We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

La Riviere des Vins
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Corte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Muenchen
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

During our trip around Corsica we had dinner at La Riviere des Vins. We selected this restaurant because of the many exremly postive reviews. Unfortunately we can not agree with this excellent feedback.
The food is very simple, fatty and not seasoned. The one man waiter was extremly stressed.

We can not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtinese, Propriétaire at La Riviere des Vins, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Un grand merci pour votre classement car cela prouve une fois de plus que parmi la majorité des clients qui nous remercient pour notre simplicité notre générosité ainsi que de la fraicheur des aliments , vous faites parti des insatisfaits, mais nous ne pouvons rien y faire..... Effectivement la cuisson au feu de bois ne peut plaire à tout le monde quant à la cuisine GRASSE et du rapport qualité prix , je ne vois pas du tout de quoi vous parlez, là, vous devez confondre avec un autre endroit Bref ................... Voulant rester polie et respectueuse La Rivière Des vins vous souhaite un très bon retour au royaume des surgelés
Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    172
    32
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievably overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The service is very slow.

The house-speciality plate is plain and boring, with an omelette you can make at home, supermarket-like sausages, tired cheese and wilted fruits-of-the-season.

Meat was ordered medium rare but received almost well done and quite tasteless. Accompanied by an a tomato salad in simple balsamico and dry potatoes.

If this is Corte's #1 restaurant, then Corte has a problem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 12ruby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtinese, Propriétaire at La Riviere des Vins, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Google Translation
Je voudrais simplement vous dire, que vous auriez pu nous faire part de vos remarques minables directement! Vous avez accaparez le serveur durant un bon moment 1/4 h qui a eu la gentillesse de vous traduire la carte au détriment des autres clients . Si l'omelette au brocciu est minable en Corse et bien meilleure chez vous c'est à se demander ou vous trouvez nos produits Corses en hollande . La charcuterie n'est pas sortie d'un super service et le fromage est Corse ! peut être que l'édam vous convient mieux, nos produits sont tous AOC et là la Rivière des Vins n'a aucun produits de surgelés rien. Pour ce qui est de la viande, vous ne devez pas connaitre la cuisson au feu de bois mais sans aucun doute le micro ondes est dans vos moeurs sans doute êtes vous habitués à manger du CONGELé! Je pense que vous ne connaissez rien à l'alimentation Corse vous venez chez nous et vous nous manquez de respect . Il est vrai que pour critiquer le plateau gourmand qui est N° 1 il faut que vous avez une vie aussi bien personnelle que professionnelle aussi minables que la note que vous nous avez attribué ECLATEZ VOUS DANS CES 2 DOMAINES et vous verrez la vie autrement ! Quant à vos critiques soyez directs et non pas via à internet....Bien à vous et au plaisir de vous revoir et cordialement La Rivière des Vins et revenez nous vous attendons pour vous offrir un méga digestif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good typical, food prepared over an open fire; best potatoes ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The restaurant is located on a side, pedestrian only street and has an outdoor dining terrace and some indoor space as well. I was a little worried when I saw photographs on the menu but we ordered brochettes of duck and veal chops as well as aperitifs, appetizers, and desserts. When I went inside, a saw a roaring fire in the hearth with a little plate of meat next to it. It turns out that our waiter also was grilling the entrees at the same time as waiting the tables.

The food was delicious and was served with a massive amount of oven roasted, crispy potato wedges that were worth the trip to Corte alone!

I looked around and saw that not one seat was available at this restaurant but the 3-4 others were empty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delightful place of delicious cousine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for typical Corsican charcuterie, cheese and wine in a very nice place, well-served and at right price, this is the best place you can find in the lovely Corte.
Close to the centre of Corte, in a beautiful position, the atmosphere's familiar: fireplace indoor and gentle waiters make you feel relaxed; tasteful decor and small places in- and outdoor remind a warm house rather than a restaurant.
Le Plateau Gourmand is the best choice if you want to taste a little bit of everything, from cheese to omelette and fruits - yes fresh fruits, a smart idea that makes this menu a whole meal, delicious and not expensive (less than 20€). Little jewel in it is omelette Brocciu, typical soft cheese from these mountains, and mint: I still do not have words to describe how delicate its taste is.
Grilled meat is, like all food here, of a great quality: big and prepared as you want (waiter always asks the "cooked-medium-or-rare" question), it's grilled on open wood fire and served with huge dish of flavorful grilled potatoes.
Let the waiter recommend wine: every bottle stored is here for a reason and every dish has its own perfect partner.
Be hungry when you get here because portions are generous; and homemade desserts deserve a taste as well.
La Riviere des Vins will become part of your Corsican story you'll be enthusiastic to tell everybody.

Helpful?
Thank Chiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Got attacked by crazy angry waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We went to this restaurant based on the good reviews on trip advisor. It started out OK, but service was quite slow (only one waiter for the whole restaurant). My friend ordered a grilled piece of meat, but when it finnally came (I guess he had forgotten it on the grill - the same waiter was also doing the grill) it was way too much grilled and in effect the meat had been destroyed. We tried to complain, but the waiter just said the meat was fine and refused to offer us a new piece and ignored us completely. We got upset by this and decided to leave and left money for just a part of the meal on the table (since we did not get what we ordered). It felt right at that moment, but it was not a good idea! After half an hour walk around Corte the owner of the restaurant (the waiter's mother) showed up and was angry and demanded us to pay rest of the bill. We tried to say no, but the she went for her son (the waiter) and he was totally furious!!! We should of course just have paid the rest, but in less than three minutes after shouting and pushing, he knocked down my friend using his forehead! It was really crazy! Luckily my friend got away with it with a heavy nose bleed and a bad blue eye, but nothing serious. It could have been much worse! I guess it was not the right thing to walk away from part of the bill, but still, you don't attack your guests like that! We would not recommend anyone to go this restaurant. Such behaviour should not be accepted.

Helpful?
14 Thank Katrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtinese, Propriétaire at La Riviere des Vins, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Google Translation
A votre place je n'aurais même pas oser écrire cet avis minable pour des clients qui sont partis sans payer oui vous avez aussi essayez de frapper un couple anglais qui était offusqué par votre comportement et de plus vous vous installer ailleurs pour commander une glace HONTE à VOUS
Quant à soi disant votre nez cassé je pense qu'il a été cassé à Calvi ! Allez savoir si ça se trouve vous avez encore fait un resto sans payer pffffff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Riviere des Vins also viewed

Corte, Haute-Corse
 
Corte, Haute-Corse
Corte, Haute-Corse
 
Corte, Haute-Corse
 

Been to La Riviere des Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing