We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Lion D'or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Lion D'or
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Bernay is a pretty little town with easy parking near the hotel. It is a traditional French hotel - 2 star and very sweet. I had a room with a balcony. Clean, good price. The wifi was fine downstairs but not in my room TV fine - shower etc. Not a big room - but it is only a 2 star.
It's a good travel thru place as close to the motorway. As usual in a French town, restaurants closed down early --. I was particularly welcomed as I had stayed th ere before - so friendly staff !

Room Tip: Go for the room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    44
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
40
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyable, quaint little place.

An easy to find very central hotel, with easy parking. We were on the 2nd floor, only downside it was really warm at night & with noise coming from outside, not the best nights sleep. The owners spoke fairly fluent English to help us out as we got by with 'pigeon French'.

We were helped out with our route to The Vendee to find cheaper fuel. Plenty of restaurant choice for a meal out helped turn it into a really enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Typically French style hotel in central town location. A lovely old town with some great buildings but not many restaurants open on a Wednesday! The hotel has a lift and the room was a decent size. A good one night stopover with private parking available

Room Tip: Probably on the 3rd floor at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice hotel, clean room, good breakfast, all good standard. The most outstanding thing was the guy who ran the place, not sure if he was the owner, or receptionist, but he did everything. He was extremely friendly and helpful with advice regarding all manner of stuff including routes (how to miss out Rouen, for which we will be eternally grateful), where to move the car on Saturday morning when the (excellent, huge) market takes over the town. Otherwise there is private parking at the hotel. Good hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here on our return home from a motorcycling trip, and were pleased with the location, comfort and style of the hotel. Mine Host was most helpful, found us a good parking spot for the bike and offered us a choice of rooms. As ever in France he was pleased we tried to speak French but then took pity on us and reverted to English!! We were there on a National Holiday and he kindly explained the history behind the day.
The hotel is in an old building but rooms have had a recent make-over, and ours was in modern boutique style, comfortable and we got a great night's sleep. There are some rules posted but these are all to ensure guests have a good stay: For example eating in rooms is prohibited, but guests are welcome to use a table in the bar area for snacking.
We were on the top floor which was fine as there is a lift.

Although pretty much everything was closed we enjoyed walking round the interesting town and looking at the old timbered buildings. We saw plenty of (closed) bars and restaurants but ate at a take-away pizza place that also did eat-in at no extra charge.

If you use this hotel there is on-street parking available on the one-way street which is free for half an hour, (still get a free ticket though from the machine) which gives you time to check in the get a space in the court-yard. Cars cost 4 euro, or there are other options near -by.
This hotel is also an easy walk from the station. Apparently trains run to Paris...so there's a thought!

We'll use this hotel again when we are on a similar route.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishperson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently stayed here overnight and would recommend . Very clean , rooms small but comfortable.
Secure parking available and decent continental breakfast . Management friendly and helpful . Bernay is an attractive place with restaurants and bars close by .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose this place based on the reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. The staff were really friendly and helpful - found us space to park our van, served breakfast early because we needed to make a prompt start and even recommended some places to watch the England World Cup game. Rooms were basic but clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelL546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernay
1.7 mi away
Acropole Hotel
Acropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
14.4 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#1 of 2 in Conches-en-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Pont-L'Eveque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
25.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palais des Congres
15.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 13 in Lisieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion D'or

Property: Le Lion D'or
Address: 48 rue du General de Gaulle, 27300 Bernay, Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs > Bernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Lion D'or 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former post house, located in the centre town at 3mn of the station and close to the tourist office, the Hotel of the Lion d'Or accomodates you in a cordial and convivial environment. With its 23 fully-equipped bedrooms, its elevator, its bar and its private carpark, the hotel constitutes the ideal stage for your tourist excursions and business trips. We propose a formula "Evening Stopover" for the VRP. We also organize thema weekends (paint, discover the region by bicycle...). Bernay is an ideal base for many highly interesting tourist visits (castles, museums, churches) and also offers a range of opportunities for walkers, cyclists and horse-riders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Lion D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing