We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Saint Jean
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for the money ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a triple room for a Saturday night. The beds were lovely and comfy- my only criticism would be that the road was a little noisy, the water wasn't particularly hot. Otherwise it's a lovely little hotel with very friendly staff and we managed to park for free at the front of the hotel. We got a reduced price of £85 for the night as it was such a last minute booking - I wouldn't have been happy paying the full whack!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyliesized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    156
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
162
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This small hotel is ideally situated for a shopping trip to Northern France (fantastic Auchan nearby) and is even better out of season, overlooking the river and not far from the sandy beach and promenade. There are numerous excellent restaurants within 5 minutes walk, ranging from classic good value French brasserie to Michelin starred. The hotel has been well refurbished and is very clean and comfortable with a good bar area overlooking the river. The buffet breakfast was excellent and unusually good value for France! The staff are very friendly and helpful and you can park almost outside.

Room Tip: 3rd floor attic style rooms are well designed and have good ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicholas u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We decided to spend a few days in France, not too far from Calais to minimise the time spent driving. So we booked 3 nights at the Hotel Saint Jean in Wimereux. A great family run hotel; extremely clean and comfortable. The owner speaks excellent English which is always a help. Car parking is available beside the river about 25m from the hotel.
We booked through one of the on-line sites which surprisingly was cheaper than the hotel's own web pages. However I have been assured that especially in the off-season, a direct call or e-mail to the hotel can provide a lower rate.
The breakfast is good with a variety of fresh bread to go with the coffee, fruit juices, cheese, cold meat, eggs (scrambled or boiled), bacon, fresh fruit, cereal etc etc. It does cost 12 Euro.
The bar is well stocked and comfortable although not many people were making use of the facility.
The hotel does not serve evening meals. On a Tuesday evening, many of the local restaurants were closed so maybe the hotel is 'missing a trick' here.
Wimereux is a very pleasant seaside town with access to miles of sandy beach. We chose it because of the convenience of places to visit such as Le Touquet.
Definitely a place and a hotel to which to return.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

COST: booked via the Internet and even adding on the 2 x 12 Euros for breakfast I reckon it cost us £95 per night for a three star B&B, so, given the quality of the rooms, the facilities and the location it all adds up to great value for money.

BREAKFAST: it was a treat to get away from the British standard fry up; you're in France not Britain! a fresh croissant, a selection of freshly baked breads, sliced meats, cereals, yoghurts, jams, boiled eggs (and, sadly bacon and scrambled eggs if you must), cheeses, sweet bread/cake, fresh fruits, limitless coffee/tea fruit juices etc, just what else do you need? Just as well as in September there is not a lot open in the town.

PARKING: don't bother with the cost of private parking unless maybe in very high season; we found no problem parking in the road outside.

STAFF: all first class; we were greeted by the owner Alain who has excellent English.

AROUND: out of season Wimereux can appear a bit deserted but the surrounding countryside is well worth exploring. We visited the famous battle site of Azincourt which has a first class exhibition (7.5 euros) - curiously not advertised much in French tourist literature but given that their 25,000 strong army was routed by less than 6,000 English & Welsh maybe understandable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed at this very nice hotel several times at the beginning or end of our hols. It is just the job to stay for a night or two - staff are friendly and efficient, rooms are well equipped and comfortable and there is free wifi to keep bored (boring) teenagers in touch with the cyberworld. Hotel handy for the everything in Wimereux - a lovely seaside town with some good restaurants (e.g. La Speranza). Free parking is fine in the parking places over the road by the river. Breakfast (as with most hotels) a tad pricey - a couple of boulangeries handy nearby in main street. Our family has always had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed overnight en route for the ferry port at Calais, which is just 30 minutes away,so Wimereux is very conveniently located. The town is a typical small seaside resort, and the Saint Jean is situated about two minutes on foot from the centre of town where there are loads of places to eat, which is essential since the Saint Jean has no Restaurant. We opted to park on the roadside and had no trouble locating a space close by, although it was a busy evening due to a funfair being in town and the very hot weather which meant many local people had headed for the coast.

We were welcomed at Reception and directed to our room on the second floor - there is a lift incidentally - and noticed that the hotel is absolutely spotless throughout. We had originally reserved a twin room, which turned out be be very sunny and, given the heat, my husband asked if we could change to a double on the shaded side of the building. Our Hostess couldn´t have been more helpful, and the change was quickly arranged. The room was light and spacious, with a king size bed, free wifi, lovely bathroom with hairdryer, and quality bedlinen which was crisp and fresh. The towels were wonderfully large and fluffy, which is quite rare in our experience of French hotels.

Breakfast the next morning at 12 euros per person seemed quite pricey, but it was without doubt the best we have ever been offered in France. The range and quality of foods on offer was exceptional - yoghourts, apple purée, fresh fruit salad, cereals, croissants, three different types of bread, four types of cold meat, five cheeses of the region with an explanatory leaflet, a selection of fruit juices or fresh cold water, tea, coffee, chocolate, various infusions, eggs you could cook to your liking and to top it all, scrambled eggs and bacon! And you could toast your own toast, should you require it, and an electric kettle meant you could have boiling water with which to make your morning cuppa. Bravo to Madame and her team.

We would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly, and will certainly stay here again. It would make a good base for those wishing to tour the area, as well as being really handy for the Channel ports.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNorfolkBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addlestone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We booked the break on the morning we left home. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by everything apart from the weather. Hotel was easy to find and we were able to park in the road opposite. Check in was quick and easy and the reception staff were very friendly and polite. Our room was on the top floor (there was a lift). Lovely room, a bit small but had everything we needed including a king size bed which was a nice surprise. Room was spotlessly clean. Flat screen tv. Crisp cotton sheets. Lovely shower room with large double power shower fluffy white towels which were changed each day even though we hung them up to use again. Breakfast served from 7 to 10.30. At €12 I thought it was a bit pricey but there was a good choice. Free wifi in the hotel. Check out was quick and efficient and the bill was spot on. All in all a lovely place to stay. Would recommend it and we'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddlestoneTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#4 of 5 in Wimereux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
2.9 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.7 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Saint Jean
Address: 1 rue Georges Romain, 62930 Wimereux, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing