We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value stopover”
Review of Hotel Le Carnot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Carnot
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times, both with slightly complicated rooming requirements, particularly recently, and the Hotel Carnot came up trumps! The rooms are excellent - by far the best I have seen for a French 2 (or 3) star, particularly the bathrooms, which seem to have been refitted relatively recently, with jet showers or jacuzzi baths. The staff are friendly and helpful, with good English spoken. A plentiful, good value breakfast, buffet style, payable separately
Great restaurant attached to the hotel, which you should book in advance as it isn't that big and is popular.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are very quiet, those on the street side can get a bit noisy by early morning
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Carnot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night in mid-August, family of 4 plus a dog, and it was very pleasant even though the hotel was full and therefore a bit noisy. The rooms were clean and comfortable with modern, spacious bathrooms. We ate in the restaurant and, even though we hadn't booked and they were full, we were found a table after a few minutes wait. The food was excellent and the formule menus were reasonably priced. The children's menu also went down well with our fussy kids. The dog was welcome in the restaurant too! We will certainly return to the Hotel Carnot.

Room Tip: Family rooms available, but book early to avoid disappointment, especially in August.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here for a night with my brother and my nephew. We also brought along my son and baby daughter. We opted for a family suite and had two rooms all to ourselves and a darling view of the main shopping boulevard (including gourmet chocolate shop). I was a little hesitant before arrival as I havent stayed in a two star since university days but was so delighted with our choice. We had a lovely airy typically French room in which to relax whilst baby had a nap. All was perfectly clean and delightfully warm. All our needs were catered for and the real charm of this place omes from the fantastc customer service. One chap even carried my suitcase up two flights of stairs! Our push chair was stored safely and nothing was too much trouble. Both my brother and I were so pleased with the location and we were five mins from the beach and a small supermarket. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Decided to extend an 'outing' to cross the Channel and go back to Le Carnot in Wimereux. The ambience, the small town with good shops, the sea side Promenade - all 30 minutes away from Le Shuttle! We did not do just anything special, but had a wonderful dinner at Le Carnot - what a treat! Thanks - we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopeWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

So pleased we chose this hotel over the more expensive one within a stone's throw that we have stayed at on previous occasions. The only difference between them is that the more expensive one has a lift! Le Carnot has a beautiful highly polished wooden period staircase that just adds to the ambience.

We had a family room for 3 which was clean and very comfortable with a fantastic hi-tech shower, just the thing to wake you up and clear the cobwebs! There was an excellent choice of cooked meat, cheese and eggs at breakfast with delicious buttery croissant and pan au chocolat.

Parking in the side streets was no problem being low season. I would rate Wimereux as a ideal stop over for a channel crossing or shopping in Euro Cite or St Martin. We didn't try the in-house restaurant but look forward to doing so next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been wanting to stay in Wimereux as a last stop before Calais for some years, but some reason have never made it. We arrived on saturday afternoon/evening at 17:00 hours in November. First impressions is that it's much more chic than its neighbour Boulogne sur Mer and more like a mini Le Touquet. Rue Carnot is the main street and the Hotel is half way down. Parking on the roads are free, but you need to find a space, which proved to be tricky even in November.

The hotel is priced right for what it offers, reasonable price, nothing special in the rooms, clean, tidy, bit old fashioned, just what you'd expect for the price. The people are excellent, quite unlike the normal unhelpful French you'd expect.

The restaurant is probably the highlight for this hotel. It was almost full when we were there, very extensive choice, meat, poultry, and lots of fish. I had a fruits de mer and it was excellent. Wines are reasonable and all in all a nice evening after an long day driving up to the channel ports.

Breakfast on Sunday was really quite good, and 30 minutes to Calais, made it an excellent last stop over. Would I stay here again, yes, but I'd arrive earalier to explore Wimereux, it looks interesting

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in Wimereux for one night I looked through the choice of hotels and plumped for the Le Carnot purely on value for money after reading the reviews. I was not sure what to expect but I was VERY pleased, the food in the restaurant was excellent, the hotel was warm and inviting on a chilly Saturday night. The room was small and at first appeared not great but on inspection was spotlessly clean with all the facilities you could ask for, a comfy bed with warm blankets and very nice quality sheets, these people do care about the comfort of their guests the soundproofing must be very good we never heard another guest and the hotel was full, a new modern bathroom and a pretty good breakfast spread which in France is not always the case. I shall go back, Wimereux is a pleasant little stopover spot.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back no 6 and we did suffer a little aircon or extractor noise maybe from the ki...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvagebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#5 of 5 in Wimereux
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
268 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
11.2 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Carnot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Carnot

Address: 12 rue Carnot, 62930 Wimereux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Carnot 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Carnot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing