesitation, a very enjoyable 6 days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I read some of the Trip Advisor reviews before staying here and as usual there were a couple 'terrible' and 'poor' reviews amongst many many more 'excellent'. I have to wonder whether these 'terrible' people are serious with the reasons for such bad reviews. Chateau Les Merles is an exquisite old Chateau 10km to the East of Bergerac set in some wonder grounds surrounded by acres of vineyards.

We stayed for 4 nights in October 13 and could not ask for anything more. The staff provide the correct amount of attentiveness, friendly, helpful, and make you feel perfectly relaxed. The food in the restaurant is exquisite as you would expect. The 'menu du jour' which was approximately 30 EUR was wonderful and matched the a la carte offerings in every way.

We tended to stick to the local 'Chateau Les Merles' wine which is a must (at least once) if you stay here, the red is fantastic.

We had room 12 which was upstairs. Yes it had creaky wooden floors which is what you'd expect for such an old building, however there was no bedroom below so I don't think it would bother anyone else. The exposed wooden beams gave a real feel to the building and the bed was superb. Easily enough space for a couple for a few nights and the bathroom was large, well finished and clean.

I can't comment on the 9 hole golf course because I don't play but it looked great set in the surrounding hills. We took our bicycles and had some great rides around the Dordogne valley.

It's so hard to pick fault, perhaps if I was staying there on business the need for a reliable wifi service would be important, as it happens the only place to really get a good signal was outside in the courtyard sipping a local wine - oh well, needs must!

Tips:

Get an upstairs room if possible, the views are stunning.
Book directly with the hotel and not through all those middle men like booking.com and hotels.com
When you for

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if possible, the views are stunning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jskphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

For €200 per night you get an impressive chateau, contemporary interiors, good staff and a nice location. Arrive keeping this in mind and not expecting a truly five star property and you won't be disappointed. Come expecting something that looks exactly as impressive as it's site and you might feel a small element of regret. The food is genuinely superb and reasonably priced, the staff great (it's a slice of the Netherlands in the Dordogne from the owner down) and there's plenty to do. But to keep the prices at that level, you do predictably get something that feels like the hotel had a makeover rather than a really proper refurbishment. Parts are like living in a 24 hour transform your home TV show. That said, it was good value, well run and we wish them all well. Worth a try.

Room Tip: As for a room on the front of the main chateau.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from Chateau Merles and found it be a very comfortable place to return to after a days outing in the Dordogne.....like putting on an "old worn shirt" Chateau Merles had this effect.
The warm welcome started with a cool glass champagne and hit just the right note to start relaxing at this establishment.
All the staff were very friendly and efficient, food was wonderful and the setting for dinner romantic....
The hotel is a grand old place and has aged well.
If there are comments to be made for improvement I would say a spruce up of the pool and the lounge sofas....
Overall we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MxQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews