We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful B&B with charming rooms ,great views , delicious breakfast and warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Goelette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Goelette
Ranked #2 of 12 Wimereux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Delightful B&B with charming rooms ,great views , delicious breakfast and warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

We were delighted to discover the rooms and ambience are even better than the website indicates. With plenty of personal touches this is a wonderful place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were truly delicious.We travelled with friends and with two children and they too had a ball . Even the catch from an afternoon in rock pools with fishing nets were allowed in containers into the sitting room ! They really couldnt have been more accomodating . And the home made jam is worth the trip alone !! We have no hesitation in recommending it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    25
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed here for just one night, found about it from a magazine article in a magazine, read about it on trip advisor as it was only for one night decided to give it a go. We were given a very warm welcome and shown our rooms, both without sea views but were clean, bed comfortable and very wrm and cosy. We wer given advice about local restaurants for a meal, we chose Le Speranza and very pleased that we did, food, service and location were excellent. For 16 euros each we had a three course meal which you could not fault. Washed down by two bottles of very nice white wine. Arriving back at La Goelette we decided to sit in the very cosy lounge, had another bottle of wine and chatted until the owner arrived who did not mind at all about us drinking our own wine as there was a bar there. Breakfast the next morning was brilliant, fesh bread, fresh crossants, fresh fruit, coffee tea anything that you could really want for a continental breakfast and then the views over the channell!! what more could you ask for. This guest house may be tiny but it is full of warmth and friendlyness, we would definately reccomend it to our frineds and would definately return

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandjaneemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

Ok read the reviews and chose La Goelette as
1- was a wee bit different
2-It was just the right distance whilst driving from Le Pouldu Brittany to get the Rosyth ferry on the Friday (fingers crosed someone else takes up the route after Superfast pull out)
3-It looked great and sounded great.

Ok the town itself,not too impressive (to me anyway)
The B&B is OK but too cluttered for my liking,and it really hacked me off to be told that I could not get the secure parking I had booked as someone already there was staying longer and THEY DID HAVE A FERRARI, so tough luch chum!.

See where I come from does not matter what you drive a deal is a deal. But the room was great and the breakfast was OK but not spectacular,just so-so for me and my wife I am afraid

  • Liked — The view but at £120 B&B it should be
  • Disliked — Far Too Cluttered,noise from other guests walking above me
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anzegem
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

Fantastic B&B with 4 rooms, we had both the rooms without sea-view but they were clean and pleasant to sleep in. The best part is the breakfast with a beautiful view on the sea. The owners are very friendly and helpful to find a good restaurant at night. The region is great to visit and to walk when you have nice weather.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clerkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

My wife and I stayed in this delightful B+B when visiting Northern France. The views out across the promenade made breakfast an enchanting experience, but one we almost missed as the comfortable rooms, with their descending metal shutters (proof against the Channel in the winter, no doubt) ensured such an undisturbed night's sleep that it was nearly afternoon before we woke. Fortunately, our hostess couldn't have been more obliging, despite our limited french, and we enjoyed fresh patisserie whilst watching the world go by.

  • Liked — The friendly, laid-back atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

warm welcome, very friendly and helpful owners with an eye for details, cozy & comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, great views, lovely house, ... definatly worth visiting and revisiting!

  • Liked — pretty much everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yzzuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

I've being visiting the Pas-de-Calais for around 12 years. After about 2 years of visiting a range of chambre d'hotes, I happened to stumble on La Goelette, which is situated on the digue in Wimereux. From that point in time I haven't even considered staying anywhere else - the place is absolutely superb and the welcome I have received from both Mary and Franck (the proprietors) is both warm and friendly. In addition they are only to pleased to make restaurant reservations, or indeed point guests in the direction of attractions and sites to see.

I normally try to stay in one of the two seaview rooms (the Chambre Bleue or Chambre Jaune), both are beautifully furnished and now with a range of DVDs to watch if the weather turns nasty. There's also a superb little library on the first floor, where it would seem a number of other English guests have left books of interest, so you're never short of something to read if you've forgotten to bring something of your own.

Over the past year, Mary & Franck have decided to completely change the breakfast. They now call it the "Connoisseurs' Breakfast" - it's marvellous. Fresh breads, pains au chocolat, piping hot coffee and if you fancy it a range of fresh meats, cheese, fruits, yoghurts - they even have a jar of marmite and some rather lovely jam from Rick Stein in Padstow!

La Goelette is ideally situated to explore the Opal Coast and indeed the town of Wimereux itself, which has changed so much over the years. If you decide to visit during the latter months of the year or early winter and you are able to take either the blue or yellow room you might be blessed with one of the coast's famous sea storms. No need to go out anywhere, just take a bottle of wine, some bread and cheese into the room; from there you can sit in a comfortable armchair and watch and hear the storm do its worst.

I must say I don't normally post comments on websites of places that I've visited or stayed at, however I believe there is always an exception to the rule. La Goelette and its proprietors are an exception; I suggest that if you able to, you sample their hospitality.

  • Liked — Great seaview rooms
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnMartin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#4 of 5 in Wimereux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
3.0 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Goelette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Goelette

Property: La Goelette
Address: 13 Digue de Mer, 62930 Wimereux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wimereux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Goelette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Goelette Wimereux
La Goelette Hotel Wimereux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing