We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover”
Review of Acropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acropole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Splendid and convenient place for a stopover on the way back to the ferry. Very acceptable meal in the attached restaurant. Staff were helpful and room at back of hotel quiet once the people in the next room found that the adjoining door was locked!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We regularly use this as a stop over for our summer holiday trips to Vendee. Indeed we are looking to book again on the way there & back. The owners are very friendly speak better English than my French! We have never used to pool but may this time as we will have more time. The breakfast is good & plentiful. There is a small bar area but there is also a wonderful restaurant next door that has a bigger bar. All in all a great little find.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMD1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Good little spot for a stop off on our way across France. Clean & comfortable room with free wifi. Excellent night's sleep ready for the next day's travel. Restaurant next door was pricey but very good quality. Good bar service too.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We booked this hotel for two overnight stops on our way down & back to Meschers sur Gironde, what a nice alternative to our usual Campanile or Ibis stopovers, and cheaper too! Its about 3hours from Calais so just enough driving if you've you've travelled down from the north of England as we had. Easy to find - was well...

We use Acropole at least twice a year, as it is not too long a drive if using the Dieppe ferry. The staff are very nice, and you can usually get a room, and park right by the window. The rooms do need updating, and if you like to read in bed before dropping off it is almost impossible. due to head board. But for France the...

I know many people see the Acropole as a great stop-over but believe me there is more to it, especially in summer time! The owners and staff are lovely, taking care of you in such a friendly way....O.K the rooms are a bit updated in matter of furnishing fabrics but they are bright, very well kept, they offer all the...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Have H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I know many people see the Acropole as a great stop-over but believe me there is more to it, especially in summer time! The owners and staff are lovely, taking care of you in such a friendly way....O.K the rooms are a bit updated in matter of furnishing fabrics but they are bright, very well kept, they offer all the services you may need and at such a good price.
Breakfast buffet is really nice and complete too : cheese, ham, eggs, fruits, fresh croissants, plenty of jams and honey etc....I especially enjoyed the pool area ( spotless) and the huge garden, so relaxing! The only tiny minus if any, is the pet extra charge at 10 Euros per day : expensive, looking at the excellent price of the room and breakfast. I definitely will go back to the Acropole, I know the area very well and nothing compares to it. I'd recommend a visit to the neibouring Broglie, this picturesque typical Normand village is irresistible with its square, small shops, half-timbered houses and river....the next by Bernay has got plenty of hyper-markets, all shops and services.

Room Tip: Quieter on the pool-garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quality-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We use Acropole at least twice a year, as it is not too long a drive if using the Dieppe ferry. The staff are very nice, and you can usually get a room, and park right by the window. The rooms do need updating, and if you like to read in bed before dropping off it is almost impossible. due to head board. But for France the price is not too bad, and the next door restaurant serves a lovely meal, with a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ground floor front sunny rooms and near car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matilda815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked this hotel for two overnight stops on our way down & back to Meschers sur Gironde, what a nice alternative to our usual Campanile or Ibis stopovers, and cheaper too! Its about 3hours from Calais so just enough driving if you've you've travelled down from the north of England as we had. Easy to find - was well signposted once you got to the outskirts of Bernay.The hotel is in the industrial estate bit, on the outskirts of town, but don't let that put you off - it was surprisingly quiet.
Nice reception & bar area, and outoor seating at the front of the hotel to enjoy a cool glass of lager or two in the sunshine after our journey. The staff on reception were very pleasant, and helpful, the room was standard and quite adequate for an overnight stop, clean, comfortable bed, extra pillows if required, powerful shower. There is a lovely swimming pool available, but we chose to have a refreshing drink instead! We had booked a table for dinner at the restaurant next door - lovely setting with nice outdoor terrace at the back. Quite an extensive menu to suit all tastes & pockets, with a great hors d'oevres buffet, and an extensive wine list. The waiters & waitresses were really friendly and made fun of our attempts to order in french! Good breakfast at the hotel the next morning, the usual continental choices but you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fattybagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernay
1.7 mi away
Le Lion D'or
Le Lion D'or
#2 of 3 in Bernay
110 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
#5 of 13 in Lisieux
285 reviews
21.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Beuzeville Honfleur Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cygne
Hotel Restaurant Le Cygne
#2 of 2 in Conches-en-Ouche
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Ferme en Ville
La Ferme en Ville
#1 of 2 in Bernay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropole Hotel

Address: 10 rue de la Grande Malouve, 27300 Bernay, Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs > Bernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star accommodations, modern and comfortable, located in Bernay in Eure in the heart of Normandy, the Acropole Hotel is happy to welcome you for your business and leisure stays in a warm atmosphere and a green. All year, we offer 51 comfortable and spacious rooms with telephone, TV and free wifi. We have two flexible meeting spaces, soundproofed and fully equipped to help you organize your business meetings and other events. To enhance your stay, we also provide you with a lounge / bar, indoor and outdoor heated swimming pool, a fitness room and a garden to relax. The restaurant "La Fontaine" is located on site and offers traditional French cuisine. For peace of your nights, the Acropole Hotel is equipped with video surveillance and free private parking. A dynamic and professional team welcomes you 24/24 hours and 7/7 days to ensure a quality experience and personalized service. The Acropole Hotel is an ideal starting point from which you can easily explore the many charms and tourist attractions of the region : castle of Beaumesnil, the Abbaye Notre Dame du Bec-Hellouin, historical sites of the Normandy landings , the Cote Fleurie and its beaches (Deauville, Cabourg, Honfleur ...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Acropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing