We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed staying”
Review of Hostellerie Berard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostellerie Berard
Reviewed 24 June 2014

came for one night staying on a rainy day
the establishment is in a picturesque village surrounded by grapes and wineries
the stuff was very helpeful and kind
and most of all is the restaurant which is unique in fine food and the adorable
place with a view
we higly recomand this place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiranoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

This an establishment that takes criticism seriously. A number of the common historical Trip Advisor criticisms have been acted on and the welcome and assistance with luggage (more hands than pieces!) as an example could not have been more impressive. In fact, we (and our two dogs) were instantly adopted and made to feel part of the Bérard family - an impression that was consistently reinforced during our stay. The family also took special care with the room allocation (quick access/egress for dogs) as well as a corner table in the restaurant gastronomique with enough space to accommodate the two hounds.
This is not a conventional hotel, though, and some less positive points commented on by Trip Advisors can be understood. Hotel accommodation is in four separate and historic town houses - originally built for town dwellers (ie smaller rooms, narrow stairs, no lifts) and not equipped with the mod cons expected by some jet-setting tourists. The stairs do, though, offer a keep fit parcours - in preparation for the gastronomic treat delivered by the restaurant and the digestion thereafter. Keen swimmers and sun worshipers, by the way, should ask for a room in the La Bastide house adjacent to the (small) garden and unheated but south facing swimming pool. The covered garage (€ 16 per night) has a height (ca 1,95 metres) and capacity restriction and, contrary to one Trip Advisor report, is approximately the same distance from the hotel main building as the hotel's open (but gated) car parking.
Two less positives: we were not impressed with the Aroma-Spa: it was expensive and not especially good (€ 117 for a short manicure and half-hour massage that didn't address what was asked for). Also, the breakfast buffet at € 22 is over-priced for what's on offer - although somewhat compensated by the view through the panoramic windows of the bright morning sun as it begins its work of maturing the extensive Bandol vineyards in a Provence setting at its very loveliest. Viator ed canes Coloniae

Room Tip: Ask for the location, floor and size of room when booking. There are four individual houses - the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

When we arrived at Hostellerie Berard, we were travel weary and I must confess that we hadn't done our homework on what to expect. Our travel agent had booked us several hotels in the South of France which included this one.
It didn't take long to realise that Hostellerie Berard was the jewel in the crown. On our arrival we were offered a glass of fruit juice and the staff were exceptionally friendly and obliging. While I was filling out my check in details I didn't reakise that a man was looking over my shoulder to find out where we were from. "New Zealand! My word! You are a long way from home!" The man turned out to be Jean Francois Berard - Michelin star chef extraordinaire. Needless to say the food was divine!
Chef Berard's mother was equally as charming and came to speak to us several times during our meal in a dining room thst has a panoramic view of Provence.
My only disappointment was not staying there during the week so that I could sign up for a cooking class with Chef Berard senior (also a Michelin star chef).
The hotel also has a spa with every treatment under the sun so for those who love to be pampered this is the plsce for you.
If you like wine - then this is the place for you. Both father and son chefs are experts in this area.
The hotel compkex has been created sympathetically to maintain the old world look to the street frontage. The Berard family have developed rooms in part if the old monastery, the ramparts and other parts. Initially it's like finding your way through a maze but it doesn't take long to figure out which stairs to take and which doors to go through.
In a nutshell Hostellerie Berard is literally a taste of paradise run by a family who is passionate about people, service and detail.
I'm tempted to return to la Cadiere d'Azur and next time I'll plan it better to sign up n the cooking ckass and check out the family garden 2km away where they grow all the fresh vegetables for the 2 restaurants at Hostellerie Berard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We took the cooking course here and it has inspired us years out. Chef Rene Berard is an exceptional teacher, the amenities were perfect and for a great value, plus the camaraderie among cooking class participants was very special. If you are looking to immerse yourself in Provencal culture, look no further - this was by far the best experience we've ever had. We've stayed in many 5 star luxury hotels in other parts of Provence but this experience was supremely special. We are looking forward to returning to this very special place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieEnFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear friends !

Great your message and thank you so much ! Chef René BERARD is really happy to read it.

The cooking course organized by himself since 25 years is a great success and each time, René wants to share with you his provencal feeling, full of tradition and humility !

All best,

Danièle BERARD (the wife)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a wonderful hotel located in a quite and picturesque village. The rooms are comfortable and clean with a nice sized bathroom. The food was outstanding and a wonderful wine selection too.

But the only problem was we were in the back building and the stairs going down and up just to get there and no assistance for the baggage was terrible. I would definitely stay again, however I would request a room on the lobby side. Other than this the stay was delightful and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francetraveltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stopped here some time ago, but look forward to going back - a small boutique hotel, we were made to feel very special, food was fantastic and the open air dining magical.
Only issue is that being a little off the beaten track, if you want to visit the coast, it's a bit of a trek, but not a major problem if you have a car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I took the Art de Vivre en Provence course the last week of September 2013 and it was fabulous! The class is well planned and very hands-on. Over the course of four days, we prepared (and ate, of course!) rabbit, veal, fish, and lamb. It was rustic Provencal cooking and it was all delish. I loved the many veggie dishes too, and have been making the eggplant caviar recipe almost weekly since I got home. Plus, one day we did desserts – yummy! Rene Berard is a both and wonderful chef and a fantastic teacher.

The weather was unseasonably warm for the end of September so we ate outside on the terrace three of the four days. Delightful! The gardens around the Bastide des Saveurs are gorgeous (I’d like go back when the lavender is in bloom). I love the new skills and tips that I picked up from Chef Rene, the recipe book (in English, in quantities you’d make at home), and that I’m using the recipes at home. I highly recommend this course.

As a solo traveler, I felt very welcome at Hotel Berard and found the staff at the hotel and spa helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cadiere d'Azur
3.1 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,355 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Farandole
Hostellerie La Farandole
#2 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
604 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage, Curio Collection by Hilton
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage,...
#1 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
#1 of 2 in Le Castellet
413 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol
4.1 mi away
Grand Prix Hotel
Grand Prix Hotel
#2 of 2 in Le Castellet
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Berard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Berard

Address: Gabriel Peri, 83740 La Cadiere d'Azur, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > La Cadiere d'Azur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Cadiere d'Azur
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Berard 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostellerie Berard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Berard Hotel La Cadiere d`Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing