We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Chateau Fort
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Sapiniere(Remilly-Aillicourt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Le Relais(Corbion sur Semois)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
277
348
110
50
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
348
110
50
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorwithin the wallsthird floorle chateauwell worth a visitunusual hotelcastle courtyardplenty of parkingout of the waysuperior roomexcellent valuestone wallsboth nightsmodern roomsnice settingreal castlecastle tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Part of the massive, ancient, very tall fort was, about 10 years ago, internally converted into a hotel. In England, "they" would never allow it, but I suspect that the chateau-fort, like many landmarks in France, is privately-owned. Our room was small, but perfectly formed, with a small window overlooking the fort's huge courtyard (where you can park except from 1000-1800). There's no A/C, but you can leave the window open as the courtyard is quiet, and the thick stone walls insulate the building.

The restaurant is a big, sumptuously-decorated, high-ceilinged room on the the third floor. The cooking was unusual and memorable, and worth the price. Even on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was full, with a mixture of holiday-makers and businessmen.

All staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seventiesicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived on motorcycles after a long days travel, mostly in the rain. Room size was fine and very comfortable (nice n cosy) no A/C but the thick walls meant the room was just nice. The bar and restaurant very acceptable, nice décor, good service and fine food. Pity we didn't have too much time to explore as we were off early the next day to the Channel Tunnel and home!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed one night as a stopover on route home. We got a great price on a suite and the accommodation was good. However, it was 29C and the rooms do not have air con, just a small fan. It was impossible to sleep as in a suite the bedroom is upstairs and of course hot air rises. I appreciate the basic structure is old but it should not be beyond the wit of an architect to include air con. I think our impression would have been more positive had we stayed in winter! That said, the building, the surroundings and the location make it a place worth visiting. We had dinner, which was ok but not special. Breakfast was good - buffet style - though the area in which breakfast was laid out was too small for the number of guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotel Le Chateau Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Customer,
You have taken the time to share your comments and we thank you.

We are pleased to read that your stay was pleasant for you.
In Despite the inconvenience heat heve caused.
Be assured that your return will be of great help in the continuous improvement of the quality we wish to bring to our customers.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regard, Aurore Iwanciw - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Amazing hotel in old chateau. Very nice historical place, you will realy feel that you are on chateau.
Hotel restaurant with nice decoration. Delicious 3 course menu with tasty wines.
Great breakfast. Free wifi , flat TV, room size fine.
I was very impressed so for sure I would come.
Good for business of private stay. Very good price around 70 eur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaclav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotel Le Chateau Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Following to your stay in our Hotel Le Château Fort de Sedan, you have taken the time to send your comments and we thank you.

We are pleased to read that your stay was pleasant to you. Be assured that your return will be of great help in the continuous improvement of the quality we wish to bring to our customers.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regard, Aurore Iwanciw - Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a lovely thing is to stay in a medieval Castle with all mod cons!
The price was only £57 per room. Rooms ar not large and do not have AC but even then, I would come back!
TV in the room! wifi, excellent dinner in the restaurant. We did not have breakfast.
The only problem is noise. All the rooms face a large courtyard and the noise travels very successfully, take ear plugs next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the courtyard, if available
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeraBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotel Le Chateau Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Following to your stay in our hotel Le Château Fort de Sedan, you have taken the time to share your comments and we thank you.

We are pleased that your stay was pleasant to you. And we apologize for any inconvenience you have caused by the noise. Be assured that your return will be of great help in the continuous improvement of the quality we wish to bring to our customers.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards, Aurore Iwanciw - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews