We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marelle

La Marelle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Redorte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Marelle
Ranked #1 of 1 La Redorte B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I was walking along the canal du midi and this B&B was in a reasonably good location - and turned out to be a lovely old school building. Really nice spacious rooms with high ceilings and lovely little historic features. The dining room was massive and felt very grand. Lovely meals were provided and I was well catered for, being a vegetarian.
Very comfortable sleep.
Laredorte was a nice town too - handy supermarket just across the road from the B&B.
Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC73Jainty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Spent a couple of nights here, lovely clean rooms, good breakfast & wonderful dinner. The swimming pool was a bonus as the weather was so warm.

Definately stay again & recommend to others

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StAndrewsCitychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Quiet nice town, with a nice family run guesthose. Good local food and wine. Clean and light rooms. One guest room with bathtub (we got it!).

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retro74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

Close to the Canal du Midi and within easy reach of everywhere we wanted to visit, La Marelle more than met our expectations.
The (Blue) room was large by French standards and exactly as the website picture. We slept very well. The ensuite was large and well modernised. The house is dark, cool, and has an atmosphere of calm enhanced by the soft modern jazz that was often in the background. Meals were taken in the walled garden. Freshly squeezed juice and good coffee with breakfast. Plenty of helpful itinerary advice from Philippe. Dinner, though, was the high spot. Philippe is a wonderful cook and a tremendously accomplished, mutilingual host. The meals, company, conversation and ambience could not have been bettered. Not to be missed.
Not much on the minus side. There was not enough outdoor seating when we got back in the afternoon - not what is shown in the photo. Maybe we should have asked. The bedroom doors cannot be locked when you are out of the room. I found this unsettling and think it might cause problems with any insurance claim. But there was no problem.
Don't miss La Marelle.

  • Liked — Philippe's hosted dinners
  • Disliked — Shortage of outdoor loungers and chairs
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeithelpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2006

We had the most wonderful 4-night stay at La Marelle, just 20 minute drive from Carcassone. Breakfast was simple, but the dinners (only 22 euros) were absolutely heavenly, and we met the most wonderful travelers from England who became friends! The room (we were in the blue room) was quite large with a large, remodled bathroom. Not much in the way of amenities (just a small bar of soap), but it was a comfortable place to stay. It was also very central to all of the places we wanted to see in Languedoc.

Phillipe was a wonderful host (spoke perfect english as he had lived in London) and an amazing chef!

We highly recommend staying at La Marelle...and partaking in the dinners. You won't find a better meal in that whole region!

Helpful?
4 Thank user1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Redorte
0.1 mi away
Chateau de la Redorte
Chateau de la Redorte
#1 of 1 in La Redorte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
14.9 mi away
Les Volets Bleus
Les Volets Bleus
#1 of 3 in Salleles-d'Aude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maison Eloi Merle
Maison Eloi Merle
#2 of 7 in Olonzac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marelle

Property: La Marelle
Address: 19 avenue du Minervois, 11700 La Redorte, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > La Redorte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Redorte
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wave of nostalgia over La Marelle near Carcassonne. From this property of the sixteenth century, which once housed a school ,emerges an unique atmosphere ,located 800 meters from the Canal du Midi surrounded by Cathar castles and abbeys. Sarah and Jean-Michel welcome you in their house, the rooms are tastefully decorated, colorful ,you will feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Marelle France/La Redorte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing