We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the wow-factor I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sedan
Certificate of Excellence
Aarschot, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not the wow-factor I expected”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Clean (though small) room, nice bathroom, toilet separate (not very clean), good location (walking distance to centre), pooltable available in bar, friendly staff, large parking space. There seemed to be some sort of plastic around the matress beneath the sheets. Felt weird sleeping on that.
Wifi so slow you go insane. Bit on the expensive side and you do not get that much in return, just the view of the castle, which you can get by visiting it, just as well. Did not get any breakfast as that was also quiet expensive. Sedan itself is not really a place you want to go for a walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

Further to your stay in our hotel,Le Château Fort de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are saddened to notice that your stay is not pleasant to you.

Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our customers.

By hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our establishment, we repeat our excuses.
Best regard, Aurore Iwanciw - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    327
    100
    40
    13
See reviews for
99
478
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As mentioned by other travellers, the fort is impressive and beautiful, the town of Sedan small but with a wonderful restaurant called L'Echuiquier and even more wonderful local people. We did not eat at the hotel itself. The room was extremely disappointing, all the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom were not attached properly, everything was loose from the tap in the sink to the shower. The toilet brush needed replacing. All the walls in the rooms were seriously scuffed and needed repainting. On a positive note, the room was otherwise clean and a little quirky. No proper amenities in the bathroom (2 small pieces of soap and a shower gel, a bit meager). The receptionist Miriam was lovely, very welcoming and hospitable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneVR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Further to your stay in our hotel, Le Château Fort de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you.

Besides, we are proceeding to the renovation to the rooms of the hotel, unfortunately you were not accommodated in one of our rooms redone.

Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our customers.

By hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our establishment.
Best regards, Aurore Iwanciw - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have been charging up and down the French motorways from Calais to the Alps for a few years, stopping of now and then at some lovely places on route. This year gave myself a few more days and visited further afield, and hasn't it been worth it!
About 50 miles north of Reims is Sedan.....following recommendation on trip advisor I booked into this hotel.....simply outstanding. Driving in to town I thought I might of made an error as it seemed pretty run down...but driving up a narrow track and going through the gates of the castle everything feel in to place.
The hotel is built into the original castle... Very atmospheric...great history. I paid £59 for my room and it was certainly worth a lot more.
First impressions of Sedan were deceiving too....having taken a wonder around town it has some wonderful old buildings and usual French bars and cafés.
I ate in the hotel and the food was outstanding and reasonably priced...staff were always helpful and friendly
A very special hotel and a great experience to stay in such historic surroundings

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Further to your stay in our hotel Le Château Fort de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you. Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our customers.

By hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our establishment.
Best regards, Aurore Iwanciw - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and whilst overall, the hotel was OK, left feeling it could be so much better.
The room (opted for a suite) was a good choice and the private access out on to the rampart area was great. Whilst some of the fittings in the room were good, others looked cheap. Upkeep was lacking (a plug hanging off a lamp, one wall socket not working, loose floor tile in bathroom, in place with gaffer tape). Kettle had to be used on the floor as lead to short to reach nearest sideboard. Maybe small things but for a 4 star, should not occur when so easy to fix.

Bed comfortable, good shower, free wifi works well. Staff a little offish (except for lady at checkout). Did not eat in restaurant - seemed pricey 13 euros pp for breakfast! Plenty of places in town as an alternative.

Room Tip: Suite recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Further to your stay in our hotel Le Château Fort de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you, and we present our excuses for the room.

Please be aware that we are currently in the process of renovating the rooms. The work to be undertaken in this winter of our Suites include the complete renovation of bathrooms.

Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our guest.

By hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our establishment, we repeat our excuses.
Best regards, Aurore Iwanciw - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel was interesting as it is built into an old fort, as you might have guessed from the name of the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lobby/bar area downstairs is very nice with a sitting room (wood fireplace) and a billiards room.

The customer service was average. At first the reception staff was not that helpful in helping us find a nice place for dinner. Not that it's a big deal, but some small stuff went missing from our room (I'm guessing from cleaning staff) such as cigarettes and change. Nothing expensive was taken but the experience just left a bad impression on us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Sir,

I am sorry to read on TripAdvisor your dissatisfaction concerning this theft.

I had no knowledge of this incident during your presence in the hotel. Please can you contact me directly to discuss it?

Aurore IWANCIW
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a delightful surprise for a fortress hotel. Well preserved fort but modern and comfortable rooms. We reserved two rooms as they only had room for two guests each, but the facility was fantastic. Would not have went to Sedan had we not found this hotel on a website....and very glad we did. Fun main floor bar with pool room, excellent museum of the fortress, and right next to downtown make this a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

Further to your stay in our hotel Le Château Fort de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you. Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our guest.

By hoping to have the occasion to welcome you again in our establishment.
Best regards,
Aurore Iwanciw - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had mixed feelings when reading some customer comments on Tripadvisor. We were not sure what to expect, some comments were very positive, others rather negative (like on quality and service in the restaurant). However, our experience was opposite. We can recommend this hotel without any doubt.
Upon arrival in the hotel the receptionist was very friendly and correct. She gave us also welcome info on opening hours of the restaurant and asked us when they could expect us that first evening in the restaurant. Room was OK in size and functionality. Furniture is maybe not antique, but it is not evident to decorate such a large hotel with real antique. Yet, it was functional and suited our needs.
We stayed there on Dec 23 and 24. We had twice a very good evening meal with accompanied wine, water and coffee included the first night. The 2nd nigth (Christmas-eve) we were offered the opportunity to pay a surplus for accompanying drinks with the (6 course) meal. We doubted due to the surplus cost which was said to be 39 euro per person, but decided to go for it. We got excellent wines with every dish, even a champagne cognac with the sorbet and a glass of champagne with our dessert. Also plenty of water and coffee after our meal. Later it turned out we were only charged 30 euro per person (i.o 39 pp). This was a nice surprize.
That same day I reported a malfunctioning cabinet door in our room. Within 5 minutes after our contact with the receptionist, there was somebody from maintenance at our door to fix the problem. And this on the afternoon of Christmas- eve !
Also breakfast was twice very good. No shortages at all, Plenty of everything and very kind and helpful staff. We did hear that hotel management changed about 1 1/2 years ago. This may very well be true, because most customer comments from after mid 2012 seem to be better than before that period.
We booked true a Belgian travel agent and had a very good deal. This might this stay also pretty cost competitive. We will likely return there.
See also further for room tips.
If you think these comments were usefull, then please indicate so by giving it your "helpful vote". Thanks

Room Tip: We were there during a storm with heavy wind, but being on the 2nd floor within the protection of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frans_1Aalst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Further to your stay in our hotel Le Château de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you. Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our customers.

By hoping to have the occasion to welcome you again in our establishment.
Best regards,
Aurore Iwanciw - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedan
4.6 mi away
Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Michel
Le Saint-Michel
#2 of 8 in Sedan
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Campanile Sedan
Campanile Sedan
#4 of 8 in Sedan
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Sedan
Kyriad Sedan
#3 of 8 in Sedan
95 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel de la Poste - Relais Napoleon III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort

Property: Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
Address: Porte des Princes, 08200 Sedan, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Sedan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sedan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort Hotel Sedan
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort Sedan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing