We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very mixed meal”
Review of Cafe des Canotiers

Cafe des Canotiers
Ranked #25 of 33 Restaurants in Le Crotoy
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very mixed meal”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We don't often find anywhere in France where the food is not good but this was the exception. Having said that we had quite a difference between my wife's meal, raie, which was good and mine which was poor. I had langoustine starter and they were overcooked and mushy. One I ate I wish I hadn't and I left a similar one which looked as though it had been around a few days. I then had scallops in a strong brown gravy, reminiscent of brown Windsor soup but probably a fish stock. It completely overpowered the delicate scallops. They were cooked ok but would have been better if the black intestine had been removed. There are much better alternatives in le crotoy, in fact anywhere in le crotoy is probably better!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneandapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    56
    50
    53
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just stopped for a drink here the day we arrived. Very friendly and good value for money, however the staff were noisier than the clientele! But made for a good atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Urban1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid if Possible”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had to eat here on a Tuesday evening when everywhere else was closed. The food for four of us varied between just about edible but not cooked as requested (a steak) to, for one of us, inedible. A place to avoid unless desperate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johngoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We found the food very good.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We ate here on the bank holiday weekend in France and are surprised by the other review. My 'Fruits de Mere' was very good and the 4 course menu also great. I can only assume that they have taken some action to address the issues raised by other reviewers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeLizT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
570 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Simple outdoor spot with great mussels...”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Simple outdoor spot with great mussels and sea food. Good with kids and unbeatable on warm sunny day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe des Canotiers also viewed

 
Le Crotoy, Somme
Le Crotoy, Somme
 

Been to Cafe des Canotiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing