We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total nightmare visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Langres
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“total nightmare visit”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We booked in advance seeing this was a Logis de France approved hotel. The room was good, we were given the most expensive family room.The hotel itself is a lovely ancient building, clearly an old post hotel. The furniture and fittings suggest it is currenlty on its very last legs. The restaurant promised an interesting menu but the service! two bad tempered women who stomped up and down, being rude to all the clientele, we felt we must have come to the wrong place. The food was poor and served tepid, the house wine dreadful. Breakfast was worse. Tiny packets of jam and butter, poor bread, stale croissants, packet ham and attrocious coffee. The staff were clearly unhappy and maybe the hotel is undergoing a crisis. Wait till it's over before considering visiting! If you are a member of Logis de France, please let them know.

Room Tip: ASk for rooms in the main hotel building, not the annexe. Parking is complicated as you have to shuf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    34
    42
    18
    10
See reviews for
14
50
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stopped in Langres on our way home from the south of france, found this hotel on route through the town centre - the receptionist was friendly and helpful and our room was good with excellent double glazing to stop the traffic noise from the street.
We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening and the food was excellent, especially the cheese souffle starter! Good breakfast too the next morning, and easy access back to the motorway to continue our journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during one week in april 2012, and I can say that this hotel is very nice, with an old style but in very good conditions.
The room is big with two big beds.

The restaurant is very good, the menu is enough and good quality, too.
The situation is perfect, in the center of Langres.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancescTort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Bit disappointed initially as the reception area is rather unprepossessing, and the landings are papered in a somewhat old fashioned yellow and blue. However our room (as requested at the back of the hotel) was large, with a comfortable bed and big bathroom. At around 80 euros, we felt it was good value. We did not eat there, the restaurant did not look appealing. While not necessarily choosing it as a destination in itself, we would stay there again while travelling through France. Langres is a very pretty town and well located for a stop over from North to South or vice versa.

Room Tip: Our room was in at the back, and peeking in to some of the others, all the rooms seemed good at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

lovely old hotel, original architecture from, I would think, 1800s, right in centre of beautiful town of Langres. Well appointed rooms, we had 3 between us, good quality bedding and furniture, very nice bathrooms and accessories. The sort of place you would wish to return to, but having also stayed in F1 on return trip - when all we wanted was a bed for the night, the massive difference in price between F1 and this hotel for a family of 6 would be hard to justify.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboyslimSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel is in main street with off-street parking. Not without old style charm. We had booked two double rooms eight months in advance but were allocated top floor rooms in an annex with no lift. Rooms were clean and adequate, in fact ours had a connecting room with extra double bed.
Free Wi-Fi had a password designed to safeguard government secrets and the staff were less than helpful when connection couldn't at first be made.
Breakfast was booked, available between 7.30 and 10am. When we arrived at 9.15 we seemed to be last in line. Croissants had just run out and when we asked for replenishments we were treated to a very Gallic shrug and turned back. At this point we decided to look for a better breakfast elsewhere.
I think perhaps the hotel would benefit from a lick of paint and staff training.

Room Tip: Book a room in main hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langres hotels

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

It was chosen as an overnight stop on way to Channel Tunnel. The general air was very run down with unhelpful staff even taking into account the language barrier they made very little effort to communicate.
Despite booking in for breakfasts which was until 10am, when we arrived at 9.10am they didn't have any croissants and weren't going to provide any and there was only very limited supplies of other items. We walked out and didn't pay for what we thought we'd ordered but diidn't get.
Somewhere to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langres
1.0 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Langres
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 5 in Langres
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Poste
Hotel De La Poste
#3 of 5 in Langres
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Jum'Hotel
Jum'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saints-Geosmes
86 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 1 in Villegusien-le-Lac
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Lion d'Or
Hotel le Lion d'Or
#5 of 5 in Langres
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 23 rue Diderot, 52200 Langres, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Langres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Langres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel de l'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De L'Europe Langres, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing