We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
Review of Le Lion D'or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Lion D'or
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyable, quaint little place.

An easy to find very central hotel, with easy parking. We were on the 2nd floor, only downside it was really warm at night & with noise coming from outside, not the best nights sleep. The owners spoke fairly fluent English to help us out as we got by with 'pigeon French'.

We were helped out with our route to The Vendee to find cheaper fuel. Plenty of restaurant choice for a meal out helped turn it into a really enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    44
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
40
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Typically French style hotel in central town location. A lovely old town with some great buildings but not many restaurants open on a Wednesday! The hotel has a lift and the room was a decent size. A good one night stopover with private parking available

Room Tip: Probably on the 3rd floor at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice hotel, clean room, good breakfast, all good standard. The most outstanding thing was the guy who ran the place, not sure if he was the owner, or receptionist, but he did everything. He was extremely friendly and helpful with advice regarding all manner of stuff including routes (how to miss out Rouen, for which we will be eternally grateful), where to move the car on Saturday morning when the (excellent, huge) market takes over the town. Otherwise there is private parking at the hotel. Good hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here on our return home from a motorcycling trip, and were pleased with the location, comfort and style of the hotel. Mine Host was most helpful, found us a good parking spot for the bike and offered us a choice of rooms. As ever in France he was pleased we tried to speak French but then took pity on us and reverted to English!! We were there on a National Holiday and he kindly explained the history behind the day.
The hotel is in an old building but rooms have had a recent make-over, and ours was in modern boutique style, comfortable and we got a great night's sleep. There are some rules posted but these are all to ensure guests have a good stay: For example eating in rooms is prohibited, but guests are welcome to use a table in the bar area for snacking.
We were on the top floor which was fine as there is a lift.

Although pretty much everything was closed we enjoyed walking round the interesting town and looking at the old timbered buildings. We saw plenty of (closed) bars and restaurants but ate at a take-away pizza place that also did eat-in at no extra charge.

If you use this hotel there is on-street parking available on the one-way street which is free for half an hour, (still get a free ticket though from the machine) which gives you time to check in the get a space in the court-yard. Cars cost 4 euro, or there are other options near -by.
This hotel is also an easy walk from the station. Apparently trains run to Paris...so there's a thought!

We'll use this hotel again when we are on a similar route.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishperson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently stayed here overnight and would recommend . Very clean , rooms small but comfortable.
Secure parking available and decent continental breakfast . Management friendly and helpful . Bernay is an attractive place with restaurants and bars close by .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose this place based on the reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. The staff were really friendly and helpful - found us space to park our van, served breakfast early because we needed to make a prompt start and even recommended some places to watch the England World Cup game. Rooms were basic but clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelL546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed one night on way south. Welcoming and friendly hosts who speak some English. The room was fine and very clean with a comfortable bed. Some parking is also available for 4 euros in gthe courtyard outside the hotel. Breakfast was a decent continental breakfast. I would recommend it as a place to stay and Bernay is an interesting, pretty town. There are plenty of restaurants in Bernay but, as we found, most are closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnaRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernay
1.7 mi away
Acropole Hotel
Acropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bernay
110 reviews
14.4 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
129 reviews
16.1 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 14 in Lisieux
360 reviews
21.1 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
94 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cygne
Hotel Restaurant Le Cygne
#2 of 2 in Conches-en-Ouche
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion D'or

Property: Le Lion D'or
Address: 48 rue du General de Gaulle, 27300 Bernay, Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs > Bernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Lion D'or 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former post house, located in the centre town at 3mn of the station and close to the tourist office, the Hotel of the Lion d'Or accomodates you in a cordial and convivial environment. With its 23 fully-equipped bedrooms, its elevator, its bar and its private carpark, the hotel constitutes the ideal stage for your tourist excursions and business trips. We propose a formula "Evening Stopover" for the VRP. We also organize thema weekends (paint, discover the region by bicycle...). Bernay is an ideal base for many highly interesting tourist visits (castles, museums, churches) and also offers a range of opportunities for walkers, cyclists and horse-riders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Lion D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing