We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed”
Review of La Ferme en Ville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ferme en Ville
Ranked #1 of 2 Bernay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Absolutely charming - wonderful rooms, atmosphere, local home cooking. We used it as a stopover on our way to living in Spain but just wished we had had more time to stay and lap it all up and do more exploring. Robert and Fabienne couldn't be more welcoming. If it's a stopover or any length of stay you require in this area make this your first port of call.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingdrymix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi John, Sandra,

We're so pleased you've stopped over at our guesthouse in August and enjoy that we stay in touch to exchange news on our ventures in Spain and Normandy!

The owners of the ecological golf in Bernay also remember you well and occasionally ask to be updated on your whereabouts.

Looking forward to seeing you again, either when you're heading back to Scotland for a visit or when we get a more quiet period at the guesthouse and can come down to visit you in sunny Spain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
87
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Charming place, very spacious rooms, nice decoration with modern comfort while respecting old manoir style, excellent home cooking, and truly unique welcoming.
Just an example: we were doing a bike trip with a friend. Tired and still 35k from the hotel, we called the hotel who generously came to pick both of us with our 2 bikes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edouard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Many thanks for this great evaluation! It was my pleasure to come and pick you up at the next-door village, hope the five of you didnt have too rough a challenge the day after on the final journey to the coast!

We still dont know if the traditional Tarte Tatin is baked AND served upside down or only baked upside down and served normally but will for sure send you a message once we get a solid answer to this dilemma ;-)

It was much fun for us having welcomed you as our guests, perhaps on another cycling trip in the summer you can stay over in Bernay again without need to warm yourselves by the fire place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Says it all, really. This was a great find and in common with many reviewers it suited the bill for a great stopover en route to Calais after our stay in the south west. We normally stay near Amboise but it was worth pushing on that little further for the welcome and comfort we met on our arrival. Room very comfortable - with every convenience (including a kettle which is always welcome).Robert and Fabienne make a great team. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal - with some nice wine. My only comment for improvement on an otherwise great establishment would be to enhance the options at breakfast. The choice of cereals could be extended - they seemed to be aimed at children not adults. Also, I would happily have settled for a more extensive continental style breakfast than the limited cooked breakfast available. Small points, but as this is a new venture and the owners keen to receive and respond to constructive feedback, I hope these comments are taken in the spirit that they are offered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi Catherine, many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate our guesthouse and for this great evaluation, and yes, we're always very keen to receive constructive feedback to further increase our service and satisfcation of our guests!

Great for us to read your comment on our cereals as we have since mid-November placed three new cereal distributors to include regular corn flakes and mueslis in our existing offer of cereal packages for children. We have also found a local farm that makes home-made jams which we have now added to complement our offer of jams in cups. In addition to the fresh pressed orange juice, yoghurts, cheese, salami and fruits (and the scrambled eggs and bacon) this should give a continental breakfast offer appropriate for a guesthouse of our size with 5 rooms.

Fabienne has also started making fresh bread which we will soon also put on the table weekends in addition to the croissants and bagguet freshly fetched at the bakery every morning.

Might you have other ideas we will gladly hear them via Email to see if we can take them into account for your next stay!

Thanks again for your beautiful evaluation and looking forward to seeing you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have travelled to France for many years, and have struggled to find a really good place for a stopover in this lovely area. Finally, our search is over: La Ferme en Ville is a very special place, run efficiently and in a very welcoming way by Fabienne and her family.

The booking process (which we did direct by email) was very efficient, we were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our very spacious and comfortable accommodation (we had "Honfleur" on the first floor, while my elderly mother-in-law was given "Mont St Michel" which is an accessible ground floor room with walk-in shower). Each room was equipped with a very comfortable double bed, tea & coffee-making facilities, flat screen TV and free wi-fi; everything was spotlessly clean and presented with great care and attention to detail.

Our evening meal was fantastic and excellent value, and served by Fabienne who was ably assisted by her Mum throughout the evening. Wine is available by the bottle or pichet at very reasonable prices.

After a comfortable night's rest (and unless you are a very light sleeper, do not be put off by the proximity of the railway line - there was no noise that we were aware of and we were not disturbed) we enjoyed a lovely breakfast comprising yoghourt and cereals, bread and croissants, local ham and cheeses, and even scrambled egg and bacon. Freshly squeezed orange juice was delivered to our table, and of course tea, coffee or hot chocolate was readily available.

All in all, this fairly new venture is a runaway success in our view and thoroughly deserves the 100% given by other reviewers. We shall certainly return to La Ferme en Ville and to Bernay, which is a charming small town with many old buildings. Bravo to Fabienne and her family, to whom we wish every possible success with their enterprise.

Room Tip: Both our rooms, Honfleur and Mont St Michel, were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNorfolkBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
A magnificent and detailed evaluation, thank you very much! We're always so pleased to read our guests have enjoyed their stay and glad you've made a note on the railway in your evaluation as well!

End November we will replace our single glas windows by triple glas windows, not only for heating but also for acoustic isolation to also accomodate the "lighter" sleepers!

Another change when you return will be that we have finally found a French company that is willing to move our baby grand so next week the piano will be placed in the lounge, with Robert present we will than in addition to guests improvising on the guitar also have musical entertainment on the piano over dinner.

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate La Ferme en Ville, hope to welcome you soon again when you come to France for a stopover or longer stay in Normandie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Highly recommended. A great place to stop over when driving down from Calais to South West France. Very friendly and helpful hosts who were very accommodating for our needs (lots of children with us). Stylish, spacious and comfortable room. Very tasty home cooked evening meal - extremely good value. The kids loved the animals in the garden. 10 mins walk from a charming little town - worth a visit and great to stretch the legs after a long drive. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ground floor room great for the less mobile - easy access and spacious. But perhaps if you are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Diana, great review with lots of precious info for future guests, nothing left for me to add, many thanks!

The upstairs room was indeed Honfleur which is a large double room that can accomodate up to 5 persons (3 adults and 2 children)! As alternative for our only room on the ground floor "Mont Saint Michel", which is as you mentioned specially equipped for disability access, we also have our suite "Giverny" on the first floor with a larger bathroom and similar facilities (large double bed of 1m6 for two adults and sofa bed of 1m4 in a seperate room to sleep two children, and a large bathroom especially appreciated by children as the bathtub is for two adults ;-)

We're glad you and the kids have enjoyed the stay and look forward to seeing you again next time you're passing through or perhaps even staying to visit the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Oh dear...this is one of those lovely establishments that you don't want to tell everyone as it's so very special...but that would be would be very selfish of us...we enjoyed the hospitality of Robert and Fabienne and Fabienne's mamman. Fantastic dinner, just what we needed after a long journey and ridiculously well priced...If you want personal attention and not just another hotel then this is the place for you...It's not a hotel its a place that you are made very welcome as a guest without paying ridiculous prices. It's got a personality of it's own and anyone staying should encompass that. Go and visit and enjoy as we did. Definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We're very glad you've decided to share your experience and with this marvelous rating! Yesterday we've celebrated our 3rd months of opening and we've walked through our evaluations with a small tear of hapiness in our eyes that the vast majority of our guests realy enjoyed their stay and our concept.

Concering the price of dinner we'll see next seanon, it's home made and fresh and cooked with a heart, but not a core business we expect to earn a lot of money with! Anyway, with the VAT going up next year it may well be that we need to review our prices for food nevertheless.

Thanks again for these kind words, hope to see the four of you soon again at La Ferme en Ville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent the night at this very special chambre d'hote. Robbert and Fabienne served us dinner on our arrival at 10.30 p.m. after a horrendous journey that took 3 hrs. longer than anticipated. We were so happy to see our friendly hosts and finally relax with a tasty Normandy-influenced meal. Thanks for your understanding and great hospitality. The room was warm on a very cool night, and the bed extremely comfortable. At breakfast we had a delicious croissant with freshly squeezed orange juice plus the fruit salad which was to have been our dessert the previous evening - we enjoyed this very much with yogurt. Then, baguette and scrambled eggs, tea and coffee. Also available were cereals, bacon & sausage, cheese & cold cuts. One word of warning if travelling south on the A28. Do not take any notice of the instruction that the bridge is closed in Rouen and you should follow the route to Le Havre to connect with the A28. Continue on to Rouen, turn right at the first set of traffic lights. Follow the river for a few hundred yards until you come to an obvious left turn over the river. Turn immediate right and then follow autoroute signs for Le Mans. It's always easy when you know how, but doubley difficult in the dark. We will definitely try to stay at La Ferme en Ville again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JM_Ghent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne1504, Propriétaire at La Ferme en Ville, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
A sincere honor to be your first 5* Tripadvisor evaluation! We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay. We were indeed a bit worried that you could find us in the dark autumn night the day of your arrival and glad that you made it and even stayed for dinner after the difficult journey!

Thanks also for the instructions to overcome the Rouen obstacle. Rouen is indeed a nightmare with the Pont Mathilde being closed since two years due to an explosion. Last news we have is that it is going to take another two years before the ringroad will be back to normal!

We have much enjoyed your pleasant company and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernay
1.4 mi away
Acropole Hotel
Acropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion D'or
Le Lion D'or
#2 of 3 in Bernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
15.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 13 in Lisieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
16.3 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme en Ville

Property: La Ferme en Ville
Address: 428 Rue Saint Nicolas, 27300 Bernay, Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs > Bernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ferme en Ville is an ancient mansion surrounded by a private park, only 500 meters from pitoresque Bernay city center and 800 meters from the train station, completely renovated in 2013 and transformed into a hostel to welcome business and leisure stays. All 5 rooms are unique and are named after famous Normandie cities and villages.A full breakfast is included in the prices. Guests can also enjoy a drink or snack in the medieval to barok style lounge with large open fire place. Closed on Fridays except for weekend reservations (please contact us to make a reservation that includes a Friday) We prepare a 5 course menu comprising starter, trou nomand (apple sorbet with Calvados), main course, Normandy cheeses (Livarot, Pont l'Eveque, Camembert and Neufchatel) and dessert. Dinner is home made on the day of arrival with fresh ingredients and as such subject to prior reservation. We also offer lighter versions of this menu and accordingly adapt the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Ferme en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing