We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view of any B&B/Chambre d'Hote I've stayed in”
Review of La Goelette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Goelette
Ranked #2 of 12 Wimereux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best view of any B&B/Chambre d'Hote I've stayed in”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The last place we stayed on our holiday. And one of nicest I've ever stayed in. We had the Blue Room with a perfect view of the promenade and the sea. Franck was a great host, very friendly and helpful. The room was big, airy, full of light. It also had electric shutters so you could sleep in the pitch black without the (wonderful) sound of the sea to disturb you, after you'd seen the sea coming all the way in at around midnight (after returning from a fab meal at La Vie Est Belle. Wimereux has some wonderful restaurants). Good herbal tea selection and two large bottles of water, which I thought was a nice touch. Bathroom was spotless and had very funky taps, sink etc. My only tiny quibble is there was no shower (there is a shower attachment) and the loo was separate from the bathroom, it would have felt more spacious if there had been just the one bathroom, with shower. Breakfast was generous, freshly made coffee, yoghurt, baguette, delicious and very fresh pastries, juices, cold meats and cheeses, cereal - you probably wouldn't need to eat until dinner if you tried everything that was on offer. And the breakfast room again has the wonderful view of the sea. We intend to return. Often.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmellyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    25
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

La Goelette was totally charming. Everything we had hoped it would be. Quirky (in a good way) room. A bottle of wine left for us. Our host was very welcoming and helpful. She even booked a lovely restaurant for us - just around the corner. My girlfriend loved the whole experience and so did I. Oh, the breakfast is marvellous as is the sea view from the breakfast room. We can't praise this hotel enough. We regularly stay in independent hotels/B&Bs and La Goelette has become a benchmark.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyshireJuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Stayed there in October last year for one night. We were on our way to Burgundy to stay with a friend of ours. Ideal for a quick stop. Overlooks the beach. Lady who runs the B & B and her husband very friendly. The house has a slight Hippy feeling to it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Architectaylesbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

La Goelette at Wimereux proved the ideal place to stop near to Calais after a late-ish Eurotunnel crossing. We didn't want to stay in Calais - too anonymous - but were lucky to find this friendly B & B on the actual seafront at Wimereux, a low-key family resort. Franck let us in late, showed us our very prettily-decorated rooms (we got the lovely Blue room overlooking the sea) and then explained to us how to get to the good local restaurant where, although it was late, they had reserved us a table, and where - via La Goelette's custom - we were given complementary Kirs. The accommodation is not super-comfortable - bathrooms, tiny, showers pretty inadequate - and when will hotels get round to providing feather pillows I wonder? - Also my daughter's bed was full of lumpy springs that kept her awake - but I'd still recommend it for cleanliness, friendliness and sheer charm. The breakfast room is decorated with delightful idiosyncracy, and the view over the sea at low tide on a January morning is incomparable: empty except for dog-walkers. Croissants, pains au chocolats, cured ham, fruit, coffee - all delicious. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Lovely welcome on arrival, a super house with an individual character. The Blue room is spacious with terrific sea views. Everything was provided, even tea/coffee making facilities and bath robes. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom has everything you need and the whole house was spotlessly clean. Breakfast in the dining room overlooking the sea was fantastic.
Mary and Franck are a delightful couple and made us feel really welcome, and they speak perfect English!
Overall, a great find; we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerry276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We were delighted to discover the rooms and ambience are even better than the website indicates. With plenty of personal touches this is a wonderful place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were truly delicious.We travelled with friends and with two children and they too had a ball . Even the catch from an afternoon in rock pools with fishing nets were allowed in containers into the sitting room ! They really couldnt have been more accomodating . And the home made jam is worth the trip alone !! We have no hesitation in recommending it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed here for just one night, found about it from a magazine article in a magazine, read about it on trip advisor as it was only for one night decided to give it a go. We were given a very warm welcome and shown our rooms, both without sea views but were clean, bed comfortable and very wrm and cosy. We wer given advice about local restaurants for a meal, we chose Le Speranza and very pleased that we did, food, service and location were excellent. For 16 euros each we had a three course meal which you could not fault. Washed down by two bottles of very nice white wine. Arriving back at La Goelette we decided to sit in the very cosy lounge, had another bottle of wine and chatted until the owner arrived who did not mind at all about us drinking our own wine as there was a bar there. Breakfast the next morning was brilliant, fesh bread, fresh crossants, fresh fruit, coffee tea anything that you could really want for a continental breakfast and then the views over the channell!! what more could you ask for. This guest house may be tiny but it is full of warmth and friendlyness, we would definately reccomend it to our frineds and would definately return

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandjaneemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#4 of 5 in Wimereux
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
182 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
3.0 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Goelette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Goelette

Property: La Goelette
Address: 13 Digue de Mer, 62930 Wimereux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wimereux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Goelette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Goelette Wimereux
La Goelette Hotel Wimereux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing