We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostellerie Berard
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A friend of ours suggested we stay at the hotel and highly recommended the Michelin one-star restaurant. He called them and booked a half board package on our behalf. Since he is a VIP customer of the hotel, they told him that they were extending a very special rate to us.
We arrived to receive no welcome at all,let alone a special welcome!
We had to carry our own bags to the room over several winding up and down stairs!
The Michelin star restaurant was closed but they had failed to mention this prior to booking despite having been told that that was our express reason for visiting the hotel.
The Bistro is a most unpleasant room - it looks and feel like a shed. The menu is mediocre. Not worth paying these accommodation rates and have to eat in the Bistro.
When we added up the standard tariff rate for Dinner, bed and breakfast it amounted to less than they had charged us for the Half Board package. We were grossly over charged.
When we complained we received an email full of lame excuses and no apology.
Save your time and money - there are thousands of excellent Hotels in France. Hotel Berard is overpriced and arrogant!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justjan700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We read your review on Trip Advisor attentively.

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We did discuss this by email with you prior to you rendering your appreciation Public!

Please allow us to remind you that in the booking confirmation, our reception team clearly indicated that the gastronomic restaurant was closed on Monday evenings and that half board meals could be served at the "Bistrot de Jef" (of equivalent quality to a half board menu served at the gastronomic restaurant).

You criticise the "Bistrot de Jef" and its concept. Please be aware that the bistro has a magnificent glass canopy with panoramic views over the village of Le Castellet.

The kitchen opens onto the dining room. The tables and chairs in the dining room are decorated with very colourful cushions and the atmosphere is cosy, with plenty of plants.
In summer, guests can also dine out on little tables outside near the bistro.

Our bistro does not resemble your description at all.

We do not have special prices for VIP clients at the Hostellerie, as we consider all our guests are equally important.

You speak of the many stairs in the establishments; it is indeed divided into 4 adjacent buildings in our ancient Provencal village (e.g. the "Pavillon des Peintres" dating back to the 19th century or "Couvent" built in the 11th century). So it is very difficult for us to install lifts.

Our team systematically offers to carry your luggage. If this did not happen when you arrived, it was an omission and will be discussed with them. Please accept our apologies for this.
I would simply like to remind you that our establishment is a three-star "hotel de charme", not a luxury hotel.

Naturally, there are many luxury hotels in France and you are right in recommending other Trip Advisor members to visit them.

Please be aware that we are not in the habit of fooling our guests and do our utmost to ensure their stay is as agreeable as possible. You did not appreciate our establishment and, once again, we deeply regret this.

Although some errors may have occurred unknowingly, in particular at the time of the booking, we are most sorry for this and do not understand your vehemence towards us.

You stayed with us for just one night, which was perhaps a little short to appreciate our establishment properly, in particular the Michelin star-rated restaurant which opens from Tuesday onwards.

Ditto for the Roman-style spa, rewarded several times for its originality and high-quality treatments.

We have been hosting an international clientele for many years (even a "luxury hotel" clientele) and our new and returning guests very much appreciate our authentic atmosphere.

Yours Truly,

Danièle Bérard / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Three night stay in this wonderful spot. The view across the vinyards towards Le Castellet is amazing. Room ‘compact’, not particularly luxurious but extremely tasteful and provencale – as is the whole hotel. The graceful influence of Madame Berard is everywhere. We had one meal in the Gastronomique restaurant. A luxury worth every euro! Again the wonderful mix of the highest quality with a personal touch. Car stocked with wine and oil of course. The village itself is also both enchanting and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piano35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed two nights here and had a great time. Our room was lovely (if a little small), the view from our balcony was stunning, the pool was great and the town itself was gorgeous. We ate in the gastronomic restaurant which was simply wonderful and, though not cheap, was not bad value at all for the incredibly high quality and large quantity of food we were served. I would certainly recommend a stay in this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 1bensam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed one night here - having previously stayed 28 years ago!
The room was fine, had everything you would need but was not luxurious or particularly welcoming.
The view across the valley to Le Castellet was spectacular however.
Dinner in the 1 star Michelin restaurant was good but as is so often the case not every course was fully up to scratch.
Wines were very good but highly marked up - especially the local wines from Bandol.
We slept well - and the room was quiet.
Breakfast the next morning was an excellent buffet which we thoroughly enjoyed.
In general the staff were attentive and excellent - particularly some of the younger members.
The price for the package we had was high, given the quality of the room and dinner, but the hotel and restaurant is beautifully situated in an expensive part of France.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view across to Le Castellet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogjacgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Went with a group of ladies and we were treated as Royalty! The staff went OUT OF ITS WAY to make us feel welcome. The rooms were very nice, the bathrooms even more. A little tricky if you have difficulty with stairs as the rooms are in several buildings in this quaint old world village but I loved walking through the different areas. The views from the various rooms absolutely spectacular.
The Berard family is charming and the cooking classes a masterpiece of colors, scents and heaven for the palate.
The Spa was so relaxing and the setting beautiful. The café was charming, the main dinning room beautiful. The food, well, I can still taste the Mille-Feuille melting in my mouth...
I can't find enough adjectives to describe how pleased I was with this Hotel and this experience.
We'll be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms with Painter's names are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISABELLE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel that treats the customers like friends of the family. My room had a fabulous view over the Provencal countryside, the breakfasts were very good, and our cooking course with M. Berard was fantastic - I plan to try some of the Provencal dishes we learned to prepare on my family at home. I didn't use the spa but those in my group who did seemed to enjoy themselves. Too bad we only had 3 days - I could easily spend a week or two at this hotel. You could tell the difference that hands-on management makes; every day we saw either M. or Mme. Berard or another member of their family in the hotel, cooking meals or otherwise checking that the guests were satisfied.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the swimming pool so someone told me. Get a room that overlooks the valley rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear Guest, dear Friend,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks on Tripadvisor.

All the team and the Family BERARD was really happy to welcome you during your trip to Provence !

We hope welcoming you again next year for more days.

Warm regards,

Danièle BERARD, The family and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

On arrival we parked our car in their garage which was bit tight for a normal sized car to get in. However, our room was beautiful and overlooking the surrounding hills. We had dinner in the bistro since the main restaurant was closed that day. The menu is very versatile, the service very friendly and patient despite being extremely busy that night. The profiteroles for dessert are a delight!
Breakfast was served in the main restaurant with a great view.
The village itself is very charming and offers many pretty alleys to discover, there is an excellent home ware store with local products located just next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the hills, maybe there are some rooms facing the coast with a ocean view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obiwan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your remarks and details about our hotel, surroundings...

Yes, exactly, the hotel is situated in a hill-top village facing the valley of vineyards.

You like the real Provence and we love share with you our patrimony and Provence impressions.

Waiting the pleasure to welcome you again.

All best,

Danièle BERARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cadiere d'Azur
3.1 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,289 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Farandole
Hostellerie La Farandole
#2 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
599 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
#1 of 2 in Le Castellet
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage, Curio Collection by Hilton
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage,...
#1 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
208 reviews
6 mi away
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
#4 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
326 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Prix Hotel
Grand Prix Hotel
#2 of 2 in Le Castellet
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Berard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Berard

Address: Gabriel Peri, 83740 La Cadiere d'Azur, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > La Cadiere d'Azur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Cadiere d'Azur
Price Range: £87 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Berard 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie Berard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Berard Hotel La Cadiere d`Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing