We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Poligny
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This place wasn't quite what we were expecting, but we nonetheless enjoyed our stay. It has very much a B&B feel - almost like staying with an eccentric aunt and uncle. The whole property is slightly damp, mouldy and run-down, but the new rooms are quite fancy. But even they have a delightfully wacky selection of mis-assorted distressed furniture. A good-sized bathroom, unscreened from the bedroom, and, as so often in France, just a bath-tap shower-head, with neither fixture, nor shower curtain, so something of a challenge if you don't want a bath. No internet. Mine hosts are charming, solicitous and very chatty. We had a nice dinner, and the hotel is clearly trying hard at that, but breakfast was interesting. We did manage to elicit fruit, cereal (individual packs of kiddy-Kelloggs...), yoghurt - but we had to specify these, no actual 'buffet'. But lovely breads, juice etc. otherwise.

We picked this place as a base for Jura walking, and it was fine for that. We mainly ate in Arbois, where there are some good options.

We probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hotel was originally a water mill & has been converted into a small hotel using some rooms in the original building & by creating a new wing of 5 or 6 rooms that run out over the mill stream. First impressions were rather alarming - the drive down from the road was untidy, the garden unkempt & the route up from the parking space to reception tortuous & tatty. But the proprietors (Isabelle & Patrice Masson) were welcoming & jolly & we had one of the new rooms, which was quite large with a small balcony overlooking the garden. At the end of the walkway leading to the room one could look down into the mill stream & catch the flash of trout in the water. These rooms are en suite but the bathroom walls are clear glass, so you need to keep the room door shut so as not to entertain other guests! There was no shower curtain so taking a shower without squirting half the water onto the floor was a bit tricky. The rooms are not air-conditioned so you need to risk open windows if you're not going to stifle. The rush of water down the mill race is very evident - it either lulls you to sleep or keeps you awake all night cursing the noise.
We had a delicious dinner on the terrace (37.50 Euros each) but didn't stay for breakfast.
This is an eccentric sort of a place that exists in a state of cheerful & friendly chaos. I cannot imagine that it will stay the same - it will either sort itself out & become a desirable boutique hotel or descend into general tattiness. But if you like this sort of quirkiness give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Nice, modern hotel including indoor and outdoor swimming pool. We arrived all 17 of us including 9 children from 0 to 9 years old. Not only the cook prepared great food, he actually got them to work and serve some dishes.
France like I remember it when I went visiting a farmer uncle in the 70's. The hotel itself is an old mill sitting on top of its own river.
Definitely a cool experience, good value for money but not cheap. Can't make myself love the local red wine though.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norber44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre prestige dans le couloir près du moulin très bien
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stoofoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poligny
4.7 mi away
Domaine du Revermont
Domaine du Revermont
#1 of 1 in Passenans
245 reviews
12.6 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
339 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel des Deux Forts
Hotel des Deux Forts
#1 of 3 in Salins-les-Bains
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maison Zugno
Maison Zugno
#1 of 1 in Barretaine
18 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#1 of 5 in Lons-le-Saunier
154 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel la Fontaine
Hotel la Fontaine
#1 of 1 in Mantry
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse

Address: R.N.5 - Route de Geneve, 39800 Poligny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Poligny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Poligny
Price Range: £69 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isabelle and patrice welcome you in an old eighteenth century mill; our three stars hotel is your perfect haven in the heart of the jura vineyard. This charming family hotel invites you to a delightful stay and provides you with every comfortable and convenient accomodation. All tradition rooms were renovated in 2011.In the panoramic restaurant or on the terraces, you will appreciate regional gourmet cooking.Everything will be made for your wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing