We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A view with average food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mado

Mado
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Le Crotoy
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A view with average food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were lucky to be sat upstairs where the view was simply out of this world. However the welcome was cold. My boyfriend and I were wearing jeans and big jumpers after a walk on the beach. Maybe we were not considered well dressed enough??? Everyone was served with salty biscuits with their aperitif but we were not. Is it the fact that only my boyfriend ordered a drink? I was drinking water as I am pregnant and was obviously therefore not worthy of the salty biscuits. The waitress was rather cold and commented on the fact that I didn't finish my starter, a huge plate of smoked salmon. We both had the salmon for starters but like I said the portion was far too big. I then had the sole meuniere. Again 2 was too much for me. My boyfriend had an expensive cut of beef that he thought was too chewy. The desert, however was lovely. The price was unfortunately not matching the quality of our meal. We were slightly disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Noemie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    114
    79
    65
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Divided opinions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have eaten Chez Mado several times, but our views are increasingly divided. I have usually enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, but my partner (a discerning customer) has increasingly felt that the food was dull and overall rather dear. I have to concede that there is a bit of a sense that the house is resting on its (past) laurels and that both service and cuisine can be a bit flat. I love the views over the bay (if you get the right table) and the comfortable bourgeois atmosphere and style but for us Chez Mado is, sadly, no longer a top tip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Xerxes1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Any value here ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Indeed it's a big place and the atmosphere is like it should have been in the 80's but we went there not by choice (reputated places we full around). As noticed by our French regional guide book, you should avoid an a la carte choice because it's just overpriced. The basic menu sound attractive but it's indeed only followIng basic courses and I assume that pretty much none are homemade (6 courses, 26€...).

Well overall it value the price bit it's simply pretentious. Please offer 3 nice home made stuff for the same place !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never fails.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I have visited this Restaurant many times over the years. At least 20 yrs. ago, one could book a room over the Restaurant.
Le Crotoy has changed from a somewhat sleepy little Somme retreat to a busy W/E attraction due to close Motorway access but this Restaurant's standards are still high even though Madame Mado has since passed on.
The 'Fruit de Mer' is a giant and takes 3 hrs. (for two) to consume with many 'bib' changes. If you order the 'Gastronomique' you will not be disappointed, it is very special.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent fish and other sea food, but rather pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We enjoyed a plat de fruits de mer and a rich fish menu called "Le préféré de Michou". Although the quality of the ingredients seemed ok, the excessive use of cream made us worry that something had to be hidden. The bottle of 'standard' Entre-Dexu-Mers went down very well, and the view of the bay was a nice extra. Quality-price ratio could be better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mado also viewed

 

Been to Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing