We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome, and a fantastic location.”
Review of La Goelette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Goelette
Ranked #2 of 12 Wimereux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A warm welcome, and a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

No matter how good somewhere is, there always seem to be reviewers who delight in awarding the lowest rating possible. Perhaps that's the nature of internet reviewing. Anyway, do yourself a favour and ignore the nay-sayers below. We've stayed here on three or four occasions, and will continue to do so whenever passing through, if we can get a booking (it is very popular)!

The "Blue" and "Yellow" rooms have been tastefully re-furbished. Both provide a panoramic view over the sea-front at Wimereux. The rooms are large and comfortable, and a half-bottle of red wine was provided (and gratefully consumed). Electronic blinds closed out the light at night and provided a very restful night's sleep.

Breakfast was of a very high standard - a huge basket of croissants, pain-au-chocolat, lovely fresh bread, and a fine buffet selection, with freshly-squeezed orange juice and an excellent selection of cheeses and charcuterie.

This is a guest-house, not an hotel. So the owners may be out when you arrive, but if you call their number (on the door) they will admit you. If you don't like this, stay in an hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    27
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of Trip Adviser reviews written during 2011 and although not all were complementary the majority were OK and better than some of the other hotels in Wimereux.
However, if we had seen the reviews by Visitor09 and bobbieblue we could have avoided the disappointment of our stay.
We too arrived in gales and torrential rain to find the hotel completely closed up and if it hadn't been for the fact that we had guaranteed our booking with my credit card we would have just given up and moved on to another hotel.
Eventually the owner appeared an approached our car to say he would open up for us !
It was soon apparent that we were the only booking they had and we were shown a couple of different rooms that we could choose from. We were then told that we would have to go out for dinner as their restaurant was not open.
We looked forward to breakfast the next morning because of the reviews we had read but on seeing it could not see what the fuss was about. It was simply a cold buffet so it's hard to understand how any review could regard it as "gourmet".
That night their restaurant was open as they had some friends coming in so we decided to "eat in". We ate from the "menu" and it was good but in reality it would be difficult to see how it was worth £85.
We checked out the next morning and were shocked to find we had been charged £130 per night even though every other room was empty.
Yes, I agree with "bobbieblue" that the owners are delightful and hospitable but that doesn't really make up for poor value for money. We like French eccentricity in the hotels we stay at in France otherwise we would stay at one of their chains such as Novotel but "eccentricity" needs to be reflected in the price and the room we stayed in at La Goelette was certainly not worth more than £70-£80 in a low season.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toshkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We had reserved a room at an agreed price by email, yet when we arrived the place was completely shut up. It didn't help that there was a gale blowing and it was pouring with rain. When we phoned to try and get in, they said we didn't have a reservation and it was clear they couldn't have cared less. When we got back home and complained they showed no concern or regret for what had happened.

This seems like the sort of upside-down place which is run for the benefit of the owners, rather than the guests. Everything is fine as long as the guests do as the owners want them to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Visitor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the sea and it was great! The B and B is "interesting," full of character an an eclectic mix of many styles. Mary and Franck are delightful and really hospitable and gave us some excellent recomendations for local restaurants. A couple of niggly points though, 130 Euros is expensive for a room that albeit had a wonderful view was a little tired in places, had no decent shower and the towels were threadbare!! But we enjoyed Wimereux and will return!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at La Goelette for two nights and enjoyed it very much. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated with an eye for details. The location could not be better especially when you have a room with sea view. The breakfast was great. Mary and Franck are very helpful and nice people.
Wimereux is worth visiting... And La Goelette will make your stay more valuable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripcouple1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Gale force winds outside; inside - nearly perfect.
5 of us had the Blue, Yellow and Pink rooms for one night and had the most fabulous time.
My wife and I stayed in Yellow - one floor higher than Blue & Pink and loved it. On balance we think the bay window in the Blue room gives it the edge.
Breakfast is all that previous reviewers have said, the bread was so fresh it hadn't arrived!
Mary was huge fun and this is a hotel to which we will return.
It is truly like staying with friends
The imperfection - a small step on the first floor which I tripped over at least 3 times. But I'm old.

Room Tip: Blue or Yellow for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My husband and I managed a night away without the children and could not have made a better choice than this charming small hotel right on the sea front at Wimereux. Madame (who speaks perfect English) has a perfect eye for detail and everywhere you look there is something interesting. This is the original 'boutique hotel' but not contrived or staged, just naturally quirky and different. There are five rooms, two of which face the sea. We had the first floor blue room which had large picture windows which opened widely so you can really make the most of the view and the sound of the sea. Breakfast was amazing. I don't usually eat until lunchtime but it was so appealing I couldn't resist. Buttery croissants, wonderful crusty and seeded bread and a full selection of fruit, yogurts, parma ham, smoked salmon and delicious cheeses. We both agreed that we really felt rested even though we only had one night away and will definately be back for a long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nat1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa du Bonheur
Villa du Bonheur
#1 of 12 in Wimereux
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chambre d'hote Les Nympheas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Goelette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Goelette

Property: La Goelette
Address: 13 Digue de Mer, 62930 Wimereux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wimereux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Goelette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Goelette Wimereux
La Goelette Hotel Wimereux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing